We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel near Toyama station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oarks Canal Park Hotel Toyama
Ranked #12 of 69 Hotels / Ryokan in Toyama
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Reasonably priced and located close to the JR station outside the north exit (near the Toyama-eki light rail station), Oarks Canal Park Hotel represented good value for the money. It looked and felt like a business class hotel. We had a twin room facing north where we could see the canal and even Toyama bay on a clear day. The room was clean and large enough that it didn't feel cramped. Reception staff spoke adequate English and was most polite, escorting us all the way to the lift and bowing as the lift doors closed after we had entered. We had a comfortable stay here, even if just for a night. Located at the less busy side of town, it was quiet.

The only minor problem is that access directions to the hotel from downtown or the south side of Toyama station is not very clear due to the way Toyama Station is laid out. One can't just walk through the station from one side to the other as in many other stations where the station building is built over the rail lines.

To get between the north and south sides, use the underpass that connects CIC mall from the south side of the station to Aubade Hall/Urban Place on the north side. Station entrances to this underground passage can be accessed near the ESTA mall/Dentetsu Toyama station at the south and near the Toyama Light Rail stop at the north. If you have baggage, use the escalators outside Aubade Hall/Urban Place. The hotel is located next door to Aubade Hall. It's about a 350m walk from the south side of the station to the hotel via the underpass.

For those using the Toyama Light Rail to visit Iwase, the hotel is conveniently located near the light rail stop. While access to shopping and sightseeing spots downtown is less convenient compared to hotels on the station's south side, downtown Toyama isn't that big. From the hotel, it takes just 15 minutes to walk from to Toyama Castle and 20 minutes to walk to Sogawa shopping street/Daiwa department store.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlexKBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2016

I am a US business traveler and stayed for one night. Room was typical with a small twin bed. The bed was very low to the ground and made getting in and out of bed difficult. Air conditioning worked well but only when key fob was inserted in the room. Good new is that the actual metal key and the fob are easily separated so if you travel during hot months leave the fob in the room while you are out to get the room cooled down. Had both lunch and breakfast in the hotel and it was quite good. Internet worked well and the gave a little toy bear on the bed which I took home for my child. She loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Johnny_Mo_York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Overall this place is not bad. My room is facing the canal park so the view is quite nice. What mainly bothers me is the ill-responsive air conditioning and some somewhat insensitive front desk staff.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MilouPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2014

We stayed here for one night. It is budget wise considering of the location.
This hotel is located at the north side of Toyama station which is less crowded than the south side.
The staffs speak very little English but they are friendly and helpful. Our room was upgraded the executive room. It was a bit dated but spacious. Wifi is available in the room.
About 10 minutes walk to the Canal Park and you can find a Starbucks with the most beautiful view in the world (at least that what I was told).
They do not provide a big buffet breakfast but they have 4 sets of breakfast.

I would recommend this hotel and will stay here again.
Hope that they will have a bellboy at the entrance by then.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank extr3me_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Love this hotel and it makes me love the place TOYAMA ! We stayed here for 3 nights and soon fell in love with this hotel. Staff are friendly, though they can't speak english well but still try all their utmost to help (salute to all the front staff, restaurant staff & also the carpark operators). We tried all the 4 breakfast sets (including the kids menu) and all of them were good & delicious. Bathroom is spacious & everything working well. Wifi at room & public area. Maybe more travellers like to stay at hotel in the south side of Toyama JR station which is more crowd, full of eating place and more economic hotel to choose. but we definitely recommend this hotel located at the opposite side of the station (but just within 2 mins walk and there is underground subway connecting everyway), because we think it's a newly developed area and thus the surroundings are more well-planned, beautiful and quiet with a beautiful canal park just 2 minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GL6991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toyama hotels
Toyama Station
Comfort Hotel Toyama Ekimae
Toyama Station
Toyama Excel Hotel Tokyu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Toyama Station
Toyama Chitetsu Hotel
Toyama Chitetsu Hotel
#7 of 69 in Toyama
157 reviews
Dormy Inn Toyama
#4 of 69 in Toyama
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oarks Canal Park Hotel Toyama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oarks Canal Park Hotel Toyama

Address: 11-1 Ushijimacho, Toyama 930-0858, Toyama Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Toyama Prefecture > Toyama > Toyama Station
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 69 Hotels / Ryokan in Toyama
Price Range: $93 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oarks Canal Park Hotel Toyama 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking: 68 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Agoda, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Ctrip TA and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Oarks Canal Park Hotel Toyama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing