We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go ahead, be a troglodyte for a night”
Review of Hotel Marhala

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nefta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Marhala
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Nefta
Reviewed 4 April 2015 via mobile

We were visiting the Star Wars sites and couldn't resist staying one night underground. The rooms are quite basic and the bathroom is shared, but they have a good bar and the wifi in the lobby is good. Meals are decent but basic, making overall value good.

Stayed: April 2015
Thank expatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2015

I've given this a 'very good' because of the 'unusualness' of the place. If you like camping, then you'll be fine here. We shared a two double bed 'cave' with our son and that is what you get! It's all clean - well, in as much as a whitewashed cave can be clean. The shared showerroom/loos were clean - if lacking in a couple of doors, which might make some nervous. Dinner bed and breakfast for three was 90 dinars, so, no complaints there, except that as we had said that two of us were vegetarian and were told that this could be catered for, we think that maybe the cook misunderstood vegetarian to include chicken. Breakfast was fine - a boiled egg, bread and fig rolls. Still, there is a bar with beer (red wine only by the bottle and the local rose was - hmmmm. However, it was great to stay there - all very friendly and an experience! (Also, Matmata is very quiet at night, so ideal for a night time drive looking for wildlife) - although some of the guests were quite noisy!

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

An amazing experience. The rooms and facilities were basic but the people were so friendly and generous. Our children, 17years and 11 years thought the whole experience was fantastic. The surrounding town was beautiful - amazing sunsets!

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This cave hotel is very basic. The large rooms are not very clean. The blankets looked as though they hadn’t been washed for months. The light switch was not close to the bed so you definitely need a torch. The one power socket in the room had bare wires and did not look safe to use. It was not easy to lock the door from the inside. The communal bathrooms were not good. The included meals were average and the selection of drinks at the “bar” was very poor. This place is ok to visit to see what a cave hotel is like but not to stay in.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara246810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Loved this place. It's just great to sleep in such a special place with such a special history. Before, whole families would dig a hole and make rooms under the ground and lived there together.

Bed was fine, but I wasn't expecting a high quality matress anyway. They even provided blankets so I didn't had to use my sleepingbag.

Didn't like the toilet facilities much, not many toilets and showers and they where in the same room (not so very nice, having a shower in someone elses toilet smell... but then again, what to expect of it?

Overall... great place to stay. And it has wifi at the reception desk area. Nice to send a message to friends that you are staying in a cave with wifi ;-)

Also great surroudings for hiking. We did a guided walk with a very shy but friendly guide.

Room Tip: We had a room with a somewhat more traditional stairs. They were very small so don't drink to mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suuzje2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nefta
1.1 km away
Dar Hi Life
Dar Hi Life
#1 of 4 in Nefta
157 reviews
22.9 km away
Hotel Ksar Rouge
Hotel Ksar Rouge
#3 of 14 in Tozeur
157 reviews
23 km away
Hotel Ras El Ain Tozeur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 km away
El Mouradi Tozeur
El Mouradi Tozeur
#7 of 14 in Tozeur
222 reviews
23.1 km away
Palm Beach Palace Tozeur
25.1 km away
Dar Tozeur
Dar Tozeur
#2 of 14 in Tozeur
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marhala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marhala

Address: Zone Touristique, Nefta 2240, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Tozeur Governorate > Nefta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Nefta
Number of rooms: 239
Also Known As:
Marhala Hotel Matmata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing