We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
43
97
97
18
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
97
97
18
15
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

Very pleasant well situated hotel. Staff polite ,helpful,friendly and with reasonable English. Room and bathroom clean and ours had balcony. Not large but good decor. Wifi works, reasonable breakfast.
Well placed in centre of old town. Exceptional value for money. Would like to stay again.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelbeltran, Gerente at Hotel Beltran, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

We are very pleased to hear your comments. It will be a pleasure for us to have you here in any other time.

Sincerely.
Beltran Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile

Excellent location but everything else was pretty bad - if we weren't out all day and only there one night we would have gone somewhere else.

Like others have mentioned the courtyard is lovely but the rooms are really strange decor-wise and incredibly old. The room smell was unbearable - mothballs and or mould we guessed - we were gagging. Our lock fell off the door, the linen was filthy and included and old mink blanket, and the bathroom was mouldy.

The staff are barely helpful.

Breakfast was included in our room rate and it was very very basic - pretty bad really. There were half a dozen slices of white or brown bread, marmalade, tea and coffee, and some small croissants. There was also a bowl of fruit salad.

Would never ever stay here again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LisaGibbison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelbeltran, Gerente at Hotel Beltran, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017
Google Translation

Agradecemos desde ya sus comentarios. Sera tomado en cuenta para nuestra superación de cada día en el servicio brindado.
Equipo Beltrán.-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

The room is dirty and has insects. The room smells bad but it has a nice toilet. They have strong wifi in the lobby but its not strong in the room. It has a good location its near the old town.The hotel is kinda old and they dont have alot of things like they dont have a refrigerator. For me the hotel is not so nice.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Roseller B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelbeltran, Gerente at Hotel Beltran, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017
Google Translation

Disculpas por no poder haber logrado colmar sus expectativas.
Tomamos en cuenta su opiion para superarnos.
Muchísimas gracias. Equipo Beltrán.-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016

We had a double room on the ground floor. It was reasonably priced and it opened out on to a very pleasant inner courtyard with birds singing in the trees. However, background music was piped into a courtyard which disrupted the peaceful atmosphere created by the greenery and the birdsong.

There was a decent sized well-maintained en suite bathroom and the room was clean but there was a musty aroma which became quite strong when the cupboard doors were opened. There were also some signs of rising damp on the wall. A good regular airing would probably take care of the musty smell and it seems unlikely that the rooms on the upper floors would have this problem.

The breakfast mainly featured carbohydrates and there were a lot of sweet things. Anyone who does not like sweet things and enjoys protein-based breakfasts would find it inadequate.

Our room was reasonably priced so we accepted the drawbacks to staying at the Hotel Beltran. That being said, we stayed elsewhere when we returned to Colonia del Sacramento a week later.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderingandwonderin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelbeltran, Gerente at Hotel Beltran, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2016

Thanks for your opinion.
We hope we can better the facts that you find unpleasant or insufficient.
Best regards.
Beltran team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2015

This hotel is vastly different in real life from their marketing. The room was shockingly small and dark. What is perhaps not clear from their professional photos is that the doorway is your only window (when I booked, it appeared to me to be a balcony), and that what is right outside your door is the main path through the courtyard to the other rooms.

So in order to have any light or fresh air in your room, you need to keep the doors open and expose yourself to the foot traffic. There is an outside set of wooden shutters that create some privacy, but there goes your light.

The room itself is not secure. It is locked from both sides with a skeleton key in an assembly with loose screws (see photos). One good shove and you'd be in. I walked in off the street directly to the courtyard and to my room without encountering any hotel employees on many occasions. Yes, Colonia feels safer than Buenos Aires, but there weren't even any staff around as a crime deterrent. It's no secret that Argentina residents and tourists come to Colonia to get US Dollars out of bank machines (which you can't do in Argentina because of currency controls), so chances are you will be packing all of your cash around with you on your person, which doesn't feel all that secure either.

The single most disturbing thing about this experience was that the room had obviously been fumigated very recently. It was beyond the typical bug spray that dissipates relatively quickly, and so overpowering that it was nearly intolerable to be in the room. I saw evidence of ant problems, but fortunately no dead or dying roaches.

Amenities: TV, towels, drinking glasses, 2 bars of soap, 2 packets of shampoo/conditioner (see photo) that proved impossible to open in the shower with wet fingers. No fridge. No safe.

The hotel restaurant was closed except as a place to serve breakfast.

Paper thin walls in need of painting (see photo). I could hear every word of my neighbour's conversation, and everyone entering into the courtyard. So you only get to enjoy the quiet of Colonia when the neighbours decide to go to bed.

The breakfast was typical for area hotels, but extremely basic by European or North American standards (lots of bread and sweets, but no protein except for yogourt). However, it was nicely presented and there was fresh fruit salad and hot milk for coffee.

The hotel itself is in an excellent location just a few blocks from the historic centre, and an easy walk from the ferry/bus terminal. However in this case, the trade offs are not worth the convenience!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second level may feel safer and less exposed to courtyard traffic.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tangochucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews