We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a 5 star experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Ras Al Khaimah
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not a 5 star experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We are a family travelling with children aged 5 and 8. We visited this hotel in Feb 11 and had such a lovely time we decided to go back for our winter holiday this year. Rare for us as we never go back to previous hotels with so many places in the world to visit!

This hotel works with young children. There are lovely safe, clean beaches, a football pitch and many pools. They are heated though and not very refreshing, bit like a warm bath. The kids club is ok. It costs about £8 per child for half a day. Mine only went on 3 days for about 3 hours. This was enough as not a lot to do, but staff were nice and friendly.

The staff working in the bars, restaurants and cleaning the rooms are friendly, helpful and a real credit to the hotel. The hotel is kept very clean even though many areas are starting to get a bit dated.

This is where the 5 star experience stops. We travelled all inclusive. The hotel main restaurant food can only be described as poor. Salads and breads on offer are a good selection but meat used was often fatty, tough and cheap cuts. Chicken was only wings and thighs and the only fish I saw on the griddle was Salmon. Often the main griddle was cooking burgers! Typically 3 star food. There was Smoked Salmon one morning for breakfast but for the rest of the time it was replaced by processed chicken/ham meats. This meant we were forced to eat a lot of evenings in the restaurants around the resort. These were of a better quality although not outstanding. They were also expensive. You are given an allowance if your are all inclusive that will just about the cover the starter!

The wine on the all inclusive option was disgusting. This was Hardy's Stanley Chablis. You can purchase online for 89 AED for 4L about £12 (although the hotel wouldn't be paying this much!) so you can imagine what it taste like. We therefore spent more money each night buying 'nice' wine from the wine list. If you like good quality wine and food then this isn't the hotel for you.

We had a noise problem in our room on three nights of our stay, whilst finally rectified by the hotel they offered us poor compensation and we have come away having to complain to Hilton direct.

This hotel has the potential to be superb. Fabulous location. RAK is very up and coming area with Real Madrid World and many other 5 star and first 7 star currently being built. This hotel needs to up it's game if it has any hope of continuing to compete with the 5 star experience.

Room Tip: We had a King deluxe suite. Lovely size for a family and large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clippers1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMHiltonRAKResortSpa, Manager at Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Clippers1664,

Many thanks for your comments further to your second stay at the Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Resort & Spa.

I am of course delighted to learn that you have enjoyed the recreation facilities, the kids club, the friendliness and helpfulness of our team and the cleanliness of the property.

However, I am sorry that you did not find the food to your liking, whereas we traditionally get a lot of praise for it, in terms of both variety and quality. I have alerted our F&B Manager for his review regarding your comment about the quality of the all inclusive wine option so he can assess these potential improvements.

Again, we are very sorry about your disappointment as well as regarding the noise in your room. If I am not mistaken, think the noise was related to the wind and the sun umbrella on the terrace above your room. I am sorry for the inconvenvience.

Please do feel free to contact me directly for your next visit and I will personally ensure you receive the level of service you are accustomed to at Hilton.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,872
    1,428
    489
    182
    112
See reviews for
1,887
2,100
148
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,017)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We have just returned from visiting Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Resort & Spa. As most people have already said, the resort is lovely but it is Isolated. If you haven't visited Dubai you may find staying in this resort a little too far out. It is a 3 hour round (on a coach) trip to centre of Dubai. The Hotel is in a small unkempt town which I certainly wouldn't want to take a stroll around. The hotel offers a free shuttle to the Mall but honestly, the shops are very limited it wasn't worth the visit!. We stayed B&B and the breakfast is FANTASTIC!!. The variety was incredible from every fruit to meats, pancakes to smoothies, pastries to Brie cheese, the choice was immense, all freshly prepared and you can have omelettes etc made to order!! This kept us going all day. The restaurants were good, staff fabulous. We loved the seafood restaurant around 300dh for 2. We also went to the American Steakhouse restaurant although this was very expensive around 600dh. Overall a very clean hotel with polite & caring staff. The only downside the weather was dreadful:-(

Room Tip: We stayed in a Garden Terrace room. It is on the ground floor with a small private garden and you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMHiltonRAKResortSpa, Manager at Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Marie E,

thank you very much for choosing the Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Resort & Spa and for your review.

It is with great pleasure that I read your feedback about the facilities, our room, the service and the quality of the food from breakfast to our speciality restaurants.

Rest assured that your very encouraging comments have been shared with the team here.

We all look forward to welcoming you to the resort very soon.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

My family and I just returned from our stay at the Hilton and we were very disappointed. The photos on their website are very deceiving and must have been taken when it first opened. It is in a wonderful location but desperately needs some TLC. Food is not fresh, mostly frozen or processed and tastes of nothing. They have these lovely beach villas that are so run down and for the price totally not worth it. The hotel on the whole needs refurbishing, new professional management who have an attention for detail and some new chefs in the kitchen. Such a shame as the hotel has such potential to be great if it were run properly. We will not be returning until it has a major facelift and new management. Come on this is supposed to be a Hilton!

Room Tip: Go for a room in the main hotel as the beach villas are so run down and dirty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMHiltonRAKResortSpa, Manager at Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Merc21,

Thank you very much for taking the time and effort to post a personal review here at TripAdvisor following your recent stay in our resort.

We truly appreciate any feedback as it is comments from our valued guests that enable us to improve our services and facilities.

I would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused during your stay and stress that we try our utmost to ensure that all guests enjoy their holiday or week-end break.

I am sorry that you did not find the food to your liking, whereas we traditionally get a lot of praise for it, in terms of both variety and quality. Please do feel free to contact me directly for your next visit in order for us to prepare dishes that suit your taste.

We already started last year the soft refurbishment of 78 villas, the balance will be done this year during the summer season so I hope to welcoming you back following the facelift.

I would like to thank you again for bringing these issues to my attention, and I look forward to welcoming you back to our Resort.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubai
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Me and my family decided to take a short break from our dubai life and we decided to go to RAK.we tried to book room in the resort, unfortunately there were no rooms available.but we got nice deal with double tree and we stayed at double tree.up on check in the front desk staff informed us ,we can use the resort facilities free of charge which was interesting.the resort was amaizing and me and my family specialLy my 5 year old daughter enjoyed the beach very much.
actually we were planning to go back to DT for our lunch,But we saw the lovely beach bar at middle of the villa.we had nice s/w and smoothies.one of the service staff informed us about the restuarants and we decided to go to Pura Vida restuarant for dinner.The place was amazing, I had a Churasco and my wife had a nice selection of sussi from the next door. The restuarant Manager Subash was very kind enough to get the sussi from other restuarant.
After a delecious dinner,we sat in the bar and tried Caiprinia from Emmanual.
I really recommend this resort for a family get away.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biju J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMHiltonRAKResortSpa, Manager at Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Biju J,

Thank you for reviewing Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Resort & Spa and our sister hotel, Double Tree by Hilton. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate your valuable feedback on our restaurants, the recreation facilities and service. It is a pleasure indeed to know that the team left you with a positive impression.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We were traveling as a family with 2 small kids (3,5 and 1 year) and my parents (60+), booked half pension. I was a bit disappointed when we didn't get a rooms as we order with our agency. I have booked 2 deluxe rooms and I was told that all deluxe rooms are with a see view and guest rooms are with the garden view. But the receptionist told me, that all rooms are deluxe and sea view is only given if there is a availability. And the hotel was full even if there were all day coming new guest. Never mind, we at least got a connected rooms on the second floor with side view. One room was queen deluxe (2 separate big beds), very nice bathroom with shower and bath and second room king deluxe (king bed) but bathroom for disable (not as nice), without bath, only big shower room. The shower is situated low and when you need to wash your head with 2 hand you have to sit on the floor! TIP for hotel management - one little hanger higher for hand shower would sorted out this problem.
I must say the rooms were clean and room service was very polite. Thank you to guys who were cleaning our rooms 3217 and 3219 on the week from 24.03. Tea-kettle, coffee, tea in the room and a complimentary bottle of water every day.
Hotel staff is excellent, very polite and always smiling not only to our kids. Food - breakfast great, dinner mostly poor. Waiting for grill speciality every time, waiting for plates and glasses... one evening was as a fruit only green melon and whole oranges. Deserts poor choice and taste. From this point the HP was enough. We use to have lunch by the pool or in one the the beach restaurants. Burgers, sandwiches, salads, fires cost apx.50ADE, beer 1/2 pint 16,pint 22,0,5l bottle of water 16, 1,5l water 22. A bit expensive Starbucks coffee on the reception- Medium Vanilla latte 33 ADE.Outside area is excellent, beautiful salt pool with various deep water - even for small babies (but little bit cold on our stay). Kids pool (and adults pool too) with temperature controlled water (28C) was great for kids. Even there were guests from other Hilton in town coming every day, we always found a free sun beds by the pool or on the beach. Beach was excellent, long and very wide. Kids club cost 40 ADE for 5 hours ) 60 for all day. Our older son was there only once for about 2 hours, nothing special, but nice smiling staff. Resort is 1,5 hour from Dubai,but only 7 min.from small (compare to Dubai) Manar mall in RAK. NOthing else in town, but resort is big enough for a nice walk after dinner or so. I was appreciated there was no loud music by the pools. Order a food for lunch (by the pool) in advance as it takes about 20 min. There are a many other things to talk about, so If anybody has a questions, let me know.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danks21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMHiltonRAKResortSpa, Manager at Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Danks21,

We very much appreciate your feedback on your stay at Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Resort & Spa, thank you for sharing your experience.

As we read, you virtually enjoyed each and every amenity we offer. In order to provide this atmosphere it is most important to have your constructive feedback which is very valuable for us to know. As we strive to exceed the expectations of our guests our respective departments will review your suggestions so we can assess these potential improvements.

We wish you the best in your future travels and of course look forward to your return visit

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ras Al Khaimah hotels
26.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort & Spa Marjan Island
23.5 km away
Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah
Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah
#1 of 26 in Ras Al Khaimah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,943 reviews
23.0 km away
Hilton Al Hamra Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.9 km away
Rixos Bab Al Bahr
Rixos Bab Al Bahr
#3 of 26 in Ras Al Khaimah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,552 reviews
2.3 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Ras Al Khaimah
25.7 km away
Bin Majid Beach Resort
Bin Majid Beach Resort
#11 of 26 in Ras Al Khaimah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Resort & Spa
Address: Al Mareed Street, Ras Al Khaimah 122998, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah > Ras Al Khaimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
#3 Spa Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
Price range (per night): $197 - $506
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 475
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Resort & Spa is nestled in a spectacular private bay at the northern tip of the Arabian Peninsula, overlooking the shimmering waters of the Arabian Gulf. Only a 50 minute drive to Dubai International Airport and two hours from Abu Dhabi International Airport. Guestrooms: The Resort consists of 151 Guestrooms in Villas and 324 Guestrooms in the hotel, each with a private balcony and exclusive access to the beautiful 1.5 km sandy beach. All guestrooms are fully equipped with a Plasma TV, minibar, alarm clock, coffee facilities, safe box, iron with board, hair dryer and wired internet (fee). Dining: With 13 restaurants and bars to choose from, guests will be spoilt from choice. Start the day with Hilton Breakfast in the bright and spacious Maarid, then stop by BN Cafe for a Starbucks coffee, or swim up to the pool bar Sunset Bar before grabbing a bbq lunch at Al Bahar with an underwater view. Begin your evening with a traditional Middle Eastern shisha in 6 Degrees bar, before contemplating whether to try South American cuisine in Pura Vida, Sushi in Passage to Asia or classic Italian fine dining at Piaceri da Gustare. At night, bar hop your way around the resort, from the classic X.O bar serving cognac and vintage ports to Espirit for trendy cocktails and a live DJ. Leisure: The Spa features hamams, jacuzzis, saunas, and treatment tents on the beach. For the gym enthusiasts, there is a Hilton fitness by Precor center with aerobics rooms. Or take part in water sports with our on-site diving center offering snorkeling, water skiing and sailing and jet skiing. The perfect end to a day is a swim in one of our six swimming pools; including a salt water pool and 2 shaded pools for children. An onsite Kid's Club with indoor and outdoor playrooms will keep the children busy whilst you relax in the best resort in Ras Al Khaimah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au and Expedia APAC so you can book your Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Hotel Ras Al Khaimah
Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Resort And Spa
Ras Al Khaimah Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing