We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"in & out" in minimal time - if required, with tasty, fresh, filling food.”
Review of Bale Well

Bale Well
Ranked #222 of 1,570 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: AU$2 - AU$2
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Reviewed 5 September 2016

We were staying at Almanity resort & went to front desk to enquire about some walk able to have a nice feed. Bale well was given the thumbs up. A fantastic assortment of pancake, spring rolls, meat skewers (various) salad with rice paper rolls & grilled pork. A set menu but very adequate. Go there again in a heart beat.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (2,358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

555 - 559 of 2,358 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2016

I'm not sure why this place is so highly rated. First of all, the front of house tried hard to make us sit inside, its a bbq venue so sitting inside is not ideal on a 36+ degree day with BBQ's burning, plus the courtyard where we were eventually seated had plenty of seating available. Besides a drink menu, there are no menu's offered. Once you are seated the food starts rolling out. Basically, your waiter decides that you will have everything that is available and twice the amount you actually need. Naturally you're charged for everything that gets delivered to your table. I hope this is sounding like a rort because that is exactly what we experienced. I'ld say the same marinade is used for everything that goes on the BBQ. Regardless of whether I had the pork, chicken or prawn, it all tasted the same and really wasn't that nice. I would not recommend this restaurant to friend or even enemy. Eat elsewhere is my only recommendation.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PeafIower
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

We went to Bale Well for a more "local" street food experience (in a local restaurant setting) and that's exactly what we got. It we definitely a more adventurous experience than you will have at nicer restaurants in town (Morning Glory, Miss Ly's, Mai Fish, and White Marble were our favorites), but that was the whole point. It was also very inexpensive - three of us had a pretty good sized lunch with beer for $15. Just be prepared with the proper expectations - while Bale Well does draw more tourists these days, this is very much a "local" restaurant in a back alley so embrace the experience.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Great local experience. Basically as much as you can eat for 120,000 D per person. Perhaps a little expensive for what you can get on the street, but the staff are very entertaining and friendly, the pancakes pretty amazing and just an overall really worthwhile experience!

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank carlzp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 September 2016

Recommended by lonely planet I went. We sat, no menu, staff come and deliver a ton of food quickly, get ready for a FEAST OF FOOD..you better come hungry! It is wrap making and the satff come and wrap it for you as it is quite a skill haha. More expensive than street food but a fun relaxed atmosphere and experience! I treasure a proper seat to eat and it was well worth it. You can sit inside or outside. My 10 year old son loved the food. For 120k doung it was worth it. You are full for the whole day ;)

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eimear3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Bale Well also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Bale Well? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.