We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
200
23
11
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
23
11
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game drives on stilts chobe chilwero zambezi river victoria falls tree house white rhino fantastic guide big game national park wonderful lodge boat tour nearby village herd of elephants game reserve walking safari rhino walk
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2018

Myself and the other women had the pleasure of staying at Sanctuary Sussi and Chuma.
We were greeted with fresh towels and a warm smile. This is truly a peaceful Sanctuary to end our 14 day safari, We cannot say enough wonderful accolades to the attentive staff and accommodations.
More importantly we fell in love with Africa and our guide and now friend Junior and Boston. They made our stay there more than memorable than can be put into words. From a smile every morning to a surprise Sun downer boat cruise on the river in the evening.
Our accommodations were five star with a private washroom and shower. Every meal prepared with the best food and lovely settings.
I can only hope to return to this magical place again! I hope that others have the opportunity to spend time at this amazing Camp.

Room tip: This is a luxury camp and not a hotel type stay.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

Like the other Sanctuary properties we have stayed at, Sussi & Chuma is very well run and attractively appointed. You will probably come to see Vic Falls. The Falls were fun but the high point of Sussi & Chuma is its location at the edge of the Zambezi. Two exceptional experiences: he trip to the head waters of the falls in one of the lodge's small boats. We saw hippos, giraffes, and many birds. Particular fun was running the rapids at sunset heading back to the lodge. If you stay here don't miss the boat trip. The other thing we especially enjoyed was having dinner, under the stars, by candlelight, literally at the edge of the Zambezi.

The rooms are comfortable and decorated in safari style. Our room, I think most, have decks with views of the river. The game drive was enjoyable and our guide, Allan, was excellent, knowledgeable and accommodating. The food was excellent and the staff were helpful and attentive without being over-the-top about it.

Tip-of-the-hat to Sussi & Chuma. We would stay there again without hesitation.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

The accommodations and staff here were OUTSTANDING! We were so well received and given a brief orientation upon arrival. It was so comfortable. We were on a 9 day safari to four different Sanctuary camps. This was the first and a great place to 'get our safari legs!' Our first 'game drive' was to the rhino preserve. Fascinating. Visiting the bike shop, school, and clinic at Nakatindi village was inspiring. Victoria Falls are wondrous. Meals at Sussi & Chuma were delicious and varied. The pinotage became a favorite!

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank InvitedToDinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

From the great staff and delicious meals to the eventful drives and boat tour with our #1 guide Phixon we had a momentous time. As a photographer I was able to capture some memorable shots in the sanctuary. Such a fantastic time!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

We loved our stay on Sussi&Chuma. The friendliness of staff, the knowledge of the guides, the cooking (incl caterpillars...), the evening visits by the elephants, the nights around the fire talking...., the white rhinos.... only positive things to say. We felt like being part of the family. Special thanks to Phixon and Junior!

Room tip: Nr 8 is great!
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank marjut f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews