We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
eDreams
Booking.com
USD 150
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/11/21
Expedia.comUSD 196
Priceline
CheapTicketsUSD 196
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (699)
Filter reviews
699 results
Traveller rating
493
142
52
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
493
142
52
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private bath japanese breakfast train station wonderful ryokan old town ryokan experience authentic japanese experience western style wonderful stay kimono shoes baths oils onsen jr bathing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 699 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2019 via mobile

This is a lovely little Ryokan. It very traditional with amazing staff. Cannot do enough for you. The traditional rooms are single room and very comfortable. They have public onsens as well as a private one that you can pay for by the hour. Well located for various nearby restaurants. Great breakfast and they cater for all types of allergies etc and again, cannot do enough. A really nice experience and highly recommended.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nil1459
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 April 2019

The location is great, being near the station and within walking distance of the old town centre. Very helpful and friendly staff. Great public onsen which I had to myself both pm and am! Good value for Japanese experience without having to pay over the odds in a good sized room with all facilities. It is traditional futon bed which might not suit everyone but we loved it. The staff cannot do enough for you and the recommendation given for the evening restaurant proved to be the highlight of our visit to Takayama ( Ajikura Tengoku) The best Hida beef I've ever tasted! Highly recommend this hotel and I've stayed in many Ryokan.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerryGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 April 2019

Oyado Koto no Yume is a great place to stay. It's of a high standard (but not super-luxury), with good rooms (we had a traditional one with tatami floor and futon for one night, and a more western one for two nights), and a lovely onsen. The location is good, being close to the station and a short walk to anywhere else in town. Above all, the staff are exceptional in every way. The welcome and check-in were first class: helpful, informative and charming; and any other needs or requests we had during our stay, e.g., for information or a restaurant reservation, were met extremely well. We were very pleased we chose it and, although it's the only hotel/ryokan in which we've stayed in Takayama, I can't belive there's a better one.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JRLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 April 2019

Location is good, within walking distance to the heart of old city. There is a touch of a Japanese ryokan; if you ask for western room not much more. Room with ample space. Neither fancy nor too basic.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Yair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 April 2019 via mobile

Stayed for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The staff are very helpful and welcoming and the rooms are traditional and warming. We can not fault any of the experience and those that have bad reviewed this hotel must have either very high standards or very low understanding of Japanese culture. We would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a feel of Japan in a lovely place.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank peteratkinson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews