We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
28
16
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
16
3
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2017

My husband and I really enjoyed staying at Ryokan Seibe. This was our first time staying at a ryokan and it was really lovely to get that traditional feel.

The landlady/owner did not speak any english and we could not speak any Japanese. Although this was the case, we managed fine with pointing and using google translate to communicate the basics to her. She was extremely friendly and made us feel at home. We enjoyed 2 breakfasts here and the food was amazing! She also gave us extra food and even gave us local snacks here and there. When we were about to check out it was pouring rain outside and she even gave us her umbrella to keep! Hospitality such as this really made a difference to our trip and we are so grateful to her!

The place itself is very nice and quiet. It's a walkable distance to Takayama Station, and it provides you with all the essentials (fridge, tv, hair dryer, etc). I definitely recommend trying food made by the land lady too, it was delicious! We have decided that we will be returning to Takayama when we can and we will definitely be staying at this ryokan again next time round.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2016

Fitting the entire principle of a Ryokan, we got greeted the moment we entered the door by obaasan (grandma) that owns the place. Although she does not understand not speak English she gave us a great explanation and made us feel right at home in her house. An onsen(hottub) was present where you could soak after a hard day of playing tourist. Waking up we were treated with a homemade breakfast! Even when we left, we received some special cookies from that region. This place has certainly gotten my recommendation for those who want the real Japanese experience

Room Tip: Any room is great. Just mind your manners!
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Ruben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2016

We checked in late after visiting Shirakawago and were welcomed by the landlady. Although she don't speak English but we can feel her warm welcome in Japanese. She showed us around the ryokan and bring us to our room. The toilet and room was very clean and well maintained. No wifi in the ryokan but we are fine with it. We had a very comfortable stay.

Next morning, the landlady brought us some delicious complimentary onigiri for our breakfast. She also wrote us a letter in Japanese words which we don't understand the meaning. We are in a hurry to check out as rushing for our bus and did not keep the letter. What a regret. The landlady was very kind and offered us some crackers to bring away. Most probably, she hope us have full energy to continue our trip and a remarkable experience in Japan. Great stay overall.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Leos1280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2015

This was my second time to Takayama, and alternate accommodations was never a consideration. After my first stay at Ryokan Seibei, I knew I'm going back there again.

The ryokan is a slight walk from Takayama station, away from the main sight-seeing locations, but still near enough to be within walking distance of everything of interest. It is a quiet little place owned by a kind oba-chan. Although she speaks no English, her warmth in welcoming more than conveyed her hospitality. I would never have expected her to remember us after a year, but she did.

Ryokan Seibei is a small and simple ryokan, with none of the fanciful facilities (such as a games or karaoke room) that other bigger and more modern ryokans may have, but still equipped with the quintessential onsens that all decent ryokans should have. Also note that, as with many ryokans, Ryokan Seibei has no elevators, and most of the rooms are on the second floor, so heavy and bulky luggage could be a problem.

I especially like that meals are an optional component in the stay (some ryokans include dinner and breakfast by default), and while I haven't had a chance to have a meal at the ryokan, I daresay that the Hida beef they serve will definitely satiate your appetite for good food. The price for just the room is hard to beat, even on websites like Airbnb, and is more than value for money.

If I were to visit Takayama again, this would be my choice of accommodation for the third time.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Wen Hui H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2015 via mobile

We got off to a rough start in Takayama since it was raining heavily when we arrived. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the JR train station so we eventually braved the rain and walked it when the rain had eased up a bit.

The obaasan (granny) who greeted us at the door was very welcoming and warm even though she only spoke in Japanese. No English here (I spoke enough Japanese to get by) however it might be more difficult for someone who doesn't speak it at all.

However don't let that turn you off from staying here because it was a wonderfully, charming place in a great location within walking distance to a lot of the sights of Takayama.

The rooms are traditional tatami mat rooms where you sleep on futons. Shared male and female toilets however they were always kept spotless and tidy - most importantly the onsen was hot and heavenly!

I would really recommend choosing the meal package when staying here - they provide dinner and breakfast of each night stayed. The food was AMAZING! For dinner they served local Hida wagyu beef where you could appreciate it cooked in two different styles; I was so full by the end of dinner but I ate everything because it was all so delicious. Breakfast was a typical Japanese breakfast of miso fish with steamed rice - also very delicious.

I would definitely come and stay here again just for the food if not for the wonderful sights around Takayama!!

P.S. Try their old-fashioned massage chair...it's a hoot!!

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jicby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews