We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
15
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family bath shiatsu massage one night sake ryokan english japan
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

We spent two nights at Asadaya this time and we enjoyed the visit to Kanazawa even more than the last time. Our host were again nice and graceful, and really patient with my poor Japanese (no worries, they speak English too). We spent three weeks in Japan and nowhere in the country we spent a more pleasant time or eat better. If you need to relax in a fascinating Japanese city, you can do no better than to spend at least a night in this wonderful place. You won't regret it.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank moken1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

The location is very central. Very close to one of the most iconic palaces and gardens, probably in Japan!
The hospitality was ‘one of a kind’ we were welcomed at the entrance, offered a welcome matcha and then escorted to our lovely rooms. The rooms DO have showers! That’s very rare in Ryokans!
The staff were ‘super’ friendly.
We had Kaiseki Dinner and next day Japanese tradicional breakfast. Both were ‘outstanding’.
Highly recommended

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Oliver_Zeitoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Our stay at Ryokan Asadaya was the highlight of our two weeks Japan trip. Excellence of service is achieved here and everything was close to perfection (the dinner, the breakfast, the sake, the shiatsu massage we got in our room, the family bath, etc).

If you want to spend a night at a ryokan to experience true japanese hospitability (and you should), this is the perfect place to find it. The only caveat will be that they don't have a natural onsen, but their family bath makes up for it. We are already planning our next trip to Japan and we'll make sure to spend more than one night in Kanazawa next time so we can properly enjoy this ryokan and the city.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank moken1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

We have been staying in a couple of ryokans/Japanse hotels during our holiday in Japan, the Asadaya ryokan really stood out for us.
The service is absolutely top, you are really looking after. It is small place, it only has 5 rooms and therefore feels very quite and peaceful. The location is superb, opposite of the Omicho market and a short walk to the park and castle.
The dinners and breakfasts are awesome and the plates the food is served on is spectacular. You have a small onsen in your room, you can use every time, the private onsen you can use as a couple at a reserved time is very nice. There is also an opportunity to have a shiatsu massage in your room.
This was the only place were we were being asked if we have any allergies, which is the case for my husband. The staff took great care to find nice substitutes during dinner. They also offer a choice of Japanse and Western breakfast which we did not came across in other ryokans we have stayed.
We only stayed 2 nights, if you have more time, I would recommend staying 3 nights (or more) to enjoy this luxurious ryokan and the city.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizT634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017

We just finished 3 nights at Asadaya, which is a well positioned ryokan right by the Omicho market and well positioned to walk into central Kanazawa or if you head in the other direction to Kanazawa castle and the gardens . It is also well located to catch the tourist shuttle around the city making touring very easy indeed. The rooms are magnificent , comfortable futons , with all rooms having a beautiful outlook over a small garden . The food was amazing as we ate breakfasts and dinners in the ryokan, with the staff checking your likes/dislikes etc., before preparing a special menu for the guests. The highlight was the staff though who are so incredibly attentive - from Tashira the manager , the madame of the ryokan , and in particular Yatsuno and Nomi who looked after us and nothing was too much trouble for them at any time . Incredible place and highly recommended if you want to spoil yourselves for a few days in Kanazawa which is a magnificent city - castles, gardens , art museums , geisha districts , old samurai houses - it sort of has it all !

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank FryMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qta_Asada, オーナー at Asadaya, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Thank you very much for staying at Asadaya for 3nights. We had wonderful time serving you and so glad to know that you had a good time. We appreciate everything what you wrote and taking your time for Asadaya's review. Everything we asked during your stay such as food like/dislike, pillow choice, Yukata robe size will be keeped as a repeater's information and at your next visit, you won't have to tell us all over again. We really look forward to serving you again. Thank you very much again for the amazing review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews