We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
18
43
9
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
43
9
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Love this hotel and it makes me love the place TOYAMA ! We stayed here for 3 nights and soon fell in love with this hotel. Staff are friendly, though they can't speak english well but still try all their utmost to help (salute to all the front staff, restaurant staff & also the carpark operators). We tried all the 4 breakfast sets (including the kids menu) and all of them were good & delicious. Bathroom is spacious & everything working well. Wifi at room & public area. Maybe more travellers like to stay at hotel in the south side of Toyama JR station which is more crowd, full of eating place and more economic hotel to choose. but we definitely recommend this hotel located at the opposite side of the station (but just within 2 mins walk and there is underground subway connecting everyway), because we think it's a newly developed area and thus the surroundings are more well-planned, beautiful and quiet with a beautiful canal park just 2 minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GL6991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I stayed at Oarks Canal Park Hotel for a combination of business and tourism in July 2012 and recommend it for other travelers.

Pros: One block from train station (both JR line and local railroad to Unazuki Onsen) and bus depot. But it's far enough away from the train station that there is no sound from passing trains. There is a broad, treelined walking area immediately in front of the hotel and leading to the large, pretty, but rather sleepy Fugan Canal Park, about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. 10 minute walk to canal boat tours that (I'm told) are very popular in the spring for cherry blossom viewing. Rooms very clean and, though not exactly spacious, they're also not extremely tiny.

Cons: The staff, despite being extremely polite, speaks very little English. They can provide you with trains schedules and maps on request, but had difficulty explaining how to read them. No exercise facility or pool. If you need to work out, there's a public gym on the way to the Canal Park. Some street noise at night - mainly ambulances. There must be a hospital nearby.

Tips: If you are arriving via Toyama airport, the taxi fair is about US$50. Taking a local bus is considerably cheaper. If you need more groceries than are found at the 7-Eleven across the street, try The Market at the far end of the tunnel passing beneath the train station. If you're looking for a different kind of restaurant experience try Tenyone where the chefs cook tempura in front of you - http://www.tenyone.jp/

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BillStickers_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

When I opened my room door in the morning, an English newspaper was there. I immediately decided that I will give it a rating of 5 in my review.

This hotel is located quite close to the train station, but it's on the other side of the tracks from Toyama's downtown, so some walking is required to access other shops and restaurants near the train station. It also means that the area near hotel is very quiet.

The hotel looks gorgeous from outside. It completely feels like a 5 star hotel except that there's no bellboy in the entrance. Inside the hotel everything looks stylish. most of the decorations are in warm color. It gives me a pleasant feeling. The hotel staff also offers good service. Without my request, they allowed me to pay when checking out. (Most Japanese hotels require you to make full payment when checking in, which confuses many first time foreign travelers.) Their restaurant has a graceful atmosphere, just like what you can expect in a high-end hotel. The breakfast is not luxury, but still satisfying.

Their room is not as astonishing as other aspects of this hotel, but it's quite comfortable and wide enough. The warm color theme also exist here. I've found a small bear doll sitting on my bed every evening as a welcome gift, and I got an English newspaper every day, as I mentioned earlier, without asking them to do so. Almost every hotel in Japan offers good service. But they usually don't care about who you are, as long as you are paying the money. This hotel proved that it cares and respects every guest, even if they are foreigners.

I would take what I mentioned above as granted if I was staying in a 5 star hotel. But this is actually a fairly priced 4 star hotel. I didn't spend too much money here, yet it gave my heart a warm feeling, a big contrast with the cool looking city outside. This is a hotel I would remember for a long time and will come back again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poorjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews