We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
23
40
24
18
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
40
24
18
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews victoria falls livingstone area water pressure pool bar is small fridge hotel is located national park air con game reserve main building elephants retreat tranquility cruise
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed there with conference , we got charged for the slightest thing

WiFi is free but extra charge added for special WiFi !
Food adequate as it was free but definitely not 4 star
Did not see one person in pool
Hotel pickup was fine both ways
Rooms are ok , but poor construction meant mine was infested with mosquitoes and had to be twice fumigated
The body of stagnant water at the rear did not help
It’s near the game reserve but a good taxi ride to falls and town
Air con worked
Tv had few local channels only
Tip if you order a cab from reception you will be charged double ie $10
Fare to town and falls should only be $5 in local , try and get number for local driver Ive attached example of chap who returned an Mac air we left in his cab

Would not choose to use it again

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank MartofWinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, General Manager at Chrismar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2018

Dear MartofWinch,

Thank you for your review. Kindly be informed that we have the lowest rates among the hotels of our standards. With reference to no one swimming, during your stay with us the hotel was fully booked by conference participants who finished their meetings after 5.00 pm perhaps this contributed your not seeing anyone swim. However we have two swimming pools on site(one for residents and one for non residents and the Non residents pool is always busy especially on weekends.
We shall pay more attention to the other areas you have mentioned.

We regret that you would not choose to stay with us again and hope you would review your decision.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

It's my first negative comment ever, when I usually just ignore average experience.
Every single marketing element is fake or just an illusion.
If you arrive by air the pick up will not be assured if you arrive à victoria falls (only livingstone airport but the reception will not let you know until you are arrived spoiling nicely the whole afternoon)
We made a reservertion for 5 (3+2) and have been ask to pay for an extra bed... which I had to refuse obviously
We had 2 rooms, none of them didi properly close, as well as the windows, which is very nice for the mosquito protection but quite challengeable in a malaria infected country.
The air conditioning wasn't operating so we first hunted hundreds of mosquitos, after having found some batteries for the remote control at reception...
TV not working
no wifi in room (too far away from the reception...)
tub was leaking generating a flooding in the bathroom

should you ask a map of the hotel area you will get a map of zambia

the personnel is try to help and actually is willing to serve you the best they can but it is still far away from a **** hotel

the only compensation we got was a free shuttle to go back to livingstone airport.

so my only advise is RUN AWAY from this hotel

Date of stay: August 2018
1  Thank jb t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, General Manager at Chrismar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Dear jb t

Thank you for your review and please be assured that we shall address all the issues you have mentioned.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

I stayed one week for a conference. The general ambience was fine. House keeping needed improvement. Toiletries were partially replenished. Often we had to call for the towels. Refreshments in the room were not supplied from the third day onwards.

Room tip: Rooms away from the lobby was quieter but WiFi is poorer.
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Lai N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, General Manager at Chrismar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

Dear Lai,

Thank you for your review. I have taken note of your concerns and will ensure that we address the issues raised. We however hope you had a pleasant stay and assure you that should you visit us again, you will find a great improvement.
kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

I know some have slated this hotel in the past for being not up to 4 star standard, however my experience was a homely, comfortable and wonderful friendly experience when I stayed there this January as I was attending a retreat as a Board member for a local orphanage. The staff were amazing and so helpful - nothing was too much trouble! The pool was a dream (when I had time to relax) and the room was comfortable, air conditioned and if I needed anything I simply had to ask! They are a wonderful team at the Chrismar Hotel and care about their customers. No its not the Royal Livingstone, but I wouldn't want to stay there anyway its too pretentious! The food is basic and simple, however there are lots of up-market restaurants around if you want that sort of thing. The Kudu stew was delicious and the spinach & chicken pannini was a particular favourite! At the Chrismar, what you get is real life, real people, warm & caring Africans who work very hard to keep their customers happy. Thank you all! See you next January !!!

Room tip: Get a room overlooking pool - its beautiful at night.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank drmellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, General Manager at Chrismar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Dear Melanie,

Thank you for having chosen Chrismar Hotel for your stay while in Livingstone and we are pleased to note that you had a great stay. We have new rooms under construction which should be operational when you next visit us. These are more spacious than the current ones and we are carrying out a lot of refurbishments in the rooms, therefore be sure to find a much better Chrismar Hotel. during you next visit.

It was a great pleasure having you stay with us for such a long period and we look forward to being of service to you again.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

The wifi didn't reach further than the reception, which was a dissapointment. The restaurant was very simple and we only ate there once. Breakfast was ok. The whole atmosphere was one of a hotel that had seen better days. The room was boring, small tv, few channels, no wifi.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Guest Relations Manager at Chrismar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Tom,
Thank you for having chosen Chrismar Hotel and for your feedback which is most valuable to us as it enables us improve in areas that require attention. Kindly be informed that your concerns and views have been duly noted. Further kindly be informed that our current rooms are being refurbished and we have an extra 40 rooms(more spacious) under construction and almost complete.
Should you visit Livingstone again, please consider coming to stay with us again as I am confident you would find a great difference.
We thank you once again and wish you a Happy year ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews