We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
71
62
14
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
71
62
14
7
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2017

This is my fifth stay at Hoshinoya Group, overall is perfect, I enjoyed 3Days 2 Night there, reserved 1st floor guest room, the room is clean&large, welcome amenities also nice. highly recommend tourist to use their outdoor hot spring, super nice!!! KAISEKI dinner set also perfect, however maybe a little duplicate with other Hoshinoya Property, most of the cuisine did tried before, recommend Hoshinoya san can change menu yearly hahaha!!!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kamtengn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts KAI Izumo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear kamtengn,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hoshino Resorts KAI Izumo. We thank you for your continued dedication to staying at our resorts, and we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the room, hot springs, and kaiseki meals. Your views regarding the meal variety will also be shared with our staff members.
We will be looking forward to welcoming you back to one of our many accommodations again in the near future!
Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

It was the worst and the most expensive room I have ever stayed. Room was not made properly and dinner wasn't so fantastic.
For this price, they don't have a shuttle bus service so I had to catch a taxi.
Normally in Japan, if we pay 20000 yen or around $250, for Japanese Inn, you get a free shuttle bus service from the station to the Inn plus amazing dinner plus great hospitalities.
I can't give even one star for Hoshino.
I have complained to the manager but they did nothing for my complains and also I sent a message to the company but no reply.
Imagine I paid nearly 80000 yen or nearly $1000 for one night and the price is not matching with what they offered me.
Hoshino did not bother about my complain and it was the worst attitude as the hotel businesses.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Hiroko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts KAI Izumo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Dear Hiroko S,

We do sincerely apologize for the concerns you experienced during your stay. On the occasion of your returning home, I understand that you were looking forward to the stay and had great expectations of visiting us. We are truly sorry that we were unable to meet those expectations and that you were left unsatisfied.
I have shared your comment with our management team. In addition, I have made a check regarding the points you mentioned, and I confirmed those were indeed handled unsatisfactorily. We are working with our team to ensure all guests expectation are not only met, but exceeded and feedback such as yours provides us that opportunity to further enhance our guest experience.
Though it is unfortunate that we fell short of those expectations at your stay this time, your loyalty and feedback mean a great deal to us. We are committed to regaining your faith in us not just through an enhanced room product, but by deliberating a better and exceptional service.

Sincerely yours,

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

I've been to KAI Izumo 3x now and have been returning every few years since 2008. I have been to many ryokan around Japan, but the service here is unbelievable -- once I came during the winter and one of the staff brushed off all the snow from my car and shoveled a path for us. On my most recent visit in May 2016, I discovered that much of the staff now speaks English!

Tamatsukuri is actually pretty difficult to get to, but once you're in town the experience is charming. Before dinner, we dressed in yukata and the staff gave us actual old-school candle lanterns to walk down the street in, as well as a little kit containing a towel and some other necessities when visiting some of the local attractions (like the foot bath). A number of Japanese people actually stopped to ask us if they could borrow our lanterns for photo-taking purposes since it was so unusual to see.

Dinner (and breakfast) is served in the dining room and it is an impeccable kaiseki meal with local ingredients. As always, it was simple and delicious. Not necessarily something fancy and Michelin-starred and modern, just beautiful traditional Japanese food.

We selected a room with our own outdoor bath which was very lovely. In the past, I had rooms on the top floor, but this time selected a room on the bottom floor which had a small courtyard area in addition to the bath.

For entertainment, they have kagura (traditional Japanese theatre) performances in the courtyard in the evening with traditional Japanese snacks served. There is also an authentic tea house where they perform private tea ceremony with you, but we were unable to book before we left.

After three times, I'm positive the next time I'm back in Shimane, I'll return to KAI Izumo!

Room Tip: Choose a room with outdoor bath
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Janelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts KAI Izumo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Dear traveltolivetotravel

Thank you very much for staying with us at Hoshino Resorts KAI Izumo, and thank you very much for taking your valuable time to place comments for us.
Your high praise for us is greatly appreciated. It is my pleasure to share your review with the team.
We have evolved all year around and if you have another chance to visit us, we hope to deliver a better and seamless experience.
We hope to see you again upon your next visit into Tamatsukuri.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2015

It was a wet and snowing day when we arrived at Kai Izumo, the entrance is understated and I was looking forward to experience the well known hospitality of the Hoshino resort group. Check in was smooth and attentive, our room was immaculate and we had a private cypress wood bath to use and a kotasu, which is like a table combined with a blanket that is placed over heating underneath, a great warming device for winter. We then visited the tea room, where a lady prepared green tea matcha and wagashi for us in a traditional way. A nice touch before heading out to walk around the Tamatsukuri onsen area. After seeing the shrine and some quaint shops, we headed back for dinner, which was a feast of pine needle crab, a local delicacy that was in season. Dinner was served in the dining room, not in our room, which I liked as the atmosphere was more upbeat. The dining room was fully occupied but the attendants were efficient and gave some interesting introduction on food in fluent English. The meal was 10 courses, nearly all made with crab, inside yam pudding, sashimi, grilled, tempura, steamed, in miso soup etc. It was all perfect and we definitely overate. After a short rest, we head to use the public hot spring, which was brightly lit and well maintained. I enjoyed some tea and used the massage chair after bathing, fully relaxed for bedtime. Next morning, braving the cold I tried the private bath with hot spring water, what a great way to start the day! After the lovely japanese breakfast set, we checked out to drive to Hiroshima. Even though our visit was short, I was impressed by the level of service and care at Kai Izumo. As part of a group, it is more boutique and has less rooms, all the amenties are well thought out and refined without being extravagant. While it was somewhat different to the countryside pension or the heritage ryokan that I have staid in with personal one on one service and traditional cooking, it is still a must try experience, especially when the crab is in season!

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are closer to amenties. Book through agent as online booking only in Japanese.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Hawflakee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews