We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
USD 620
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/06/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
USD 620
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/06/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Official Site
USD 386
View deal
Hotels.comUSD 620
Expedia.comUSD 620
Orbitz.comUSD 620
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,529)
Filter reviews
1,529 results
Traveller rating
1,057
301
108
36
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,057
301
108
36
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews royal livingstone hand massage zambezi river beautiful hotel victoria falls sun deck corner room high tea colonial style luxury hotel national park wild animals devil's pool sister hotel main restaurant free access sunset cruise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,220 - 1,225 of 1,529 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2015 via mobile

I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. The service was great, the menu outstanding. Highlight every day were sundowners on the deck by the Zambezi, just before it tumbles over vic falls, with the gentle sounds of hippos snorting..,.magic.

Date of stay: June 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AJL66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal L, Manager at Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2015

Greeting from the Royal Livingstone Hotel,

I would like to thank you for your positive feedback & we look forward to see you soon for another Zambian experience.

Best Regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2015

The location is superb. It is located on the banks of the Zambezi River, right before Victoria Falls. There is a deck where you can relax and enjoy the view of the river. Victoria Falls is only 5 mins buggy ride away from the hotel.

The room is of decent size, well kept and nicely maintained. The bathroom had a nice bathtub. Overall, it was quite comfortable. Since the hotel is part of a National Park, there were zebras hanging around outside our room. This was quite fun and we got some awesome photos. There were also other animals like giraffes lurking around outside the hotel.

Service was excellent everywhere in the Hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Room service was prompt and efficient. There is only one restaurant in the hotel but it was delightful to visit each time. Breakfast was included with our room package, it was prepared on a a-la-carte basis and it was wonderful. Sitting in the open with a view of the river, breakfast was very enjoyable. There was an insect problem for dinners but it was bearable. That can be expected since it is part of a forest.

Room tip: Choose a room with a river view
Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TakesTwoToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal L, Manager at Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2015

Greetings from the Royal Livingstone Hotel,

I would like to take the opprotunity to thank you for your positive feedback posted on TripAdvisor, and we are glad that we could contribute to making your stay a memeorable one.

We look forward to see you soon again for another Zambian experience.

Best Regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2015

From the moment you step into this amazing hotel you feel like Royal!! We only had lunch and a sunset drink on the deck overlooking the Zambezi and wow we will return to this stunning hotel! The grounds with the Zebra etc gracing is just spectacular Would definitely recommend the Royal Livingstone to all!!

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nesta241, General Manager at Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

Thank you very much for sharing with us your experience at the Royal Livingstone Hotel. I can assure you, we take all comments very seriously. All feedback is shared with our staff and it assists us in aligning our training and staff development objectives. I wish to assure you that your feedback has been seriously considered and will contribute to the improvement of our product, service levels, and facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2015

We booked for a once in a Lifetime trip to Zambia and stayed at the Royal Livingstone. Having previously flown over it I vowed one day to return and stay there I was not disappointed it is simply the best hotel in terms of service and although carries a price tag is worth every penny for the unbelievable experience.

The Rooms

We had a room over looking the Zambezi river - with a very comfortable double bed complete with duvet. A fantastic place to stay and wake up the the mighty sound of the falls every morning an experience which can not be missed

The Restaurant

Although its pricey it is again worth every penny the food in spectacular and the service is yet to be match in any other hotel i ever stayed in. The staff here are on the ball and at your service - after you have had Royal Livingstone Service nothing else comes any where near it. The menus had plenty to choose from and deliciously cooked to perfection every time

The grounds

WOW!! Where else can you run into Zebra and Giraffes outside your window or on an afternoon stroll tot eh falls simply amazing experience. Set in the African bush it feels like a bit of colonial Africa with beautiful gardens surrounded by the natural habitat.

The Pool

The pool was clean with plenty of sunbeams around it and the odd Zebra from time to time an experience not to be missed.

The Staff

Every hotel should take a leaf out the staff's book at the Royal Livingstone you are left wanting nothing and nothing is too much trouble.

WIFI

Free wifi is limited but once that runs out extra wifi can be purchased. The free daily allowance was more than enough to do the basics.

The Spa

We had the Zambian massage over looking the Zambezi - its the best massage I have ever had (and i am fussy when it comes to manage) An experience not to be missed.

Hotel Overview

Yes the hotel is expensive but I did not feel I had over paid for what we received it is well worth the money for a treat or a once in a lifetime experience. Set in beautiful gardens projecting an old colonial style environment to perfection it is simply staggering..

I really cannot rate the hotel and its staff highly enough it sets a standard that most hotels struggle to aspire to - in a word utterly spectacular and totally awe inspiring. The best hotel I have ever stayed in by a long way.

Would I recommend The Royal Livingstone - Yes
Would I stay again - Yes
Is the hotel value for money - Yes its expensive but the Royal Livingstone is worth every penny it really does deliver what it says it will.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Amandainafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal L, Manager at Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2015

Greetings from the Royal Livingstone Hotel,

I would like to personally thank you for your posiotive feedback posted on TripAdvisor, and glad that we could contribute to making your stay a memorable experience.

i look forward to see you soon again for another fantastic Zambian experience.

Best Regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2015 via mobile

We had a magical weekend at the Royal Livingstone.The location is spectacular.The Falls are within easy walking distance and the staff were very friendly and helpful.A tip we found most useful is that the resident zebras and giraffes are fed in the bush near the reception area every day at 9 and at 3.Its exhilirating to see them charge through the bush when they are called by Kenny.Dont miss it!
Etienne and Dalien Labuschagne

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Etienne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nesta241, General Manager at Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

Thank you very much for sharing with us your experience at the Royal Livingstone Hotel. I can assure you, we take all comments very seriously. All feedback is shared with our staff and it assists us in aligning our training and staff development objectives. I wish to assure you that your feedback has been seriously considered and will contribute to the improvement of our product, service levels, and facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews