We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and zen hotel!!”
Review of Hinanoza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hinanoza
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels / Ryokan in Kushiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

We spent one night here during our Hokkaido trip. The hotel is beautiful and really quiet and peaceful. The moment you enter you are in a zen and quiet place. Service was very professional and great. The room we had was beautiful. It was on the 3rd floor with your own onsen. The food was very good quality and all looked beautifully. Service round dinner and breakfast again was very professional and friendly. There are no small children aloud and all rooms are very private, so the whole atmosphere is very tranquil and peaceful.
I have two smaller complaints. First one is I would expect that during dinner (when you are not in your room) the staff would visit your room and make the room ready for the night and tidy the place a bit. Normally in this class of hotels this happens. And the second complain is when we went to the onsen at the top floor and returned to our room we encountered someone from the staff who asked what we were doing there and looked very stern. We were standing for our room, so this was a bit awkward. You would expect the staff to recognize who belongs in the hotel and who does not!
But further we loved the hotel and would highly recommend it.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank rotterdamerik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
鄙の座, 支配人 at Hinanoza, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Thank you very much for staying at Akan Tsuruga Bessou HINANOZA the other day.
We are pleased that our staff is happy with your stay at this time.
Also, concerning the two points you pointed out this time, I am very sorry.
We hope that you will be a hotel that you can keep in mind for the future as well, offer suggestions for new services, directing the atmosphere and space to relax you more slowly, and to make your stay a pleasant and enjoyable hospitality wishes by the staff, through guidance and improvement We will make further efforts.
We hope next time, if you have a chance, please come and stay at the hotel again.

Akan Tsuruga Bessou HINANOZA
Manager Takashi Kanno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2017

Situated in Lake Akan area, about a 2 hour drive from Kushiro station, Akan Tsuruga Bessou Hina no Za is definitely my most memorable stay at any hotel. We went there during early April 2017 and luckily it was still snowing so the town was beautifully covered in white.

Starting with the preparation, I had emailed the hotel inquiring about hotel shuttle bus services as the area is mainly accessible by local bus or rental cars. The closest one was from Kushiro and had to be booked in advance so the online admin who had been corresponding with me assisted with that.

Upon arrival at the hotel, it was like entering a different world with hallways decorated with wooden carvings of bears, owls, various other creatures representing their Ainu culture. The hotel staff greeted us with a very gracious bow as we stepped into the reception area and they took our shoes for safe keeping in their storage room. After dealing with the registration, the staff lead us to our room which was on the 2nd floor. I had booked the Kazumi-no-Za which offered the view of Lake Akan and it was a great choice. The room was very spacious, divided into sections by shoji or paper walls, and had a balcony area overlooked the lake where the private onsen tub was situated. My favorite part of the room was the massage chair (lol), I actually fell asleep on it several times.

We were introduced to our room attendant before dinner, who would help us prep the dining table, lay out our futons after dinner, etc. She would tend to us for almost the entire duration of our stay and although she wasn't very fluent in English, she had a very delightful personality. Our dinner was served in-room, kaiseki style, with high quality ingredients and beautiful presentation. I almost didn't want to eat it because of how meticulous the dishes were prepared. After dinner, our room attendant helped clean everything up and laid out our futons which were very comfortable.

By the end of our trip, we felt like we had to come back here again despite the long journey not just because of the beautiful accommodation but the warm and welcoming staff that ensured we had a wonderful stay. If the hotel staff is reading this, thank you very much for your service and making our honeymoon truly memorable. Otsukaresama deshita.

Room Tip: Check room description carefully before booking if you want the view of Lake Akan
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pawaris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
鄙の座, 支配人 at Hinanoza, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Thank you very much for staying with us on your honeymoon.
We greatly appreciate your positive feedback.
We will try to do make more relaxing ambience and space. 
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the
HINANOZA.soon

Best regards,

Manager Takashi Kanno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

This was meant to be the highlight of our trip to Japan but it turned out to be the worst hotel that we stayed in.
The cons:
- view is obstructed by the side of the Shangri-La hotel
- the town is a tacky tourist trap with little taste
- the whole floor where our room was smelt like a rabbit hutch
- the menu is set and there is very little flexibility or consideration given to allergies
The Pros:
- the staff

We were also quite disappointed with Hokkaido as a whole. Reminded us of a small hick town in west Texas.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Will_H_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 September 2016

Dear Guests;
Thank you for your experience and frustration with us on TripAdvisor and sincerely apologize that it was not a flawless visit as we hoped for.

First , the town is the birthplace of Hokkaido Ainu culture far from the downtown in Hokkaido to let the tourist to experience the Hokkaido culture and the peace of Hokkaido.

Second, we will prepare the menu for you special to consider your allergies if you email or contact us in advance.

Third, about the room Cleanliness, we appreciate your valuable feedback about it.

We appreciate your comments and ensure that our guests enjoy the positive experience that we are committed to deliver.

Yours sincerely;

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

Each room has a small private outdoor bath tub. Food is standard onsen style served in a room in restaurant not in own room. Quality of food is just standard, you may find better elsewhere. However, surroundings are unbeatable. You really can have nice relaxation walking or biking around the lake and sitting in your balcony.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Hyo Jun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 August 2016

Dear Guests;
Thank you for sharing your positive review following your visits to Akan Tsuruga Besso Hina no Za.
I am delighted to read that you love the private onsen , surroundings, atmosphere and service.
I am sorry that We only service in-room dinner in the room type call Kasumi no Za , as it is nearest to the kitchen to keep the food fresh.(on the same floor of restaurant)

I will be sure to pass this lovely feedback on to the team who will be very grateful.

Did you know that we have just open a new hotel [ Onuma Tsuruga Auberge Epuy] in Hakodate Hokkaido? We would like to have you in residence in the near future.

Yours sincerely;

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed here two nights. The hotel itself was gorgeous from the foyer to the rooms. Lighting was relaxing and there was a no shoes policy throughout the hotel. The Japanese style room was very spacious and had a private onsen (small though and could have done with a bit of a scrub) a sitting area and a message chair. Dinner and breakfast kaiseki were provided and while the meals could have done with a little variation, the quality of the ingredients was top notch. Service was a little inconsistent but I put it down to language issues. There was also a nice bar but oddly it was only open after 8 pm.

You get what you pay for and a stay at the Hinanoza ain't cheap. But it was very pleasant and we almost didn't want to leave to venture into the Akandake area.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jerome R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 July 2016

Dear Guests;
Thangk you for your kindly comments and thrilled to know we provided you with a memorable stay.

We constantly strive to go beyond our guest expectations of service and facility , as you might know, Lake Akan Tsuruga Besso Hina no Za is the most luxury hotel on the east of Hokkaido and we offer what the guest pay for.

On this happy note, we invite you allow us an opportunity to plan well for you next stay to Lake Akan Tsuruga Besso Hina no Za.

Yours sincerely;


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kushiro hotels
Akanko Onsen
La Vista Kushirogawa
La Vista Kushirogawa
#1 of 48 in Kushiro
364 reviews
Akanko Onsen
New Akan Hotel
New Akan Hotel
#17 of 48 in Kushiro
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Akanko Onsen
Hotel Akankoso
Hotel Akankoso
#16 of 48 in Kushiro
114 reviews
Kushiro Station
Kushiro Prince Hotel
Kushiro Prince Hotel
#10 of 48 in Kushiro
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hinanoza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hinanoza

Address: 2-8-1 Akanko-onsen, Akancho, Kushiro 085-0467, Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Kushiro > Akanko Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kushiro
#1 Onsen Hotel in Kushiro
#2 Spa Hotel in Kushiro
Price Range: $728 - $1,612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hinanoza 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Rakuten, Expedia APAC, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hinanoza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hinanoza Kushiro, Japan - Hokkaido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing