We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
369 results
Traveller rating
65
177
99
16
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
65
177
99
16
12
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 369 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2014 via mobile

Staff was extremely welcoming and helpful. The swimming pool area is amazing and apparently clean. Location is just perfect. The bedrooms are terrible: too small, too noisy and very old. The bed is too soft that we got a backache. The shower was the worse I've ever seen in life.

Date of stay: December 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RaneMiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2014

just a short walk from the ferry terminal and bus station.
Hotel Leoncia is clean but smells of cigarettes.
Small bathroom, nowhere to put clothes other than on the floor, safe, desk, swimming pool, good security.
Breakfast is included in the tariff.
Just off the main street, we found it very convenient to visit the touristy things, waterfront and restaurants.
Thought the tariff at $93US was a bit over the top, although it is in a convenient location if catching the ferry or moving on by bus.
Would stay again if it didn't smell so much of cigarettes.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lyrebird6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2014

I was to go over into Argentina but I couldn't make the ferry. I looked around and found this place. Mistake. The room wasn't very clean. It was tiny. The place was kind of moldy. The air conditioning didn't work all that great. The wifi didn't work. The coffee at breakfast was the worst I've ever had and the breakfast generally had very low quality items.

Yuck

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank pitchblackpolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

very narrow beds.......
we stayed here around mid October just for a night.......the room for 03 had such 03 narrow beds that i was afraid i may fall off ..... though clean , nice hot water and a very tiny shower cubicle . the room was like a cell it made it feel more so as it rained and we could not open the windows. Besides the bedside counter no chairs and no place for an average size suitcase, good for us we had only check-in size cases. the room had a window which overlooked the inner courtyard. narrow corridors leading the way to the room as well as the restaurant....far from being a 03 star.
The breakfast ok no eggs though!! plenty of cakes but some stale, a very cold atmosphere in the hotel
Location ideal walking distance to the Barrio historico and to the Bus station, in fact we walked to the bus station and a well organised bus system.
The Portuguese influence in Colonia is very characteristic , we being from Goa(ex Portuguese Colony) India felt quite at home, as we could identify similarities.
Okay for a short stay and one does not have to be indoors!!!!!!

--

Room tip: groung floor rooms with no view.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sparkie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

The hotel we found to be clean and the people to be very nice at the front desk.

PLEASE NOTE THEY ONLY TAKE CASH! Pesos and/or dollars.

The pool was indoors and was clean and the water was good and warm. They also have a hot tub that was good and hot! Breakfast was adequate and standard for Uruguay.
Almost all hotels I have stayed in while in Uruguay were minimal in size and big on utility. We had a room that was a very small suite with a double bed in one room and 3 single beds in an adjoining room with one bathroom. The room was minimal reasonalby priced for the number of people and clean. We stayed one night.
The hotel has secure parking but we were able to park in front of the hotel.
NOTE:******
AWAYS REMOVE EVERYTHING FROM YOUR CAR WHEN PARKING ANYWHERE!!!!! ANYWHERE!!!! OVERNIGHT IN URUGUAY.(nothing in the car, trunk, or cab of car... as well as face plate for radio if it can be removed). You will be very dissappointed if you do not follow this simple instruction.
The room was secure, but had not safe. So as usual we carried our MAN bags on us with our high dollar items to be safe.
Check out was easy and quick.

Room tip: They only take Pesos or U.S. Dollars.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews