We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very Beautiful but Average Restaurant” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brother's Cafe

Brother's Cafe
Ranked #192 of 720 Restaurants in Hoi An
Price range: USD 12 - USD 32
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, View, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: 3 french colonial building located in heart of hoi an town ( near central market) .Short walk thought a beautiful garden .enjoy lunch or diner along of riverside
Toronto, On
Level Contributor
200 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Very Beautiful but Average Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We were meeting friends for dinner and as Brother's Cafe was very close to our hotel (Ha An), we decided to meet there. We went to look at it during the day and it was very beautiful - right on the river with pretty landscaping. We enjoyed our evening and the food, but it is definitely "tourist orientated" - "stylish" food and very expensive by Vietnamese standards.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rosita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    217
    141
    73
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A massive disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Vastly overpriced for no better than average food.

The restaurant undoubtedly owes its popularity to its location. Other than this, it had little to commend it.

And it certainly does not merit the recommendations it enjoys in a number of guide books.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
112 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Hoi An”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Great ambience in an old colonial villa and facing the river. Great Vietnamese food and exceptional service. Slightly more expensive than the usual Vietnamese restaurant but well worth the price. It has various sections to sit in-we sat in the section facing the river which was magical. The food quality was the best we saw in Vietnam and we went to several others in Saigon, Hanoi and in Hoi An

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank GoggleEyedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food but overpriced for Vietnam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

The food and venue at this restaurant are fabulous. The gardens are magical at night and it is definantly worth a meal. I had a chicken curry which was fabulous, a little slow in getting to the table and a little expensive but very good quality food overall it is really worth a try hope you enjoy!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angelpepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lachen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great break of "Hoi An" ->Quiet place, beautiful garden, great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Just missed breakfast this morning, passed via a shuttle bus over to "Hoi An" and choosed Brothers Cafe as a kind of breaktfast replacement or brunch at 11 am. Just GREAT! Very warm welcome, nice, quiet garden, great Hoi An river viewing. We have choosen the vegetable pan cake (together with rice paper) which was at all incredible and the Cao Lao Soup which was great too. Take some fresh orange juice in addition and finish with a frutis table and american coffee! Take over all 1 hour and just relaxing of Hoi An's loud and tourist focusing town. It is really QUIET and BEAUTIFUL great food in addition...just enjoy..and.........RELAX!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heiko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brother's Cafe also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Brother's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing