We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
26
39
14
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
39
14
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2015

I've given this a 'very good' because of the 'unusualness' of the place. If you like camping, then you'll be fine here. We shared a two double bed 'cave' with our son and that is what you get! It's all clean - well, in as much as a whitewashed cave can be clean. The shared showerroom/loos were clean - if lacking in a couple of doors, which might make some nervous. Dinner bed and breakfast for three was 90 dinars, so, no complaints there, except that as we had said that two of us were vegetarian and were told that this could be catered for, we think that maybe the cook misunderstood vegetarian to include chicken. Breakfast was fine - a boiled egg, bread and fig rolls. Still, there is a bar with beer (red wine only by the bottle and the local rose was - hmmmm. However, it was great to stay there - all very friendly and an experience! (Also, Matmata is very quiet at night, so ideal for a night time drive looking for wildlife) - although some of the guests were quite noisy!

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

An amazing experience. The rooms and facilities were basic but the people were so friendly and generous. Our children, 17years and 11 years thought the whole experience was fantastic. The surrounding town was beautiful - amazing sunsets!

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This cave hotel is very basic. The large rooms are not very clean. The blankets looked as though they hadn’t been washed for months. The light switch was not close to the bed so you definitely need a torch. The one power socket in the room had bare wires and did not look safe to use. It was not easy to lock the door from the inside. The communal bathrooms were not good. The included meals were average and the selection of drinks at the “bar” was very poor. This place is ok to visit to see what a cave hotel is like but not to stay in.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara246810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Loved this place. It's just great to sleep in such a special place with such a special history. Before, whole families would dig a hole and make rooms under the ground and lived there together.

Bed was fine, but I wasn't expecting a high quality matress anyway. They even provided blankets so I didn't had to use my sleepingbag.

Didn't like the toilet facilities much, not many toilets and showers and they where in the same room (not so very nice, having a shower in someone elses toilet smell... but then again, what to expect of it?

Overall... great place to stay. And it has wifi at the reception desk area. Nice to send a message to friends that you are staying in a cave with wifi ;-)

Also great surroudings for hiking. We did a guided walk with a very shy but friendly guide.

Room Tip: We had a room with a somewhat more traditional stairs. They were very small so don't drink to much and try to get up your stairs then!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suuzje2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

If you aren't venturing further south, the Hotel Marhala is your best bet! The "Star Wars hotel" is within walking distance so you can visit it easily while staying at the Marhala. (We not only saw the set section of the other hotel, but walked around the entire property and it was not at nice as the Marhala.) The Marhala is family owned and operated so you can tell that a lot of love goes into their business.

We called to make a reservation and already felt the warmth of the people at Marhala over the phone. In person, we were greeted like family and given a choice of three cave rooms. We chose #5 (it had 4 single beds and a double) because it had some little nooks that were charming to us even though we were just a group of 3.

We explored all the pits that were connected by tunnels, then had some drinks from the bar, scaled the side of a wall, then had dinner. It consisted of harissa and oil with bread to start, soup, brik (fried pastry filled with egg potato and parsley), chicken with fries, a family portion of couscous (the couscous sauce was bland as it was cabbage and potato based) and oranges for dessert. The next morning we had a simple but filling breakfast of boiled eggs, bread, margarine, jam, makroudh (date-filled semolina pastry) and coffee.

Dinner and breakfast were included in the price. Towels, sheets and blankets were provided but were a bit musty - all part of the cave experience! If you'd like to live like some locals STILL do, then I would highly suggest staying here. As other reviewers have mentioned, it's not a luxury hotel, but it is a great experience, especially for groups of friends, or families with young children. Unfortunately, people with limited mobility might find this place difficult to get around in.

We live in Tunisia so if we are ever back in that area, we will stay at the Marhala again.

Room Tip: Ask if you can see a few different rooms to make a choice you are happy with as they are all different. I didn't hear any noise from our room, but if you are traveling with weak-bladdered people, make sure your door isn't too squeaky in case they get up in the night - there is just one communal bathroom at the entrance of the hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnotherLovelySunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews