We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,450)
Filter reviews
1,450 results
Traveller rating
621
398
197
105
129
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
621
398
197
105
129
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf boardtunisian hotelsbeach barprivate beachpizzabuffet restaurantwaiter servicetunisian dishesevery mealkids clubamazing holidaywaiterssunbedsentertainmenttipseaweedcases
Filter
Updating list...
296 - 301 of 1,450 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2011

if you want want what the rich an famous get at affordable prices this hotel is a must.me and my partner have just returned from a second visit to this outstanding hotel, from cleaning staff right up to the general manager the service can only be described as sublime courteous, polite,prompt, professional in fact on every level wonderful service with a smile. the location of the hotel is as described beachfront on the med although it is true that it is located near an airport the noise is barely noticeable my partner didnt even notice it until i pointed to a plane in the sky it is not a busy airport.
Food where do you begin there is more than enough choice to suit every palate, after eating breakfast then taking a walk along the med your were looking ford ward to lunch then again dinner not because you were hungry we were looking forward to seeing what the cheifs had created it is true in this case that you eat with you eyes, wish i was there now my tea is looking less and less appealing i need a glass of wine speaking of wine we were all inclusive and our glasses were never empty once we had been there for a few days the waiters knew where we liked to sit and what we liked to drink for me it was heaven a lovely bottle of rose chilling in an ice bucket. after dinner we went to the bar again the waiters are so good your drinks were on your table just as soon as you sat down the entertainment was enjoyable but unobtrusive still able to have a conversation the bar closed at twelve but a litttle wink to the barman resulted in a tray of drinks for you to take to your room to enjoy on your veranda. the hotel can now boast of a fantastic spa i had only seen the likes of it in pictuers before its stunning , the beach front is also beautiful as is the swimming pool and indoor swimming pool, to be honest you must see it to appreciate it. no matter how helpful and worderful staff are and how beautuful a hotel may look it is nothing if it is dirthy this hotel certainly has nothing to worry about in fact you could eat of the floors the cleaners have a great sense of humour creating pieces of artwork out of towels turning them into swans and all sorts realy makes you smile they dont just go into your room and get out as fast as they can the care is there. i have been on quiet a few inclusive holidays and the part i always hate is the checking out times,, your pick up time may not be later in the evening but you have to check out at tweleve or pay extra not in this case we went down to the receptionist explained our situation they asked what time we would like to vacate our room fortunately for us at this time the general manager was around has he usually is and he said its still your holiday everything is available to you till you leave and in fact he was there to shake our hands as he did with those who left when he was available. on a final note some reviews have suggested that there is not enough to do this coudnt be further from the truth we as a couple wanted to laze walk along the beach enjoy great food and drink but there is so much more available well done to royal thalasso after spending a week there we are now booking for two weeks again next may .

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank johnsteven11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Although the Hotel was good and the staff were very polite and helpful,and the rooms were spotlessly clean, the location and lack of amenities let this hotel down. My Daughter In Law and I decided to go on the Sahara Trip which lasted for 2 days, just for something to do. The Bar stopped serving drinks promptly at 10.55 pm and there was nothing to do, could not even get a coffee etc. there is absolutely nothing to do at night. 2 nights out of the 7 we had a Tunisian Night which lasted and Hour watching 2 Belly Dancers, and the other night was a musician which we had a bit of a dance too. The animation team consisted of 1 guy, although he put his heart & soul into it, there is only so much he can do, they rely heavily on the waiters and pool guy to entertain the guests. The hotel offers all the usual stuff but at a cost. We were told during our stay that they were not happy with "All Inclusive" guests and were trying to go back to the way it was, lots of Business People, I'll leave you to do the maths !!!. Although I must say the Sahara trip, albeit too many coach miles, was a sight not to be missed, very full itinery and enjoyed it thoroughly and the highlight watching the sunset on the Sahara was something I will always remember.

Room Tip: Beautiful Hotel, but nothing to do at night.
  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DotSeaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickThalassa, Food and Beverage Director at Royal Thalassa Monastir, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2011

Dear Madam,
When I read your comment, I asked myself many questions.
After I saw the date of stay, and I understood ...
Since then, the management team has changed.
We welcome all the customers happy.
The bar serve you until midnight.
The animation is adequate, very present but unobtrusive
The hotel has kept its beauty, nice room, service quality, cleanliness, good food ...
We've added a magnificent Thalasso Centre, a renowned hairdresser and a gymnasium in an innovative concept.
Customers who recently wrote on Tripadvisor confirm the proper management of the hotel.
We would be very happy to welcome you back to our hotel.
Best regards,


Patrick Delaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

Recently returned from a fantastic week at the Royal Thalassa. The hotel is literally over the road from Monastir Airport, however I believe this airport will soon be out of use and a new airport a few miles away will be used. Although the hotel was so close to the airport you hardly ever heard any aircraft and when you did it was still very quiet.
The hotel is very spacious, luxurious and well furnished. There are plenty of sitting areas or areas to lounge in and out of the hotel. The hotel was very quiet when we were there and there was a good mix of people form various European countries.
All of the staff from the bellboy, receptionists, pool attendants, chambermaids, waiters, head waiters, barmen, chefs are extremely polite and friendly. They staff just couldn't do enough for you and ensured you enjoyed your holiday.
We have stayed in a few 4 and 5 star hotels in the med and must say the food in this hotel was delicious and possibly the best ever. There was a great range to chose from and the restaurant was that good we never tried the a la cart restaurant.
The rooms very very nice, spacious and I think every room will have a sea view and most a view of the pool too. The pools are lovely and clean too and the sunbeds are of top quality with nice mattresses and two small towels provided every day by the attendant.
The hotel is right on the beach, but unfortunately we were there a bit too soon as the seaweed still hadn't been removed. I understand they clear away all of the seaweed in time for the summer holidays.
There is nothing really outside the hotel. You can get the train to Monastir or Sousse which takes up to half an hour and the train station is about 400 yards from the hotel just outside the airport. Taxi's are reasonable too.
We just went to chill in the winter sunshine and enjoy nice food and drink in a luxurious hotel and must say every box was ticked. The hotel is attached to a top wellness centre although we decided not to use any of the facilities the people we met said it was very good and spacious too.
I would certainly recommend this hotel to people who want a relaxing holiday. Those who just enjoy reading a book throughout the day, lying in tranquil surroundings by the pool, eating a great selection of well presented very tasty food and then a few drinks and conversation with fellow holidaymakers.
We hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Justlovethesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

this is our second holiday in this stunning hotel, everything about in shouts "Quality" all the staff from the Management team to the pool attendants is first class.
it is a totally relaxing service with a smile and a great big WELCOME!!
fantastic thank you to all the staff for another fantastic holiday!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank helenmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Royal Thalassa.

We had the best service we have ever had. The waiters and managers cannot do enough for you. You can't even pull your chair out to sit down without one of the managers helping you! Before you put your glass down it was re-filled!

We travelled with Thomsons on all-inclusive. The food in the buffet restaurant was excellent, always varied, plenty of choice and very tasty. The little mouseswere very delicous.

The public areas and around the pool were being constantly cleaned and there was always a waiter to serve your drinks around the pool.

The rooms are modern and comfortable, the beds are so comfy you don't want to get up in the morning!

All in all I would definately recommend this hotel and we will hopefully return soon.

Well done to the Managers.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank MattRach456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews