We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
34
17
6
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
17
6
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh flowerstraditional ryokanjapanese culturethe rivertatami roomone nightjamesgenerationssamoaalcovefeastregionbedroomlobbyspringonsenbaths
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2017

This is a traditional ryokan that's been in the same family for many years. The owner is welcoming and provides whatever you could want during your stay. The food is over the top - you'll think you're at a feast. The lobby and the room are beautiful and very comforting and there are fresh flowers everywhere. And the onsen! What a treat to soak after a day out. I can't wait to go back.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank weberv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed 4 nights in this small and beautifully appointed ryokan overlooking the Ohashi river. James and Junko were exceptional hosts going out of the way to assist us, and share their local knowledge. The food served for breakfast and dinner was fresh, local and presented in the most attractive way. Conversations with James gave us insight into and appreciation of the Japanese culture. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Ohashikan.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Pamela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We had a wonderful time in Ohashikan last summer :
- very large and comfortable room with a small japanese garden, and a nice view on the river
- excellent meal with all kinds of tastes, representing each aspect of japanese cuisine
- very interesting discussions with James, managing the hotel, with whom we learnt a lot on japanese culture

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christophecolomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

Matsue is not a beautiful city, mostly built in concrete with a bridge not so attractive still in concrete. There is castle up there always with a ccold flux worth visiting. The people are speaking Japanese and almost nothing else. If you are like me, not fluent In Japanese, you can be sure that you are lost. However, you come back to your very traditional ryokan (still a concrede building by the river), an authentic Japanese interior, in your very spacious roomand your ever warm onsen overlooking the river. And there you are. Lafcadio Hearn lived in this city -one of the streets carry his name-, he never learned the language, even unable to properly speak with his Japanese wife. It is not for nothing. Each day you spend in this city and this exceptional ryokan, your senses became wide open, you taste the pleasures of genuine cuisine (not just sushi which is just a barfood) and the relaxing pleasures of the onsen and the space that welcomes youin all aspects. Then, you feel that you are in Japan, beyond Tokyo and Kyoto.

Stayed: December 2016
1  Thank mav234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Ohashikan is situated directly on the Ohashi river, just a short walk from the JR train station. Our room was beautiful and comfortable with a wonderful view of the river and lake. Dinners were spectacular, and made from locally sourced ingredients. A soak in the onsen was a great end to the day. But, as hard as it is to top all of that, best of all was the staff, particularly our hosts James and Junko. They both speak English, are amazingly welcoming and hospitable, and went to great lengths to ensure that our stay, both at the Ohashikan, and in Matsue as a whole, were as close to perfect as possible.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AlexR7530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews