We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
61
36
13
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
36
13
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews slept like babies beautiful ryokan private onsen men and women one night flute matted pampered male tatami baths tokyo sleep english
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2016

i could stay forever. This small design hotel has it all if you are prepared to splash out for a night. Amazing ambience, top notch private and hotel onsens, food to die for...and live music in the evening. Think mid-century Japanese style..sliding panels...matted rooms. We stayed for a night on our way down from skiing to Kyoto. The staff are wonderful. Our room - a family tatami mat traditional suite was a delight (private in-room hot spring maybe an overkill). We arrived after an eventful day in Matsumuto - castle and shopping...changed and enjoyed the traditional japanese feast (a tip - the child's feast would be sufficient for most kids - my teenage boy could have eaten an adult serve) - we ate in a private room in robes after relaxing in the unbelievable onsen. Then music in the reception area. We slept like babies in a row that night - incredibly comfortable 'mats'. Another tip - ask for the little walking map of the local area. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: A family suite is great for four - intimate and spacious
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SueAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts KAI Matsumoto, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Dear SueAust,

Thank you very much for staying with us at Hoshino Resorts KAI Matsumoto, and thank you very much for taking your valuable time to place comments for us. It was great to read your very positive comments for us! I will share your review with the rest of the team and we thrive on providing better services. We do hope we have another chance to welcome you back again in the near future!

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Our tour stay at Kai Matsumoto one night. We were treated like kings and queens. People there are friendly and patient to explain each dish to us for dinner. This hotel also hosts a concert every night. We enjoyed the piano and flute and totally relaxed. We have our private onsen( hot spring) in room but they also offer the public onsen and you definitely need to experience both. I like the hotel very much and hope we can go back again in the near future.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts KAI Matsumoto, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2016

Dear Grace C,

Thank you very much for staying with us at Hoshino Resorts KAI Matsumoto, and thank you very much for taking your valuable time to place comments for us.
We are thrilled that you especially enjoyed the hot spring and the concert we hold every night. Your high praise for us is greatly appreciated. It is my pleasure to share your review with the team.
Should your travels bring you back to Matsumoto city, we would love the opportunity to welcome you back.
Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile

The food there was great, but the building was a little old and small. Was expecting something like Hoshino Resort since the price is about the same. Service was good, just didn't like the room even our room has a Opened-air bath.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank JulH46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts KAI Matsumoto, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2016

Dear Jul H,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We truly appreciate your kind comments about the food and service. Also thank you for your feedback about the room. I will share your review with the rest of the team and we thrive on providing better quality products to meet guests’ expectations. We hope to deliver a better and seamless experience should you stay with us again in the future!

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2015

Beautiful ryokan in Matsumoto. Very Japanese - beautifully appointed tatami rooms with private onsen. The breakfast and dinner package is brilliant value - the food is Michelin quality and service has no comparison - amazing! Great onsen complex as well with 13 different types (indoor and outdoor pools, rain room, steams, sauna, massage chairs, etc). Would return again!

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank NeilC5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts KAI Matsumoto, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2015

Dear NeilC5,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hoshino Resorts KAI Matsumoto. We are very pleased to hear that you liked your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate your kind comments about our food. As you mentioned, variety styles of onsen could be enjoyed in KAI Matsumoto so that our guests could have a fun/relax moment in the hot springs. I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of the team. We always strive to provide a great hotel experience for all guests no matter what season our guests visit and stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2015 via mobile

Amazing food. Amazing room. Amazing Ryokan experience.
We got a room with a private outdoor Onsen . Definitely worth the extra. Basically stayed in it until the noon checkout.
Meals were in a private room. Every dinner course was explained very well in English.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Julian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts KAI Matsumoto, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2015

Dear Julian L,

Thank you for taking time to review Hoshino Resorts KAI Matsumoto. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay especially the private outdoor Onsen. I will share your kind comments with the rest of the team. Every season, we prepare different menus using seasonal local ingredients. We do hope we have another chance to welcome you back again here at Matsumoto or another Hoshino Resorts property in the near future!

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews