We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piece of Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Casa de los Limoneros
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Piece of Paradise”
Reviewed 8 October 2009

It was an honour to be the first ever Australian guests at this b&b, It truly is heaven and we had a wonderful 2 night stay . The house is magnificent as is the food and surroundings. The pool would be wonderful in mid summer. Our two hosts were charming and informative and took us out for a drive, also the history lesson Mario gave us when driving through Colonia was excellent. Colonia is a wonderful old town and a great place to see the sun go down whilst enjoying a glass of local wine before heading back to a picture perfect lemon grove. Loved the trio of labradors too !!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank travellingmum0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    17
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
99
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Airs
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

I stayed there for one night - it was a birthday present for my partner. The location is absolutely gorgeous and the fact that it is outside of Colonia gives the trip a peace and tranquility not to be found in any city, no matter how tiny. However, we were shocked when we got the bill for the food we had consumed there (one dinner for two and two sandwiches for lunch the following day)....it cost more than the stay!!! We were charged 15 dollars for a ham and cheese sandwhich with no dressing -just lettuce and tomato (we had 2!!). We considered this to be a problem, considering that we did not have a car and that there are no other places to eat nearby.
Conclusion: the place is beautiful but bring a packed lunch!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dfrankenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hollywood, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2009

My partner and I just finished our stay here and it was INCREDIBLE. The grounds of the Lemon plantation are beautiful. It was the PERFECT relaxing getaway from the hustle and bustle of Buenos Aires. Mario and Sergio and their staff are the nicest people and they run a first class operation. Soon enough Hollywood royalty are going to discover this place :). It's a short drive (10-15 US dollar cab ride) from the center of colonia. It's the most relaxing place I have ever been. The house is stunning with 30 foot vaulted ceilings in the house and in our room. great shower and bathroom, comfortable bed, nice linens. We were invited to have a Parilla lunch with Mario and Sergio which was amazing. The breakfast in the morning was something out of a dream.... you name it it was on the table. Carolina made great cafe con leche and was very attentive and always with a beautiful smile on her face. I cannot wait to return for a longer stay. It was the first time I was able to get a perfect uninterrupted 9 hours of sleep in over a week in Argentina. We fell asleep to the sound of the frogs in the pond and woke up 9 hours later to a calm serene morning. This place is like something you'd see in the movies. A truly magical experience. I WILL return!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Actorathlete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2009

We hadn't seen any reviews of La Casa de los Limoneros when we booked our stay, and were initially put off by having to pay a 50% deposit before we even got there. But any doubts completely left us when we arrived. Mario and Sergio, along with their staff looked after us like we were royalty and staying there was definitely the highlight of our trip. The house is beautifully and tastefully decorated and it's surrounded by countryside. It's a very tranquil place, has a lovely swimming pool and you can take walks to a secluded beach about 20-30 mins walk away. It's not a central location, in fact it's out of town, but we didn't mind. It doesn't seem like there is too much to do in Colonia (town centre), after a couple of days you've really seen it all, but we spent 5 nights at limoneros and we viewed it as a relaxing country break. It was also really helpful that Mario picked us up from the port and whenever he was going to town very kindly offered lifts to us as well. By the way, both Mario and Sergio speak English so there is no problem communicating.

We spent most of our holiday in Buenos Aires, so it was nice to come away from the hustle and bustle for a bit, and stay in a beautiful location. Oh and I forgot to say, Sergio (chef) is a wonderful cook - so there's really no need to leave the house at night.

I would highly recommend La casa de los limoneros and it's definitely one of our all time favorite places to stay.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ginger_perkinss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
7.0 km away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
2,037 reviews
5.8 km away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,055 reviews
7.3 km away
Charco Hotel
Charco Hotel
#1 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
887 reviews
2.8 km away
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Reso...
#5 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
955 reviews
7.2 km away
Posada Plaza Mayor
Posada Plaza Mayor
#13 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de los Limoneros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de los Limoneros

Property: La Casa de los Limoneros
Address: De Julio 352 Colonia del Sacramento 18 | Carretera Humberto Mignones Esquina Camino Tomas Assandri Real de Vera, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Colonia del Sacramento
Price range (per night): $111 - $193
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Casa de los Limoneros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Los Limoneros Hotel Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing