We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveller rating
82
111
51
22
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
111
51
22
31
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 297 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2010

A lovely value hotel. the staff are super friendly, they made my family feel completely at home. The hotel is no ritz. - its basic but clean. The food is in plentiful supply but of course dont expect silver service. Its a great value hotel that does what it says on the tin.
All of my family are vegetarian and the staff went out of their way to cater for them.
In summary, expect a good clean hotel with edible free food and you will be pleasantly surprised. If you go expecting a 5 star, then you will be dissapointed.
My family would be very happy to stay there again and the staff made it a memorable stay for them.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jaymanek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2010

HOTEL BLUE STAR JUST RETURNED FROM THE HOTEL I WILL DO THIS ON A GOOD POINT BAD POINT REVIEW
1- The hotel is very very clean the rooms are spotless and the dining room is very clean.
2-the food while being repetitive is varied and of good quality
3- The staff speak little or no English but take time to get to know them and they are lovely people.
Thats it for good points.
1-The reception staff s answer to everything is Okay after leaks freom the bathroom roof and telephone not working and sparks from sockets response terrible
2- The noise in the main building is unbelievable you can hear a pin drop next door and hear everything toilets talking and many more intimate happenings?.
3- This hotel has to many rooms for the size of their ameneties ther is no way it could cope with the pools and resteruant when full.
4-The hotel is a good 500 metres from the beach walking through the poorer places in Alanya and uphill all the way back.
5- The beach is dirty as the hotel leases it out to a seperate company the toilets are filthy and the beach is full of flies and dog s--- due to them never cleaning it what they advertise on the website for food does not exist
6-PlLEASE BE AWARE THAT THIS HOTEL IS WITHIN THE REACH OF PEOPLE WHO ARE AT BEST CLASSED AS UNDESIREABLES THEY MAKE NOISE UNTIL 4-5 IN THE MORNING AND THE STAFF FAIL TO DEAL WITH RUDE AND AGGRESSIVE GUESTS
AS THEY ARE ANAWERABLE TO THE TRAVEL AGENTS AND AS USUAL IT COMES DOWN TO MONEY
Therefore I would class this hotel as a good budget hotel but with many issues also we were the only English amongst 500 people and thr attitude is ignore you
Ihope this review helps and sorry coud,nt be more positive
One last thing the entertainment is an absoloute disgrace at best you have to see it to believe it .

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank plumbingEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2009

The Blue Star is about 10 minutes walk from the beach. It was very clean, and the room was spacious. Pool areas are nice, and the bars are good! The pool bar is quieter at night, and the service in the hotel was good. The food is catered towards Germans (which was around 95% of guests when we were there), but was nice, and plenty choices for veggies. Near the beach there are some good restaurants and bars, and Cleopatra beach is around 20-30 minutes walk.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gina025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

If you will be flying through Antalya Airport on your journey back, you must read the latter part of this review.
First, The Blue Star: Good quality hotel, catering to German people. Main language is German, as is the food style. English is second, for the non German speakers. This large hotel is set in an urban settlement about 10 mins walk from the beack. A hotel bus leaves for the beach every 15 mins during certain hours of the day, and also goes into Alanya Town twice a day. Note, you need to make your own way back from Alanya (10TL) by taxi.The A.I. concept allows soft drinks/beer/ local spirits from a.m. till late. The hotel has a private beach (#17) which has a bar for B.S guests, serving beer/ coffee/soft drinks. Also Pizza/Burger/Chips during lunchtimes. All part of your A.I. package.
Staff are pleasant, if not friendly. I got the feeling they were there to 'do their job' and no more. No issues with that. Breakfast has omlettes cooked to order, german style bread/cheese toasties, and other hot food included sliced sausage in sauce, every morning. Fruit , cerials and salads were plentiful. Lunch was basic. Dinner was, weather permitting, prepared in the patio area between the pool and dining room. See attached photo for an example of one item being prepared for that evening's dinner. Room was comfortable, and clean. however, the air conditioning unit did blow very cold air directly onto the double bed, was difficult to control and noisy.

Transfer from/to Antalya airport is about 2-2.5 hours, including the obligatory stop where no-doubt, the driver and rep get freebies while I paid £8.00 for 2 small beers! Antalya Airport is a total rip-off. All prices are in €uros. We bought a Burger King Meal with an additional burger, and it cost us €18.00. 'Duty Free' is also priced in Euros.Everything is relatively expensive. Watch out, when you go to the checkout. Your bill will be priced in Euros, the converted to TL at a less than favourable rate, if you pay by credit or debit card.
REMEMBER: Antalya airport has TWO security scans. If you buy coke/water/ beer PAST the passport/1st security x-ray, you will not be allowed to take it past the 2nd x-ray into the check-in area. Not like the UK airports where if you purchase liquids past X-Ray security, you can take it with you for the rest of your journey. We were really hacked off when we were forced to give up 2 bottles of coke, which we had purchesd at a rip off price of about 8 Euros (16 TL) at the airport shop, because we could not take them past te 2nd security check.

Overall, the Turks are friendly, and happy to help. We had a Turkish Bath with all the trimmings, inc. a mud bath. Fantastic. Try it! If you walk past shops in Alanya, you will be invited to 'see my shop'. Barter, and haggle. It is expected. Expect to pay what you think the goods are worth. Remember, Turkey is renown for it's 'quality' fakes, so YSL/LV/Lacoste/RL etc. are all available at rock bottom prices. The labels are there, the quality is not!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FrankDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

The first bad experience was when we found out there were no soap in the bathroom when we arrived. Not a big deal you might think. But the staff was not pleasent nore helpful. There were only germans, russians and turkish people staying there, so for a swede it´s really not the best hotel to stay at if you want to make connections with other compatriots.

The staff really lacked knowledge in the english language, wich made it hard to make yourself understood.

The staff also tried hard to get me and my friend to go out to "discoteque" with them, and we just wanted to be there for a nice holiday on our own, or with people we chose. Not very proffessional.

The entertainment was SOOOOOOO BAD!!!!! We don´t really know if it´s even worth calling entertainment. Hell no! Maby for the germans though..

They did not have the capacity for all the guests to eat, so one night we hardly got a table, and we also had to eat our food with a spoon. Although the food was ok. Someone said it was bad because there were no english food there. If you want to eat english food - stay in England! In Turkey they eat turkish food, believe it or not. Just that there were no explanation what the food contained.

We thought it was boring that there were no music played after 5 pm in one of the pool areas. And in the other pool area, it was that bad entertainment.

The all inclusive beach (number 17) was great though! The staff there were helpful, friendly, and mastered many different languages. That was the best part of the Blue Star and there all inclusive concept.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lajnaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews