We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Although the decor was a little jaded the hotel was clean and we found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We did have to wait for our room to be prepared but this mild inconvenience was more than compensated for at the end of our stay as we were able to use our all inclusive status all day, despite check out time being at 11 am and our airport transfer not until 4 pm. I was worried about the food, having read such mixed reviews, but in fact, on the whole, it was excellent. You will not get Fish Fingers, English bacon or sausages because you are in Tunisia (!) but you will get your breafast eggs cooked in front of you, chips on offer with every meal and the opportunity to try Tunisian specialities. Having worked as a chef many years ago I am not easy to please and have high expectations when eating out and was pleasantly surprised by the quality and wide range of food on offer.
The pool area was clean, the bar staff polite and towels available for hire if you want to save on luggage space. We didn't experience any difficulty in aquiring sun beds either by the pool or on the beach but that might be different in high season.
There was building work going on next door which was a bit annoying at first but after a while we were able to tune it out. We did hear some people complain about it though.
We enjoyed wandering around Port el Kantaoui but it did involve a fair amount of hassle from the shop keepers. But hey! They depend on tourism in order to survive and it is their job to extract as much as they can from us. It is worth brushing up on your French or even learning a bit of Arabic.
We went caught a luage to Sousse which was fun and the cheapest way to get around. Alot of the shops in Sousse are fixed price so for people who struggle to haggle it is an opportunity to browse at leisure with no pressure. Not so much fun though!
On the whole we had a very enjoyable stay in Tunisia and I will definitely return there as a week just gave me a glimpse of a country that I would like to explore.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank JenJayLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,069)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,356 - 1,360 of 2,069 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

My friend and I stayed here for 1 week during Easter , we had a fantastic time here even though the hotel was very quiet with not many guests , on arrival we were given a welcome drink which was very refreshing , while you fill in the form with all your details on , we had booked a sea-view room and it was just perfect , yes we had the building site to our left as we sat on the balcony but it didn't really bother us we just looked straight ahead at the sea neither did the noise it wasn't that bad , our room 427 was lovely and the maid was really nice making our beds and curtains into works of art every morning . The food was excellent plenty of choice and different meats every night breakfast was also perfect as was lunch at the pool bar . All staff were very helpful towards us , no complaints at all , which leads me to the bar staff Sami, Fatma a lovely young lady and the other two we called lambrusco and I love you , the latter told us that was his name when we asked , so every time we wanted a drink we shouted I love you and he was there with our drinks , yes you have to sign for your drinks if All Inclusive but hey it's not difficult and hardly strenuous is it , he also told us some very funny stories, well we had such fun with them every night they all made our holiday,  drinks were plentiful just be friendly , chatty , ask some questions and a little tip is always appreciated , the only thing that let hotel down was lack of animation team and the disco wasnt open , Mehdi he is a wonderful man tried his best to get everyone involved in games and activities (although in no way pushy) on his own he done a great job and he did get a nice young man helping towards the end of week, all in all we had a fab time , it is what you make and we made it fun . Would I go back to this hotel YES without a doubt just wish club had been open then we wouldn't have had to go outside hotel for night-life . 

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Yvonne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This was my tenth visit to Tunisia, and this Hotel, was the worst for service, even though it was meant to be a 5 star hotel. The staff spent most of the day hiding away, in rooms behind the bars, so they wouldnt have to serve you. To get a drink, you would have to get the attention of the barman, he would then pour your drink and give it to you, he would then ask for your room number, and return to the till and print a receipt for the drinks, for you to sign. Never had to do this in any other All inclusive hotel in Tunisia. The al a carte is a joke, one waiter, no matter how many people are dining in there, to 25 mins just to get a glass of wine. There is also a lot of noise coming from the building site next to the hotel, as they are building a new hotel and this is going to be ongoing for next 2 - 3 years. I would seriously consider other hotels, El Mouradi, Abu Sofaine, Solaria, Phencia, El Kabir, all in different resorts, first 2 in Port El Kantoui.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel keep building site noise to a minimum, however, not much of a view, just 4 f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank tonyhowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

After arriving at this hotel with no help from the miserable doorman with our bags we were simply handed a key with no info of where to find our room or what time dinner/breakfast was etc, we found our room to be of a low standard. After much room switching and many conversations with the extremely unhelpful rude reception staff we finally settled on a room after three changes finding the other two rooms to be unclean and needing a revamp. As for 'being treated how you treat people' this does not go for the reception staff at the marhaba palace. On one occasion after trying to get the internet to work to little success I politely asked the receptionist if she knew why it wasn't working she replied 'dont know, I am very tired' this is just not good enough for a 4* hotel. Nothing about this hotel matches up to its star rating. At a 4* having to pay for sun bed mattresses is something I have never come across before and just sums up the nature of the hotel and Tunisia as a country: anything to get a bit more money out of you.
The food and waiting staff were okay, although apart from a different selection of meats the buffet of an evening was always the same and pretty bland but tbh food in Tunisia is pretty bland. The waiters are probably in excess but they are friendly and efficient, although time taken to get your drink can mean that you have in fact finished eating.
The quad bike and jet ski guys as they are incredibly rude and often became offensive if you were not prepared to book up with them right there and then, its easier to avoid them!
Medhi (the animation guy) tries very hard to include everyone and although the activities weren't for me, he was a very friendly guy and defiantly an asset to the hotel.
I wasn't expecting this hotel to be of an amazing quality but what we encountered with the staff and the appearance of the hotel was below par. I would not go back to this hotel again and my suggestion to them would be to start again.
Port El Kantaoui itself was a disappointment, with limited quality restaurants and dirty streets and beaches it is far from an acceptable tourist destination.
This was my first and LAST time in Tunisia!

Room Tip: If you can find a good room then you've very well!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jen gwilliam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

This holiday was a last minute deal with Thomson and my first and last time in Tunisia, I did not expect a magical holiday but i also did not expect such a messy place, according to the other reviews Port el Kantaoui was the best place, but i found the streets and the beach to be messy with rubbish and building work, the hotel was dated and apart from the reception it needed some serious money spending on it, the food was ok but not great, i am not a fussy eater but i found all the dishes to be soaked in some kind of sauce, i prefer my veg to be just veg. The drinks were ok but thats because i was half board and so paying for my drinks, the all inclusive drinks were awful, especially the wine, they had different wines for the all inclusive and half board guests and i prefer nice wine, i paid extra for a sea view but got a room with no balcony and the view of the building site next door, they changed my room but with no sea view so that was a waste of money, the entertainment team were good especially medhi, who tried very hard to involve everyone, the weather was not great but then it was April. I would not return to this Hotel or Tunisia, its just not my cup of tea, but you get what you paid for and i got a cheap last minute deal, the staff at the hotel were lovely and very helpful so thanks guys it was fun. I had a massage in the spa and that was fab.

Room Tip: All rooms needed a re vamp, if you do want a sea view beware you also get a building site view and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BirminghamChrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marhaba-Hotels, Manager at Marhaba Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Dear Guest;

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to post your comment.

We sincerely regret that your last stay in our hotel did not reach your expectation and we took note of your valuable comments.

Please be assured that all necessary precautions have been taken to avoid such inconvenience in the future.

Please accept our sincere apologies, hoping that you will not hesitate to book your next stay at the Marhaba Palace Hotel for your next visit in Sousse.

howeaver the HOTEL PHOTO "behind the hotel yuk " is not representative for the hotel it's a public road betwen marhaba Palace & Green park hotel (building work ) and we do our best to have a clean beach and garden inside hotel and some effort for outside hotel

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely yours,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
6.2 km away
Hotel Marhaba Beach
Hotel Marhaba Beach
#3 of 36 in Sousse
2,306 reviews
4.7 km away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 36 in Sousse
1,668 reviews
4.7 km away
Marhaba Salem
Marhaba Salem
#4 of 36 in Sousse
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,572 reviews
5.9 km away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
1.1 km away
El Mouradi Palace
El Mouradi Palace
#17 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marhaba Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Palace Hotel

Address: Jinane El Kantaoui | Sousse, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#7 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#8 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#8 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range: $32 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marhaba Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up across from the golf club, have a walk on the seafront, explore the paved alleys of Port El Kantaoui or simply unwind at the pool: Marhaba Palace is a dream place for an unforgettable stay. In the restaurant, a collection of great wines and local cuisine with the flavours of thyme and basil pamper the palate. This charming hotel, in the heart of the resort of port El Kantaoui, will seduce you with its personalised hospitality and efficient, discrete service.Welcome to MARHABA PALACE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your Marhaba Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marhaba Palace
Marhaba Palace Tunisia
Tunisia Marhaba Palace
Marhaba Palace Port El Kantaoui
Marhaba Palace Hotel Tunisia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing