We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
6
33
25
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
33
25
6
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Location is great, handy to the famous art gallery and historical area which is pretty and interesting with plenty of food choices. Very close to station.
The room was pretty typical with just enough space and a bed that felt hard but I slept even more firm than that bed was.
No room for sumo size people but that is just about the case for any Japanese hotel.
Even a shortarse like me has hit his head on a low doorway or getting up too fast off a toilet with the door way too close by anyone's standards. That is the joy of Japan.
Breakfast here was particularly ordinary but it filled a hole.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank pharaohgnomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

This Toyoko Inn is well located between the station and the historical area. The room size was what I expected, however I found the mattress to be a bit too firm for my liking. The wifi worked fine and the laundry facilities were useful.

Breakfast is Japanese, with a reasonable range of choices, and varies a bit each day. The staff are helpful and some of them speak reasonable basic English. It was extremely good value.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Selsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Hotel is very easy to find, and it's situated between station and old town. Room was so tiny and bathroom more like one in a cabin: not very comfortable if you are taller than 170 cm. Only japanese breakfast is served. Staff was friendly but spoke only Japanese.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend comes to Japan every year for the past decade and has been staying with Toyoko for most of the time.

As usual, their service was up to expectations, food was filling and tasty. i wouldn't say it was exceptional but satisfying.

This Kurashiki brance is in between the Honmashi and JR station, so walking around is a breeze. It's also near a delicious restaurant called みそかつ梅の木.

The only reason why I gave it 4stars is because of their heated toilet seat. it's short and for a guy, I'm seated further ahead, much closer to the toilet rim. If you're an average guy, you'll know what I mean by 'rubbing around'. Their hotels without the heated seats doesn't seem to have the same issue.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Justin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2015

The Toyoko Inn in Kurashiki is in a great location just up the main street from the train station, and an easy/short walk to the Bikan Chiku area which is beautiful and full of great shops and dining choices. This is a "no frills" hotel, but my room was clean and quiet, and breakfast (Japanese only - very good) was included in the rate. At around $50 for the night, this was The Deal.

As another reviewer reported, I also found the "free wi-fi", which is only available in the lobby, a supreme hassle. But, no big deal - I just gave my iPad a break during my short stay.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews