We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place - great food drinks views and owners ”
Review of The Happy Buffalo

The Happy Buffalo
Ranked #88 of 976 Restaurants in Hoi An
Price range: USD 1 - USD 3
Description: Awesome snack-bar style food, cold beer and cocktails, a little sass from behind the bar and the best sunset in Hoi An! **Please note, we're an open-air restaurant/bar so we're open weather-permitting. Follow us on Facebook or Instagram @happybuffalohoian for daily updates!**
Restaurant details
Description: Awesome snack-bar style food, cold beer and cocktails, a little sass from behind the bar and the best sunset in Hoi An! **Please note, we're an open-air restaurant/bar so we're open weather-permitting. Follow us on Facebook or Instagram @happybuffalohoian for daily updates!**
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Great place - perfect if you need a break from traditional Vietnamese fare but don’t want to go full western or tourist farm.
Very relaxed place with good vibes and excellent selection of small plates that pay tribute to the local flavours but with an interesting twist.
Go early to catch the sunset at the back.

Thank Julien G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happy B, Owner at The Happy Buffalo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thank you for the review Julien! So happy you got to enjoy one of the epic sunsets!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Is this a Vietnamese restaurant? No but most of the touristy joints around it ain’t either! What you will get is western/Vietnamese fusion in a friendly bar atmosphere - what more could you want? Back in Australia this place would have line ups and people throwing fists fulls of cash to get this food.

The Canadians were super friendly and up for a chat which was nice and gave plenty of good advice on what to drink, their menu but also where was good around the place to eat - not something most restauranteurs in the area would do.

The food was bloody delish! I mean I was close to licking plates it was so good. The menu consists of bar snacks/tapas style bites. My favourite was the chicken wings, their take on the America buffalo wing but the croquettes, sliders, pork bao and chicken waffles Asian love child were all top notch.

I don’t usually like going back to a place in a town as there are so many places to try but I will definitely be back to the happy buffalo before we leave to have a yarn, ice cold beer and finish of that bar snack menu.

Thank danigirl86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happy B, Owner at The Happy Buffalo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

We're looking forward to a couple more evenings with you two in the bar and I promise I won't ask any more weird dental questions (at least not when the boys are listening...) Always happy to help with recommendations, that's what the community here is all about! But for sure come back to eat through the rest of the menu too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

My husband and I went to the Happy Buffalo 4 times in 6 days. It is an epic little bar. The hosts are from New Zealand and Canada and are excellent - so friendly, great to chat to and helped us with suggestions in Hoi An. They have well priced great drinks (good wine too) and the beat sunset in Vietnam! The food is fab too. We loved it so much so that my husband called it his “local pub” on our last night. Highly highly recommended at least once, if not multiple times!

PS the steamed buns were sensational!!

Thank Princessetami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happy B, Owner at The Happy Buffalo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Repeat customers are our pride and joy, means we're doing our job right. You guys were a pleasure to have in the bar, and we're happy to always be your "local pub" in Hoi An!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Perfect place to unwind after a long day travelling around. Food bites are delicious, I went for the “slides” (2 mix burgers in small buns) and it was delicious. The choice of music was great, the Motown-style songs made it a very enjoyable place in a happy atmosphere.
Staff were very friendly and helpful in giving some tips to make my staying in Hoi An more pleasurable. As you’ll see in other reviews, staff took the time to reply showing that they care.
Definitely a place to stop by and have a good time.
I was there in the evening and had no alcohol drinks but prices were very reasonable. Toilets very clean.
Well done! Great place!

Thank JSydAUSTRALIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happy B, Owner at The Happy Buffalo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thanks so much for the review! We're happy you enjoyed everything, including the clean toilets! It's everyone's least favourite job but always glad to hear it's appreciated, lol!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

Great vibe, music, hosts,and food.

Cheap beer, too.

What else do you need?

Perfect stop-off location on Cua Dai Rd if you're heading into town from the beach in the late afternoon.

Thank Mash414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happy B, Owner at The Happy Buffalo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thanks Rick, you and Laura are always the best company (and we can always count on you to bring your bottles back to the bar. And to take good care of Roman...) So happy you're back in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Happy Buffalo also viewed

 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to The Happy Buffalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing