We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
40
22
9
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
22
9
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking distance bars and restaurants great location rooms are clean no frills blow dryer every summer coffee maker in the room resort town alex bay reasonable rates would definitely stay here again bit dated place to stay boat tour bed was comfortable dean
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Stayed 2 nights (9/17 & 9/18/17) end of season – The location is awesome. I am sure during the busy season you would get the usual nightly noise of a popular destination. Obviously if you want complete peace and quiet you’d stay some place a few miles away from “Main St.” We had nothing but the best stay possible. Location was great. Staff was great. Room was clean. The bathroom was spotless. The bed was comfortable. The rates reasonable. WE PLAN TO RETURN NEXT YEAR. You are an easy and I mean “extremely” easy walk from shops and boat tours. I am a coffee snob – so I didn’t care about a coffee maker in the room – I preferred the coffee of “Coffee Pot Cathy's” only a block away. As resort town with bars (and we are not bar people), entertainment and nightlife – we found the accommodations, location, rates and cleanliness great – I give it 5 stars.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

My wife and I recently spent two nights at The Ship Motel during a two day visit to the Thousand Islands. As far as the motel itself here are the negatives: The room size was small, the carpet had a bad stain at the door area, and there was an odor like cleaner or bleach constantly in the room. The motel is located a half a block off of the main street of town where all the bars and restaurants are. Due to this, once the bars get cranked up at night, there is loud music and drunken laughter that you have to put up with. There was no coffee maker in the room, though there was a Keurig down at the office that could be accessed whenever the office was open. There was no safe in the room in which to keep valuables. You have to ask some motels for extra towels. We received extra towels without asking while here.

The positives: The plus side to being so close to the main street of town is that you can leave your vehicle parked at the motel and walk to anywhere you want to go. (restaurants, boat tours, shopping, etc.) I should mention that there is a walk through alley from the inside end of the motel parking lot that leads right to the main street. This makes a nice short cut when coming from the tours to the motel and easy to drop off purchases or use your own room bathroom before continuing on elsewhere. The bed was comfortable. The room was well cleaned. The bathroom even actually had a vent with a fan to draw out the steam from showers. (something some hotels do not have.) The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful, kindly answering questions, and recommending restaurants. The positives of the location balanced out the negatives. Just having the reserved parking in a town where parking is a premium was greatly beneficial. Overall, this was a decent place to stay. If there was a choice of "Good" between "Average" and "Excellent" I would have given that rating. So I would have rated it three and a half stars.

Room Tip: Rooms in the office side of the motel are quieter. Note the side alley access to the shopping areas of the main street.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Classic small-town motel, centrally located in A-Bay. Clean rooms, well cared for, and excellent house-keeping staff. Manager (Dean) runs a tight ship (excuse the pun) and takes good care of his guests. The best spot to stay for Pirate Days weekend(s) in August.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank OWFC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

The Ship Motel is not a family friendly place. It's location is a magnet for customers who want to be close to the bars and be able to stagger back to their room. While the rooms are "no smoking" ashtrays are lined up on each window sill just outside the doors and are heavily in use. Walls and ceilings are paper thin so you can hear everything going on in the rooms around and above you. I would not recommend this place unless that is the atmosphere you are looking for. One customer decided to stay an extra night but was told he had to switch rooms and that he would have our room. The customer then informed us the night before he was taking our room at 8:30 am. He continued to harass us the next morning even trying to enter our room while management made minimal steps to stop him. Check out time was not until 11:00 and the harassment continued until we left. We will never go back.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Thank jwheele3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

We rented a room for our friends who were visiting for the night. The room was clean and great furniture. The staff were all so friendly and accommodating. It is close to all restaurants and activities. They had a great stay and we would definitely recommend this hotel for future visits to Alex Bay

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank kathleenmulcahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews