We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick service”
Review of Bale Well

Bale Well
Ranked #222 of 1,570 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: AU$2 - AU$2
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner
Reviewed 9 July 2016

Down a small lane but quite a large place. It's a set menu and the food is delivered very quickly. Spring rolls, rice paper to wrap chicken and vegies in and more.Skewers of pork and chicken to go into the wraps. Plenty of food but the speed it came to the table was disconcerting, not much time to relax and have a drink.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Les P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (2,358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

611 - 615 of 2,358 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2016

Sometimes 'folklore' allows 'something or an experience' to become something of a legend, and I think this may have happened with Bale Well restaurant. The restaurant is basic in design with metal tables and folding chairs and serves the same dishes to all patrons - there is no menu, but there is great Hoi An pancakes (grilled chicken and pork skewers, deep fried prawn rolls, fresh and pickled salads and sauces) with amazing flavours and the food keeps on coming - no one leaves this place hungry, or if they do it is by their own design. No it is not the most the inviting of ambiances, but it is honest and the food is amazing and well priced - not cheap cheap, but then what is in Hoi An anymore. Give it a go, and you will appreciate the 'folklore' surrounding this restaurant.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank celebrant09
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

Excellent food and they all speak English! Love the spring rolls and grilled meats. It's located in a back lane so look hard for the signboard along an alley. Right across the main street from Bale Well's alley there's another narrow alley that brings you right into the centre of old town without having to pay the silly entrance fee. Gantries have been set up at most street entrances to collect fees.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank purplecl0ud
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

If you want a 'street food' experience without the sometimes risk Bale Well is the ideal location.
Down an alley of a busy Main Street it's pretty easy to find; watch for the small sign & the street spruiker.
The action happens around dinner time and it's fun to watch; lunch is way less low key.
Don't be daunted by its small appearance; they also run a court years area next to alley that would seat around 400 - it's big!
The food is from a set menu of - spring rolls, bang xeo, pork skewers & pickled veggies. From this you 'make your own' rice paper pancakes. For those not sure how to; the staff will help out. It's fun.
A large roll up of both locals & tourists ensures the food is fresh & tasty.
Cost is fixed at 120,000 dong ($8Au) a head - very family friendly.
You won't leave hungry....!
Cheers, JRK J;(-

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank JackBrisvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

One of the best restaurants in Hoi An. Huge portions, enough for 3-4 adults. The staff will even "babysit" your baby while you eat😄

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank AFR1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Bale Well also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Bale Well? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.