We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
19
7
3
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
7
3
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomfortable bedswould definitely stay here againdryertankeramenitiesguestsunitsshampoo
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2018

Perfect, affordable, clean and friendly accomodations and so conveniently located. All the best attributes....on the river, friendly and just the necessary things for a weekend stay without price gauging! Most of a visitor's time is spent in town and at the end of the day, Hill's is a comfy place to come back to before starting all over again tomorrow!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5Boots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

We are family of 4 and has been staying at the hills motel for the last 12 years .and what a great change this year !!!!! The new owners totally renovated every room .all floors are laminated and tiled .the curtains and bed spread are all nautical design !!! The personal are friendly and made sure we were serviced to all our needs on a daily basis.we enjoyed the viewing from the gazebo over looking the ships go by and relaxing on the floating barge at the motel marina while watching the music and entertainment at Alex bay main st.the last 2 nights we spend on unit 1(house boat on the water) which the hotel used as a floating rooms. THUMBS UP !!!!! The price was inexpensive for what the service and the style of accommodation we've enjoyed .

Room Tip: Room 9 and 10 are on the water with a excellent view of the village and the river.unit 1 and 2 are house boats with full facility's
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank isaacberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2015

Booked cabin 9 right on the water, for our 6 year anniversary. The steps to go down are uneven from side to side, the cabin itself was again uneven, I stepped in and felt like I was going to fall backwards. It's very tiny and the bathroom is cramped. However the cabin was incredibly clean, the view was fantastic!! We could open the curtains of the huge window in front of the bed and watch the barges go by at night.
The first night we asked for extra pillows as there were only 2 very thin pillows there, they only had one extra left, no problem we made do. When we came back the next day the bed was made and they gave us another extra pillow.
Overall I think this was a very nice hotel and the worst complaints is how slanted everything is but that can't be fixed. The owners were very nice, the view was amazing, plus we had our own lil lawn with a table and chairs to sit at by the docks at night. If you need a cheaper lodging option I'd go with this, you could walk everywhere in 10 minutes, if that.
And unlike another reviewer complaining about no free wifi...we had no issue we got online whenever we needed.

Room Tip: Cabin 9 for sure, best views but it is uneven but the view makes up for it
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank redcat86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2015 via mobile

If you think old & shabby is "quaint " you may like it. No bulb in lamp, only one double bed (their ad shows two) dingy coffee pot, dirty toaster, no wi-fi (don't believe what you read) snowy tv, no place for a suitcase, we used a chair for a bedside table. Beware if you stay in a cabin on the water, you must drag your suitcase, bags, cooler,etc. down about a dozen uneven steps. Like going back in time 50 years.
Spend a little more and get a nice, modern room.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2014

This is a gem of a spot for sure if you like quaint and cozy with great views. Jean & Tom run the place with their Son and they are sweethearts. They treat you like family from the second you arrive and you feel like you are their personal guests. They could not do enough to make our stay just perfect. They made coffee for us every morning and let us use their flavored cream from their refrigerator along with their personal cookie sheet so we could make French Toast & Bacon and a dryer. We had Cabins 9 & 11. Cabin 9 was right down front by the pier and dock which was awesome. Small but perfect. Just open your picture window shade & their was Alexandria Bay. The Efficiency on the water was #10 & booked so our friends were in #11 which was fine. We cooked out on the gas grill and ate under the pavillion at the tables watching tankers & boats go by. It was so picturesque and what a GREAT location & sunset. You can walk downtown and take boat tours out to Singer & Boldt Castles and dine at a number of restaurants and get awesome ice cream. This is a hidden gem of days gone by. Not the newest most modern accommodations but we are all about the charm and ambiance and this spot excels at that. Thank you Jean & Tom !!! Hope to see you again soon.

Room Tip: Cabins 9 & 10 are closest to the dock & water but all have a great view & common area pavillion with tables & gas grill are accessible to all & are right in the middle of the cabin colony.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews