We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
12
22
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
22
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslocal breakfastmassage chairtatami roomgreat locationtakayama stationone nighttoiletsheatershirakawaaccommodationslippersbathroomguestsfacilitiesfloorjapan
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2017

I visited Takayama on Takayama Autumn Festival so rooms were either full or expensive. Finally I stayed here: they provide private rooms but shared bathroom and toilet. For the room, basically there is only futon, a chair, a safety box and nothing else. Wifi connection was good but you can only watch TV in the dining area. The toilet and bathroom were clean and I never found it busy and needed to wait. There are toilet and bathroom exclusively for female guests. Breakfast is included but there are not many choices. Some staff was super nice and helpful but some were not. The hostel is close to the train station and bus terminal. Most sightseeing spots can be reached by foot.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank gingerbrownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Due to our need a hostel to go anywhere easily, so we choosed Takayama Station Hostel for our accommodation. It's very near Nouhi Buses and Takayama Railway Station. There was a heater, aircondition and safe in a room. Bathrooms and toilets are clean and shared with others guest but there are a lots of them on each floor. The staff are cheerful and have a lot of useful information. We had local breakfast in a good view. By the way, staff are very nice and warm welcome.We will be back to Takayama again.

Room Tip: close to transportation
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Special3Holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

The location is superb. You can almost crawl to the (bus)station. And as takayama is not that big, your also close to the rest of the city.

Bathroom and toilets are shared but all very clean, breakfast is included - simple but good. Nothing to complain.

It was our first experience with the Japanese futons and tatami mats but they were very very comfy!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Enitia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

We had a lovely stay at the hostel, although it was very short and only for one night. We arrived late and had to pay a small fee for a late check-in, but the location was very convenient as it was only a short distance from the station. Complimentary breakfast was very much appreciated and there is a convenience store nearby. We also liked that there were laundry facilities onsite.

Stayed: December 2016
Thank sapphiratoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

This hostel has been the best value accomodation we have stayed in so far on our 2 week trip, largely in the Japanese alps. The majority of the guests are in their twenties and thirties but as sixty plus year olds we did not feel out of place. We stayed in a room with tatami on the floor and futon beds that we made up each day ourselves. You can request changes of sheets and towels if you stay a few days. The wallpaper was tasteful and the room well set up for storage. There was a heater, aircon and safe in our room. The aircon is not a split unit so a bit noisy. Bathrooms and toilets are shared but there are lots of them on each level. All facilities are scrupulously clean, The staff are always cheerful and most are full of useful information. On our first night the hostel was very full and a bit noisy but nothing that a couple of good earplugs cannot shut out.
The location is excellent, diagonally across from Nouhi buses and the Takayama Railway station. It is an easy walk into the preservation areas or the hostel hires out bikes for Y1500 for a day. A local breakfast is included.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Platoinsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews