We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hinanoza
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels / Ryokan in Kushiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Situated in Lake Akan area, about a 2 hour drive from Kushiro station, Akan Tsuruga Bessou Hina no Za is definitely my most memorable stay at any hotel. We went there during early April 2017 and luckily it was still snowing so the town was beautifully covered in white.

Starting with the preparation, I had emailed the hotel inquiring about hotel shuttle bus services as the area is mainly accessible by local bus or rental cars. The closest one was from Kushiro and had to be booked in advance so the online admin who had been corresponding with me assisted with that.

Upon arrival at the hotel, it was like entering a different world with hallways decorated with wooden carvings of bears, owls, various other creatures representing their Ainu culture. The hotel staff greeted us with a very gracious bow as we stepped into the reception area and they took our shoes for safe keeping in their storage room. After dealing with the registration, the staff lead us to our room which was on the 2nd floor. I had booked the Kazumi-no-Za which offered the view of Lake Akan and it was a great choice. The room was very spacious, divided into sections by shoji or paper walls, and had a balcony area overlooked the lake where the private onsen tub was situated. My favorite part of the room was the massage chair (lol), I actually fell asleep on it several times.

We were introduced to our room attendant before dinner, who would help us prep the dining table, lay out our futons after dinner, etc. She would tend to us for almost the entire duration of our stay and although she wasn't very fluent in English, she had a very delightful personality. Our dinner was served in-room, kaiseki style, with high quality ingredients and beautiful presentation. I almost didn't want to eat it because of how meticulous the dishes were prepared. After dinner, our room attendant helped clean everything up and laid out our futons which were very comfortable.

By the end of our trip, we felt like we had to come back here again despite the long journey not just because of the beautiful accommodation but the warm and welcoming staff that ensured we had a wonderful stay. If the hotel staff is reading this, thank you very much for your service and making our honeymoon truly memorable. Otsukaresama deshita.

Room Tip: Check room description carefully before booking if you want the view of Lake Akan
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pawaris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
鄙の座, 支配人 at Hinanoza, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Thank you very much for staying with us on your honeymoon.
We greatly appreciate your positive feedback.
We will try to do make more relaxing ambience and space. 
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the
HINANOZA.soon

Best regards,

Manager Takashi Kanno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

This was meant to be the highlight of our trip to Japan but it turned out to be the worst hotel that we stayed in.
The cons:
- view is obstructed by the side of the Shangri-La hotel
- the town is a tacky tourist trap with little taste
- the whole floor where our room was smelt like a rabbit hutch
- the menu is set and there is very little flexibility or consideration given to allergies
The Pros:
- the staff

We were also quite disappointed with Hokkaido as a whole. Reminded us of a small hick town in west Texas.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Will_H_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 September 2016

Dear Guests;
Thank you for your experience and frustration with us on TripAdvisor and sincerely apologize that it was not a flawless visit as we hoped for.

First , the town is the birthplace of Hokkaido Ainu culture far from the downtown in Hokkaido to let the tourist to experience the Hokkaido culture and the peace of Hokkaido.

Second, we will prepare the menu for you special to consider your allergies if you email or contact us in advance.

Third, about the room Cleanliness, we appreciate your valuable feedback about it.

We appreciate your comments and ensure that our guests enjoy the positive experience that we are committed to deliver.

Yours sincerely;

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

Each room has a small private outdoor bath tub. Food is standard onsen style served in a room in restaurant not in own room. Quality of food is just standard, you may find better elsewhere. However, surroundings are unbeatable. You really can have nice relaxation walking or biking around the lake and sitting in your balcony.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Hyo Jun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 August 2016

Dear Guests;
Thank you for sharing your positive review following your visits to Akan Tsuruga Besso Hina no Za.
I am delighted to read that you love the private onsen , surroundings, atmosphere and service.
I am sorry that We only service in-room dinner in the room type call Kasumi no Za , as it is nearest to the kitchen to keep the food fresh.(on the same floor of restaurant)

I will be sure to pass this lovely feedback on to the team who will be very grateful.

Did you know that we have just open a new hotel [ Onuma Tsuruga Auberge Epuy] in Hakodate Hokkaido? We would like to have you in residence in the near future.

Yours sincerely;

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed here two nights. The hotel itself was gorgeous from the foyer to the rooms. Lighting was relaxing and there was a no shoes policy throughout the hotel. The Japanese style room was very spacious and had a private onsen (small though and could have done with a bit of a scrub) a sitting area and a message chair. Dinner and breakfast kaiseki were provided and while the meals could have done with a little variation, the quality of the ingredients was top notch. Service was a little inconsistent but I put it down to language issues. There was also a nice bar but oddly it was only open after 8 pm.

You get what you pay for and a stay at the Hinanoza ain't cheap. But it was very pleasant and we almost didn't want to leave to venture into the Akandake area.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jerome R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 July 2016

Dear Guests;
Thangk you for your kindly comments and thrilled to know we provided you with a memorable stay.

We constantly strive to go beyond our guest expectations of service and facility , as you might know, Lake Akan Tsuruga Besso Hina no Za is the most luxury hotel on the east of Hokkaido and we offer what the guest pay for.

On this happy note, we invite you allow us an opportunity to plan well for you next stay to Lake Akan Tsuruga Besso Hina no Za.

Yours sincerely;


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile

It's the best experience here. Hotel is located in the connivence location, close to the lake, opposite Lawson and easy walk to the tourist spot ( Ainu Village)

Only 25 rooms with private onsen, you can feel so private, peaceful and privilege. We spent one night there with 4 of family member. Staff 's so polite and consideration. Even the conversation in English might be a bit tough for them but they're willing to help.

Hotel is not old style, in the other hand, it's the great mix of Japanese style with modernize.

Full course Japanese style food set was super nice with all fresh material. We had our own private dining room. Dinner might take around 2 hours while breakfast with an hour. The staff was so nice to us. They recognized what we had asked during dinner then prepare for us on the breakfast time. .

Public Onsen on 7th floor, it's the open air with panoramic view and you will be like ' Wow'

All every great experience here

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Jailly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TsurugaGroup, 支配人 at Hinanoza, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2016

Dear Guests;
What a delight to read the notes from your recent stay!
We appreciate all of your kind words and recommendation , from the room amenity to the Kaiseki dinner and high quality of Japanese style service, etc.

There are only 25 rooms at Akan tsuruga Besson HINANOZA , all the rooms are with private onsen. I am so glad you like the location and the view of the hotel !

We hope to welcome you back on a future visit in the near future!
Yours sincerely;



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kushiro hotels
Akanko Onsen
La Vista Kushirogawa
La Vista Kushirogawa
#1 of 48 in Kushiro
364 reviews
Akanko Onsen
New Akan Hotel
New Akan Hotel
#16 of 48 in Kushiro
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Akanko Onsen
Hotel Akankoso
Hotel Akankoso
#17 of 48 in Kushiro
114 reviews
Kushiro Station
Kushiro Prince Hotel
Kushiro Prince Hotel
#12 of 48 in Kushiro
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hinanoza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hinanoza

Address: 2-8-1 Akanko-onsen, Akancho, Kushiro 085-0467, Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Kushiro > Akanko Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Onsen Hotel in Kushiro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kushiro
#2 Spa Hotel in Kushiro
#4 Family Hotel in Kushiro
Price Range: $723 - $1,641 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hinanoza 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Evoline ltd, Rakuten, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hinanoza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hinanoza Kushiro, Japan - Hokkaido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing