We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
18
43
9
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
43
9
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2016

I am a US business traveler and stayed for one night. Room was typical with a small twin bed. The bed was very low to the ground and made getting in and out of bed difficult. Air conditioning worked well but only when key fob was inserted in the room. Good new is that the actual metal key and the fob are easily separated so if you travel during hot months leave the fob in the room while you are out to get the room cooled down. Had both lunch and breakfast in the hotel and it was quite good. Internet worked well and the gave a little toy bear on the bed which I took home for my child. She loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Johnny_Mo_York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Overall this place is not bad. My room is facing the canal park so the view is quite nice. What mainly bothers me is the ill-responsive air conditioning and some somewhat insensitive front desk staff.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MilouPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2014

We stayed here for one night. It is budget wise considering of the location.
This hotel is located at the north side of Toyama station which is less crowded than the south side.
The staffs speak very little English but they are friendly and helpful. Our room was upgraded the executive room. It was a bit dated but spacious. Wifi is available in the room.
About 10 minutes walk to the Canal Park and you can find a Starbucks with the most beautiful view in the world (at least that what I was told).
They do not provide a big buffet breakfast but they have 4 sets of breakfast.

I would recommend this hotel and will stay here again.
Hope that they will have a bellboy at the entrance by then.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank extr3me_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Love this hotel and it makes me love the place TOYAMA ! We stayed here for 3 nights and soon fell in love with this hotel. Staff are friendly, though they can't speak english well but still try all their utmost to help (salute to all the front staff, restaurant staff & also the carpark operators). We tried all the 4 breakfast sets (including the kids menu) and all of them were good & delicious. Bathroom is spacious & everything working well. Wifi at room & public area. Maybe more travellers like to stay at hotel in the south side of Toyama JR station which is more crowd, full of eating place and more economic hotel to choose. but we definitely recommend this hotel located at the opposite side of the station (but just within 2 mins walk and there is underground subway connecting everyway), because we think it's a newly developed area and thus the surroundings are more well-planned, beautiful and quiet with a beautiful canal park just 2 minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GL6991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I stayed at Oarks Canal Park Hotel for a combination of business and tourism in July 2012 and recommend it for other travelers.

Pros: One block from train station (both JR line and local railroad to Unazuki Onsen) and bus depot. But it's far enough away from the train station that there is no sound from passing trains. There is a broad, treelined walking area immediately in front of the hotel and leading to the large, pretty, but rather sleepy Fugan Canal Park, about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. 10 minute walk to canal boat tours that (I'm told) are very popular in the spring for cherry blossom viewing. Rooms very clean and, though not exactly spacious, they're also not extremely tiny.

Cons: The staff, despite being extremely polite, speaks very little English. They can provide you with trains schedules and maps on request, but had difficulty explaining how to read them. No exercise facility or pool. If you need to work out, there's a public gym on the way to the Canal Park. Some street noise at night - mainly ambulances. There must be a hospital nearby.

Tips: If you are arriving via Toyama airport, the taxi fair is about US$50. Taking a local bus is considerably cheaper. If you need more groceries than are found at the 7-Eleven across the street, try The Market at the far end of the tunnel passing beneath the train station. If you're looking for a different kind of restaurant experience try Tenyone where the chefs cook tempura in front of you - http://www.tenyone.jp/

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BillStickers_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews