We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SENTIDO Phenicia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SENTIDO Phenicia
Ranked #2 of 122 Hotels in Hammamet
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Im going to start with negatives, on arrival to our room, we were extremely disappointed. The curtains were torn, stain on bed sheet, dressing table had sticky surface, balcony was grubby & final straw was hairs in the bath, my husband rang reception & advised we were not happy with the room, they advised to go back to reception with cases & they would move us, so we did, then at reception we were told our room was ready, we told them again we had been there & we werent happy with it, the gentleman at reception began to argue that room was ready & we needed to go back, he made us take him up to room to show him why we werent happy, when we got back there, the cleaner was back in there, we began to lose our patience & told him we wanted to be moved now, he still tried to argue room was okay until eventually, he moved us, the other room was 100% better & alot cleaner, wouldnt say it was a 4 star but alot better, so my advice to Phenicia is, if the customer is not happy with the room, do not argue with them, move them as requested. I have been to Tunisia a couple of times before too & previously stayed at a Riu & we have always had waiter service to pool or beach, the Phenicia didnt seem to offer this facility to all everyone, it seemed just selected guests, my husband always had to go the bar even though we tipped most of the time, I did feel they favoured the French over the English.
Saying all that, the rest of staff were really very nice, the porters, our waiter on table 149 was excellent, couldnt do enough & the animation team were superb, they work so hard. The pool areas were lovely. We went to the al la carte restaurant one night, service & food very nice, we also paid to go the chinese, it cost 40 dinas for both of us (approx 18.00) & I have to stay it was superb, better than any chinese resturant I have been to in the uk, well worth the money, I would definately recommend anyone try both these restaurants yet food in main restaurant was also excellent. Where hotel is situated, there is nothing there, we took a trip of Hamammet Yasmine which I really enjoyed, lots of fixed priced shops, marina, cafes, really nice as we also paid for a trip to vineyard for wine tasting, again this was really lovely & I would recommend. I did have a nice time but after 10 days, was glad to come home.

Room Tip: Ask for room over looking pool but inspect room before settling down & insist on being moved if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Joanne1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you to have written on tripadvisor following your recent stay at the SENTIDO Phenicia - your comment is really helpful to us to improve constantly our services. Thank you also for describing this confusion concerning the room the first day. Our Reception Manager as well as our Main housekeeper are already informed in order to undertake necessary actions for the future. To provide service round the pool for drinks is a nice idea and is to be discussed. (More staff…….)
We are happy that overall you had a lovely holiday.
Sincerely
Yours
SENTIDO Phenicia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,258
    1,198
    376
    129
    80
See reviews for
1,708
1,670
129
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (866)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hammam Sousse, Tunisia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

very nice hotel ,with a nice group of animators nice beach ,every night a new animation

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roufa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you! just come back this summer!

Kind regards
Yours
SENTIDO Phenicia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Just returned from the Phenicia and have to say overall we really enjoyed our stay. Wether first couple of days was not so good but can't blame the hotel for that.

Check-in at the hotel was very painless and on arrival to our room slightly disappointed with the decor, as some have already mentioned the corridors and rooms really need to be re-painted into happier brighter colours, the current scheme in these areas is poor and dark. Though have to say the bathrooms were bright, very clean and the shower was great.

The main reception area and seating is great as it's cool and WiFi is available to use so all you techy folks with iPads will be happy.

Don't want to waffle to long so will summarise about the key areas

Rooms - Need to be brightened up, not even any pictures on the walls to help, mattresses are cheap as you can feel the springs when lying down for a long period, so for us anyway sleep was not the best other than that i think the rooms were acceptable. Nice balcony to sit out in the evening or early morning......No kettles in the room take your own!

Pool areas - Absolutely no problem at any of the pools and great to have a varied choice, always being checked and great for all the family. One of the pools is heated so if the weather is a little cold then use this one, it's great

Restaurants - Breakfast is eaten at the snack area and not main restaurant but we had no problem with crowds etc just learn when the quietest time to go is and all ok, good choice of food and always plenty of it
Lunch and evening meal is in the main restaurant and i have to say was always a great choice of food, message me if you want more detail but have no fears there is something for everybody and never got boring like a lot of All Inclusive resorts. The waiters will look after your every need and no you do not have to tip tim every night, if i get a great service i tip, if not then i won't give one, simple. But have to say they are very tentative, polite, smart and English is very good so makes it all a very comfortable experience. My one gripe would be is that if there is only 2 in the group you are forced to sit with another couple due to the table setups, this should be re-considered by the hotel.
There are other restaurants, La Panache which we did not try and La Dragon which is payable and unfortunately on an All Inclusive i am not paying to eat in the hotel

Entertainment - Animation team were good, plenty of activity during the day but like all resorts have no idea when to leave people alone and for us definitely in your face too often to the point of being irritating, even at night up they were at it to get people to go to their night show it was getting really annoying, if we say no thanks that means go away and leave us alone please, not for you to come back 5 mins later with another member of the animation team....Very annoying but some people i am sure had a great entertainment experience and the entertainments leader needs to get round and speak to guests not just try and be cool in his shades (by the way you are not) Look out for Nina, she can be very rude

Hotel shop - Watch out for the woman behind the counter, she should not be facing hotel customers, rude, unhelpful, rest of the shop staff were polite and helpful. just warning you!!

Hotel bar - Great staff but bar area needs to be extended more so the bar staff frequent the far end to see if you want a drink, for some reason seemed to always meet me halfway!

Beach - Fantastic, get down there it is immaculate and clean, the beach sellers get a bit annoying but just tell them firmly no, i am sure the hotel should do a little more to keep them away from guests, we did see some security i think but nothing was done, at no point did we feel unsafe so again have no worries

Thomas Cook excursions - Don't waste your money on the local Hammamet area day trip, complete waste of money, also the trip to the following Tunis (Medina for 1.5 hours and waste of time unless you like shopping), Carthage (Archaeological site, pile of rubble and takes about 15 mins) and Sidi Bou Said which is said to be beautiful (sorry maybe before the revolution but not now), a lot of money for seeing very little, lunch was even at a motorway cafe, says it all!!!

All in all we enjoyed our stay and would go back as it's only 2.5 hours away and i would recommend people to give it a go.....The staff will look after you

Room Tip: try and get the upper level rooms, higher the better or view of the main pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Watfordskully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much to have taken the time to write a long comment on tripadvisor.
We already studied your remarks in order to improve where ever possibel.
We are glad you had overall relaxing and nice holidays!
Kind regards
Yours
SENTIDO Phenicia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

This 4 star hotel gives amazing value for money whether one is All Inclusive or Half Board. The property is large which gives ample space for the many guests. It borders the beach for water sports and also has a range of outdoor and indoor pools.

The entertainment staff are always looking for ways to keep guests happy if the excellent facilities - tennis, golf, riding - do not provide sufficient entertainment. The food is amazing both in quality and variety and the staff are invariably friendly. Even Saturday nights when there is usually an influx of Tunisian families does not seem to overstretch the staff.

I was only surprised that there were no tea/coffe making facilities in the room and that tissues were not provided there either. For those who look for nightlife, this hotel is not convenient; one in Hammamet Yasmine would be livelier (although in March this year even this part of town was quiet).Otherwise no complaints at all and I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for adults and families.

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms are the most attractive, but there is no lift to them. They are up a flight of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Weald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you recommending the SENTIDO Phenicia - and thank you to have taken the time to write a feedback on tripadvisor. We are happy you had a lovely holiday - by the way - tea and coffee facilities are available – just let us know during your next stay.
Kind regards
Yours
SENTIDO Phenicia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

got back from here two days ago, we stayed for 11 nights with a 4month old baby and 2 year old.
Overall a enjoyable time, I would go back for a week in the sun if it was the right price but cant say id return year after year like some guests we met.
After reading the reviews on here we had high expectations maybe a little too high & were a little disapointed on arrival as the hotel is very dated & shabby in places, also with home made light shades on the reception bar (rolled up lining paper with a peg).
There are stray cats all around the breakfast room & pool which are weeing & pooping everywhere it STINKS!! the hotel definatly need to something about this.
beach is beautifull, the locals selling dont bother you even half as much as people have made out here yes they do come and ask if you want to buy but a polite no thankyou & they turned away.
the heated pool is really deep, no good for kids but the kids pool is like getting in a bucket of ice it isnt refreshing its just freezing!!!
rooms are ok not the cleanest floors were filthy lots of dust in obvious places but space wise were ok, however there wasnt much room in wardrobes to put clothes etc, & we only had one cot so our two year old had to sleep with us as there wasnt enough room for a extra bed for him. take ear plugs too we were at the back of the hotel & were kept awake most nights by barking dogs we werent the only ones who had this problem :( (not the hotels fault to a degree)
food was nice lunch & evening meal always something to eat breakfast was poor not much choice but we managed. HOWEVER the breakfast & dining room are far to small to accomodate the amount of guests they have. we got so annoyed everyone pushing & shoving our children got knocked every two mins whilst sat at the dining table was a joke.

the staff are definatly what make this hotel they work so hard they cant do enough for you & always have a smile on there face but maybe this was because we tipped 1dt every time?? (it does help & theres nothing else to spend your money on)

this is NOT the hotels fault but parents be aware tunisians LOVE english babies not in a good way its creapy!! they were constantly taking pics WITHOUT permission touching my babies wanting to kiss them it wasnt nice the tunisian children were amazed touching my blonde babies hair chasing them. and tunisians take over like the plauge of a weekend even the staff complain about them, yes it is lovely to see there culture BUT leave MY children alone!!

Room Tip: ask for sea view or pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonfrankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sentido, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Phenicia, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review and comment which had our best attention. We value all comments of our guests as we believe it is the only way we can improve or maintain our services; therefore we will take into consideration your remarks. We are sorry to hear that you were not pleased with
1. Your room: there is no need to be disturbed by barking, wild dogs at night, which are outside of the hotel: just ask to be moved.
2. The cats at the hotel are already under veterinarian control: once per month - even their number – sorry, but we cannot agree with your statement “it stinks everywhere “- we are considering this statement as quite unfair
3. The pools: there is the heated indoor pool and the non heated outdoor pool with the kids pool beside - they cannot be heated ....
4. Children are considered in Tunisia as little angels – it is normal for everybody here to kiss and to care them whenever possible – this is part of the culture, nobody will ever harm your children!
At least we are pleased to hear that overall you had a good stay – We look forward to seeing you again in order to extend our hospitality to you.
Sincerely
Yours
SENTIDO Phenicia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hammamet hotels
5.0 km away
La Badira
La Badira
#1 of 122 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
6.5 km away
SENTIDO Le Sultan
SENTIDO Le Sultan
#4 of 122 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,857 reviews
5.9 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Hotel Palace Oceana Hammamet
3.6 km away
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
The Russelior Hotel & Spa
#17 of 122 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
6.1 km away
Tui Magic Life Africana
Tui Magic Life Africana
#7 of 122 in Hammamet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Phenicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Phenicia

Property: SENTIDO Phenicia
Address: Avenue Moncef Bey, Hammamet 8050, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Nabeul Governorate > Hammamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Hammamet
#2 Family Hotel in Hammamet
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hammamet
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hammamet
#4 Business Hotel in Hammamet
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hammamet
Price range (per night): $69 - $253
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Phenicia 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated on the East coast of Tunisia, SENTIDO Phenicia spreads between a fine sandy beach and a garden of 11 hectares where mix generously Palm and Olive trees. For your comfort, the rooms of the hotel all endowed with balconies or terraces offer you fantastic views between the gulf and mountains of Hammamet, swimming pools, or gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC and Odigeo so you can book your SENTIDO Phenicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Phenicia Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Hammamet
Iberostar Hotel Phenicia
Iberostar Phenicia Tunisia
Iberostar Phenicia Hammamet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing