We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
23
32
17
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
32
17
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tatami mats shower futon castle amenities bed floor onsen station
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2018

The first room we were shown was tiny and barely fit a futon and had no shower. When we complained they showed us to another room that was 3 times the size, had a bath and great views over the river. The older section of the hotel needs to be updated as it’s unsuitable for couples, maybe ok for single people who bathe in the onsen. The newer section is lovely. The staff were lovely.

Room tip: Upgrade to a room in the new section of the hotel
Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

Don't be fooled by the outside! This ryokan might look outdated but the service and amenities were fantastic! The hosts were always trying to help us the best they could.

Very spacious bedroom on the 5th floor, overlooking the city. Lovely tatami mats, nice toilet and shower, and different sections to our room. The onsen was very enjoyable with an outdoor and indoor bath.

We had a bento style dinner, which was great, but I loved the breakfast!
The hotel is close to the station and just a few minutes walk to the main attractions.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank aafkem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

I reserved a tatami room with two western beds and got one on the first floor. The room was mostly quiet (other than a bit of construction outside in the morning). It looked beautiful and the bed and pillow was very comfortable. I wish I could have stayed here for more than two nights. The onsen with rotenburo overlooking the river was also great and worth experiencing. The water wasn't super hot so I could enjoy it without overheating.

The location is right on the river in a very walkable part of Matsue. It is an easy 5 minute walk to the station and this location puts you quite near an area across the bridge with many fine restaurants. Keep walking and the castle isn't too far away. It's a National Treasure and on par with Matsumoto as the finest in Japan in my opinion.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger_S6502014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017

Loved it, the hosts were lovely and very polite and helpful. The room was beautiful, clean, well equipped, comfortable, and big.
Really great location too, pretty much everything you want you get. We were happy.
The onsen is wonderful too.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

I stay there for 3 nights and it was very nice. Not far from the jr station ( good if you want to go to izumo for instance) and not far from the castle. The people working there where very friendly, the room was clean and quiet and the public bathroom with a view on matsue very nice.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Jc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews