We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
61
36
13
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
36
13
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews slept like babies beautiful ryokan private onsen men and women one night flute matted pampered male tatami baths tokyo sleep english
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2017

I stayed here twice in November. Once for business and once with my family (wife and two kids aged 5 and 8). The service is outstanding. Everyone is friendly and helpful. The hotel is located 10 mins drive from the famous Matsumoto castle. I believe there is a bus service if you don’t have a car. The rooms are spacious and very nicely done. Traditional Japanese setup with multiple tatami matted rooms. They convert your room for sleeping while you are at dinner. They provide you with traditional sleep wear and kimonos (which you wear to dinner and the onsen). Our room had a small outdoor dipping bath. The onsen is nice and separated by gender (every night they switch which part of the onsen is female/male so even on a one night stay you can experience both parts). There are two on site restaurants. Again traditional Japanese, so expect your own room, multi course dinner, .... unlike other ryokan’s they will try and accommodate if not all dishes are what you want to eat. Quality of food was great. Would definitely come back. Family friendly. Also, every night they have a 45 minute classical music performance for the guests. On both occasions there were only half a dozen other guests so you essentially get your own private concert

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank SwissScrivs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts KAI Matsumoto, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Dear SwissScrivs,

Thank you for a great review! We also thank you for choosing to stay at Hoshino Resorts KAI Matsumoto twice in the same month. We are very pleased to hear that you and your family had a comfortable stay in your room and that you enjoyed the meals as well as the music performance. Our services indeed strive to provide a stay that is uniquely Japanese and relaxing for all who stay with us.
We have a variety of hotels and resorts all over the country and we hope to welcome you back to another one of them again soon!
Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

A beautifully appointed hotel complete with quiet sliding doors and private onsens in some rooms. Public onsens, separate for men and women are available. Delicious and plentiful set meals for dinner and breakfast are available. Private concerts (usually a pianist and/or violinist or flautist) are free for guests every evening for about half an hour. Absolutely delightful!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts KAI Matsumoto, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Teresa C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Hoshino Resorts KAI Matsumoto.
Your comments are much appreciated and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the concerts. Our services strive to continue to offer a memorable ryokan experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back again to one of our hotels or ryokans in the near future!

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

We had a weekend getaway from Tokyo and wanted to experience the very best Ryokans Japan have to offer. Hoshino Resorts came highly recommended by my Japanese and non-Japanese friends and I have to say, their recommendation was beyond expectations.

Consistent with the rest of the positive reviews here, everything is truly looked after, service is anticipated and it starts from the minute you enter the property until you leave. Indulge in the world class service that Hoshino Resorts have to offer, the hospitality is one of the very best I have experienced in any hotel or resort that I have visited and you will be too pampered to want to live here forever.

Dishes are well prepared with the very best ingredients that is offered in and around Nagano, Comfortable tatami rooms, private onsen of your own allows you to unwind and relax at your own terms with live classical music performances after dinner helps to make this resort a perfect weekend getaway.

There are also plenty of wide oversized parking spaces at this resort, only feedback I could request is to provide shelter over the parking spaces as the Sun gets very hot in Summer and Snow in Winter.

I will definitely visit another Hoshino Resort because of the simply wonderful 1st experience at Hoshino KAI Matsumoto. The team did not disappoint and I have been highly impressed by the impeccable hospitality during my weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Rooms with private onsen if you prefer absolute privacy.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NCheok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts KAI Matsumoto, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear NCheok,

Thank you very much for staying with us at Hoshino Resorts KAI Matsumoto. I will share your great review with the rest of the team and we thrive on providing better services. We are so pleased to hear that you could have an amazing time with us . Your feedback about our car space shelter is much appreciated to offer a comfortable environment to our guests. We truly appreciate your kind comments. Hoshino Resorts also has 35 hotels and ryokans around Japan. Should you travel in Japan again, we hope you visit one of our various hotels and enjoy your vacation!

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

An upscale onsen hotel convenient to central Matsumoto City in Nagano. There doesn't seem to be much to do in the immediate area, but it's a great place to spend the night after walking around seeing the sights in the city. The rooms are modern and comfortable; ours featured an outside soaking tub. Dinner and breakfast were first rate without going overboard on the food. The staff are young university graduates eager to help, and most seemed comfortable using English. Moreover, menus and information are also given in English. Seems like the president is implementing some of the knowledge he gained at the Cornell University School of Hotel Administration. The highlight was the flute/piano recital with a wine bar in the evening in the music-friendly lobby.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Arnold F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts KAI Matsumoto, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

Dear Arnold F,

Thank you very much for staying with us at Hoshino Resorts KAI Matsumoto, and thank you very much for taking your valuable time to place comments for us. We are so happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.I will share your review with the rest of the team and we thrive on providing better staff services.
Hoshino Resorts also has 35 hotels and ryokans around Japan. Should you travel in Japan again, we hope you visit one of our various hotels and enjoy your vacation!

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Escaped the crowds in Tokyo and headed for the hills. From the minute we arrived we felt welcomed and pampered. Our "family" room with private onsen bath was perfect for three adults. We all had massages, and tried out all the public mineral baths. The food was over the top amazing, staff beyond helpful, and the evening concerts lulled us into a blissful sleep. Thank you Michi Travel for suggesting and booking our stay. We never would have found such a wonderful place.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts KAI Matsumoto, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Dear Susan B,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to place comments for Hoshino Resorts KAI Matsumoto. What beautiful pictures you shared with us!
We are thrilled that you had a wonderful stay and were satisfied with our service. Your high praise for us is greatly appreciated. It is my pleasure to share your review with the team.
Should you travel again around Japan, we would love the opportunity to welcome you back at Hoshino Resorts.
Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews