We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
8
33
35
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
33
35
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shuttle bus convenience store location station onsen japan
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2017

Really neat hotel and while room design is not up to modern standards New Urban has fantastic breakfasts, great views from the buffetroom and it boasts an in home onsen. Add a fine convenience store to that and you'll have a nice haven with a great view, and nive restaurants within walking distance. They have a shuttle bus to the station.

Room tip: Ask for a lake view room.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PVR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

I stayed in the Matsue New Urban Hotel for two days during my travel through Shimane. The hotel is located right in the heart of the city so it is even possible to access major attractions such as Matsue castle by walk. The service was great and the breakfast was amazing as you were even able to choose between two different breakfasts. On top of that, there was a convenient store right in the hotel so even if you feel like buying a snack after midnight you do not have to leave the building.
A great place to rest for travelers who are looking for a convenient stay!

Room tip: I would recommend one of the rooms on the higher floors to get a nice view of Matsue city.
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tristan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2015

I stayed at the New Urban Hotel for a total of six nights, 4 nights in September 2015 and 2 in October 2015.

Location: the hotel is located just where the lake meets the mouth of the river running through Matsue. Thus many rooms have a view of the lake (though not all, and the price may be slightly higher for these - I'm not sure).

It is about a 10-15 minute walk from Matsue Station, but if you do not have much luggage it is a pleasant walk. Matsue is an easy city to get around as it is not very big. There is an International Tourist Office just as you come out of the station and they have English maps of the city, so walking to the hotel is not difficult.

The hotel also provides a free shuttle bus to the station in the mornings. At - if I remember correctly - 8am, 8:30am, 9am and 10am. Though they do not - as far as I know - do a station pick-up, if you arrive when the shuttle bus is returning to the hotel, I imagine it would be possible to arrange a lift.

The hotel is also very near Matsue Castle - it's basically just 10 minutes up the road from there - and there is also a very nice shrine - Gesshoji Shrine - nearby. If you have a car, the hotel is located by the road that runs north of the lake straight to the famous Izumo-Taisha shrine, and the 45 minute lakeside drive to this shrine is very nice.

The hotel: The New Urban Hotel is comprised of two adjacent buildings: the New Urban Hotel and New Urban Hotel Annex. The Annex is the newer of the two buildings and is also where the onsen is located (on 3rd floor) and where the Japanese breakfast is served, on the ground (1st) floor (Western breakfast is offered on 9th floor of the other building). The Japanese breakfast is very good. I did not try the Western one, but it would have the bonus of the 9th floor views over the Lake.

Wifi in the annex was perfect, but a bit patchy in the other building.

The rooms are fairly typical Japanese business style, but slightly bigger than the Osaka, Kyoto or Tokyo norm. They are clean and pleasant in both buildings. A yukata and slippers are provided for wandering around the hotel and for going to the onsen. The onsen is just one large bath, but very pleasant.

The staff are friendly and obliging - as in most Japanese hotels - but there is one difference in that one of the staff members - Chiemi - has a good command of English. She works from 9am to 5:30pm. She is very friendly and efficient and really helpful (I hope the hotel is aware of what an asset she is!).

This means that it is possible to call the hotel directly to book a room if you call and ask to talk to her. You could then specify lake view, accommodation in the annex and ask about a possible station pick-up with the certitude that the person at the other end of the phone understands you (not always the case in Japan!)

There seem to be a lot of hotels in Matsue and some visitors may be more inclined to choose one nearer Matsue station (for example, the Japanese chain Dormy Inn, which is a very good business hotel), but I would recommend the New Urban Hotel because the prices are reasonable, it has a slightly less businessy feel to it and its location by the lake is convenient for sightseeing.

I would also recommend that visitors visit the Adachi Art Museum, which is in a town around 45 minutes from Matsue. It has one of the most beautiful Japanese gardens I have ever seen and the art is fantastic.

Room tip: Annex slightlty better, onsen is in the annex building. Call and check if lakeside rooms available. BOOK EARLY!
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I slept in the New Urban hotel for one night in a single room. The room was really big, clean and had everything I needed. There was free internet access as well. There was a nice Onsen in the hotel, so you got a Yukata (traditonal Japanes clothes), which you could wear in the hotel. The staff was nice, but they couldn't talk English. They were really polite.
I only ate breakfast at the hotel, but I could choose if I want to eat Japanese style breakfast or not. They had a really big buffet-style breakfast and although I chose Japanese-style-food, they still provided some western style food as well. So don't be afraid to choose the Japanese breakfast. There is also local food, which usually would be really expensive. But there you could eat as much as you wanted.
The location is really convinient. It is only a short walk from Matsue castle and next to Lake Shinji. I had an amazing view from my room, so in the morning I could see the befogged lake, which looked really beautiful.

Room tip: I recommend to choose a room with a view to Lake Shinji.
Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I stayed at the New Urban Hotel for one night and it was great! First, the location is really good, then it is directly at the river Shinji. So I had a beautiful view from my room over the lake. And you can reach the Matsue castle in like 10min. The room it self was big and had everything one needs. I even got a yukata for "Ofuro" (public bath") , which was on the third floor. The service was nice and friendly. They explained everything about the breakfast, room keys and gave me even a map with some restaurants near by. There were also some information in english in the room it self. For the breakfast i could choose between a western and japanese breakfast and I took the japanese one. It was a buffet with an amazing offer of delicious food, even fruits! Great!

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olga I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews