We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel but nothing to do”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Swiss-Belresort Tala Bay, Aqaba
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Aqaba
Reviewed 5 March 2010

We stayed at Aqaba for 1 night, the hotel is good, the rooms are good, the staff service was excellent. However there is not much of entertainment in the hotel. The hotel has many swiming pools. The hotel water is too cold during winter, there is not indoor pool.

It was too boaring and there are no fishes in the red sea. I have stayed in Sharam El Sheikh in Egypt and its 1000 times much better than Aqaba. Sharm El Sheikh is fun enterntainment and Aqaba is the opposite.

The hotel provided free internet which was the best thing. the spped was good. There is no proper bar in the hotel. The breakfast was good. We found very old people in the hotel, it was more of a retiered center.

The hotel is located a bit far from the city however the hotel provides free shuttle service 3 times during the day and night to the city.

There is nothing much to do in the city too. Aqaba is close to wadi rum so if you plan to go to wadi rum its 1 hour and the cost will be JD 20.00 one way or JD 30 two way.

From petra to aqaba is 3 hours and the cost will be 40 to 50 Jd.

Driving from Aqaba to Wadi is easy.

Take a sim card in Jordan, calling from the hotel is exp.

Overall relax place, nothing to do. hotel is good.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hami80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NadineArnold, Guest Relation Manager at Grand Swiss-Belresort Tala Bay, Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2010

Thank you very much for your kind response. This really helps us to continously improve our Service. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon at the Radisson Blu Tala Bay Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,021 - 1,025 of 1,798 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2010

This hotel is situated in a brand new growing destination and you can feel it. It was maybe built a bit too fast so when it rains, you can have some problems ! Apart from that, the rooms are well decorated, the service in the room is perfect, the breakfast buffet is outstanding. The dinners outside are quiete and evening buffet is really good quality.

The beach can be a bit improved but the hotel is really worth stopping by and spend a few days relaxing

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fgoblet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NadineArnold, Guest Relation Manager at Grand Swiss-Belresort Tala Bay, Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2010

Greetings from Radisson BLU Tala Bay! It is rewarding to read your comments and we wish to thank you very much. We hope you will have an opportunity to stay with us again in the near future.
Kind regards, Nadine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2010

We read that the Radisson had 316 rooms and that looked much but due to the big, beautiul and well maintained, gardens, huge swimmingpools, much space on the beach and so many sunbeds/chairs/lounge areas we had more privacy and rest then in any other small er hotel we ever been. What a big difference with the Marina Plaza where we staid last year, the Radisson has so much more space, is directly on the beach and is so pretty and relaxing.The staff is very kind and very helpful and in general they speak very good English everthing is done to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The first night we didn't sleep well because of young Jordan neighbours but when we went to the reception the next morning they gave us another room immediatly even before we told them what the problem was. Within 10 minutes our stuff was moved and everything was arranged and big was the suprise when we we found out that they gave us a room with frontal seavieuw without additional charges. That is what we call "service" . The only minor thing is the check in and out, we arrived and left with several buses and there was only 1 desk available, this should have been organised a lot better for a hotel of this standard. Although I believe that our travelagent from Neckermann could have stepped in and organised it a bit instead of just standing there.

The beds and pillows in the rooms are so comfortable that we wanted to take them home. The food in the restaurant is also very good, not big buffets but enough variation to please everyone and a lot of fresh fruits and vegetables.

For people who don't want to go on excursion with their travelagent we can recommand to use the services of Oscar, a car rental/excursion office in the hotel. Great value for money and great service. You can get a private car with driver to Petra or anywhere else you want to go and it is up to you when you want to leave or get back. That is great and so much better then going with an organised group which we did last year.
To go to Aqaba you can use the hotelbus but this is only on set hours, so it is better to get a taxi or just walk outside the hotel and some kind Jordanian that is driving by will give you a lift to Aqaba that's how kind they are.

Jordan is a great country to visit, clean, great hospitality, kind people (that don't push you like in Egypt) and so much to see.

Just go to Jordan and the Radisson and see for yourself you will not regret it !!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAN6907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NadineArnold, Guest Relation Manager at Grand Swiss-Belresort Tala Bay, Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2010

Thank you very much for your kind review of our Radisson BLU Tala Bay Resort. It is a pleasure reading positive feedback like this and we hope you will have an opportunity to stay with us again in the near future.
Best regards Nadine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

Best place for calm, comfortable vacation. Very friendly staff. Everything was perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borisova_v_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NadineArnold, Guest Relation Manager at Grand Swiss-Belresort Tala Bay, Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2010

Dear AdenaSky

Thank you very much for your kind review of our Radisson BLU Tala Bay Resort. It is a pleasure reading positive feedback like this and we hope you will have an opportunity to stay with us again in the near future.
Warm regards, Nadine Arnold

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

by far not a 5 star, even not a 4 star.
people as astaff, managers are so poor in their service.
not recommended to people with kids , or looking for relaxation and leisrue.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank touristladyAmman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NadineArnold, Guest Relation Manager at Grand Swiss-Belresort Tala Bay, Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2010

First of all thank you for taking your time by writing your review.

We are very sorry that you had an unpleasant experience in Radisson BLU Tala Bay Resort, however, we always do appreciate feedback from our guests assuring you that we will take it for further action to a resonable level.

Best regards,
Nadine Arnold
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
0.4 km away
Marina Plaza Hotel by Swiss-Belhotel
13.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba
13.5 km away
InterContinental Aqaba Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 km away
Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea
14.3 km away
Oryx Hotel Aqaba
Oryx Hotel Aqaba
#18 of 41 in Aqaba
179 reviews
13.3 km away
Cedar Hotel
Cedar Hotel
#7 of 41 in Aqaba
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Swiss-Belresort Tala Bay, Aqaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Swiss-Belresort Tala Bay, Aqaba

Address: South Beach Road, Aqaba 77110, Jordan (Formerly Radisson Blu Tala Bay Resort, Aqaba)
Phone Number:
Region: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Aqaba
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Aqaba
#6 Luxury Hotel in Aqaba
#6 Family Hotel in Aqaba
#7 Romantic Hotel in Aqaba
Price Range: $126 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Swiss-Belresort Tala Bay, Aqaba 5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the new and high luxury developed resort destination of Tala Bay, only 20 kilometres south of King Hussein International Airport (Aqaba) and 15 kilometres south of the city of Aqaba, stretching along the coast of Aqaba Gulf, Grand Swiss-Belresort Tala Bay Aqaba is the cornerstone of the most famous Bay. The hotel offers breathtaking views of the warm Red Sea and the golden mountains, with an impressive collection of alluring restaurants and bars, magnificent beachfront and modern stylish rooms as well as numerous leisure facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Swiss-Belresort Tala Bay, Aqaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Tala Bay Resort, Aqaba Hotel Aqaba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing