We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
136
18
2
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
18
2
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thorn tree outdoor shower private plunge pool sunset cruise entrance lobby bar lounge area vast bathroom tourist crowds dressing area greeted with big smiles vegan diet high end luxury victoria falls road scholar walkie talkie his knowledge shoulder massage
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel, located in a Zambian national park far exceeded our expectations. The rooms and common areas were luxurious, the food amazing, the view outstanding and the staff was excellent. We had two safaris through the park and saw many animals. The park is small and has no lions, leopards or cheetahs. We also went to a rhino reserve where we got very close to the rhinos. We also went to the Victoria Falls and swam on the Devil's Pool. It was exciting and the pictures impressed all our friends.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Thorntree River Lodge- African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Ian what an experience devils pool is, I'm sure all your friends were as envious as ever. Thank you for this lovely review we are glad you had an amazing experience. A close up interation with rhinos is a life time memory, they are such magestic animals that deserve to be cherished.

Thank you again we truly value this feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2018

Thorntree River Lodge 29th September – 1st October
This Lodge was beautiful and the rooms outstanding. The overall experience of the hotel was not as wonderful as the rooms. The lodge had no heart and the service was lacking. Food was served cold and as there wasn’t any head waiter looking after the restaurant so one was concentrating on the customer’s needs. This lodge needs to get much better at looking after its customers and have a lead manager to make sure the customer is looked after. We had to really push to find out at what time we were leaving in the morning, it was a shambles. Our guide was knowledgeable and we had a good river trip and rhino experience. Unfortunately we can’t remember any of the staff’s names which proves our point!

Stayed: October 2018
Thank monty090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Thorntree River Lodge- African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Monty, I am so sorry that you felt our services weren't up to standard. We value your feedback and this is something we will look into. Our staff pride themselves in their guest service and this is not a norm.

I am so happy that you enjoyed the beauty of the camp and its surroundings. The rhino experience is one to cherish. I do hope you will return one day that we can prove our worth to you. Thanks again for the feedback it is how we continue to improve on our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

Zambia is a true gem and Thorntree is just one of those places that was made for service ..friendliness and absolutely amazing views.

They truly go out of their way to look after you...ohhhh don't forget the hippos that also come visit during dinner ...

Love this place and the staff...you guys rock ..

Thanks for making our trip mindblowing

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Safari827880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Thorntree River Lodge- African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Pashi you are amazing, thank you for this delightful review our staff will be over the moon to hear such awesome feedback. We are so happy that you had the best time. Please come back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018

Warm, inviting staff and beautiful accommodations and lodge make Thorntree a wonderful place for R&R when on a safari holiday or visiting the Falls. Rooms are beautifully appointed, have glorious river views and private pools. Food and service are excellent. Great gift shop, too. Highly recommend the Rhino walk. Also, be sure to ask to see the Falls from both sides.

Stayed: October 2018
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Thorntree River Lodge- African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Wendy, thank you for this lovely review we do appreciate it. Good advise in regards to seeing the falls from both sides. We are delighted that you enjoyed the rhino walk they are such special creatures and deserve to be cherished. Thanks again for this amazing review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

My husband and I only stayed one night but it was amazing! The rooms, staff, food, and location were five star plus. We took a sunset cruise that was awesome. Sitting there on the deck eating lunch we saw a family of elephants swim from one bank to another.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank DebbieDesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Thorntree River Lodge- African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Debbie. One night isn't enough to experience all we have to offer but we are thankful that you had a taste. Hopefully you can return in the near future to enjoy more of the Thorntree life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews