We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fun, beautiful views, great guide”

Uncle Sam Boat Tours
Ranked #1 of 4 Tours in Alexandria Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Malvern, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good fun, beautiful views, great guide”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Take the longer cruise and see it all. Time flew as the views and guide kept us entertained. They were just starting to board up island houses for the winter, so late spring, summer and early fall might be the best times.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank huckcummings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    238
    62
    13
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Uncle Sam's was a great way to see the river, island mansions and get a feel for the1,000 Island experience. We got the meal package. The food was a buffet , good but not special. The staff was very accomadating, the tour truly interesting. Trip included a stop at Bolt Castle a must see, love to see it when they finish the interior.
They have different size boats for different tours, this was fun.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank tompa49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful boat trip”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Enjoyed the two nations boat tour. Good commentary from guide, infotmative and amusing. Snacks available on board. Good value.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank PremierPenrith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewerton, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Dissapointed”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

On Wednesday August 31, we inquired about tickets for the Millionaire’s row Cruise in Alexandria Bay. It was about 10:30 and we wanted to go on the 11:00 o'clock cruse. We were told that it was full but we could go at 3:00 or wait until tomorrow and go on the 11:00 cruse.

We chose to go on the 11:00 on Thursday and purchased a two tickets. When we arrived on Thursday around 10:30, we were told “ Sorry a couple of buses are coming in and you will have to go at 3:00.”

We had done everything I we wanted too do the day before and did not want to wait 4 .5 hours for another cruse.

Our money was refund, BUT we left very disappointed and frustrated>

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Uncle Sam Boat Tours, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
My apologies for your experience here at Uncle Sam Boat Tours. We have been trying to increase our bus business here in the 1000 Islands and have experienced "growing pains" along the way. One of those is the fact that last year we had to cancel several of our one hour tours due to the boat being full with our bus customers. We have now corrected that by adding an additional vessel to our fleet so that the buses will have their own boat. Please give us another try and see just how beautiful the 1000 Islands and St. Lawrence River really are!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“good deal!”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I was surprised that it was less than $20 per person for the tour of the Thousand Islands mansions and Boldt Castle on Heart island. Our guide was informative and friendly and we were able to spend as much time as wanted at the castle and return on any shuttle boat back to the mainland. When I didn't see any prices posted, I figured it was because they were inflated. But the clerk told me they don't post the prices because the bus tours charge more for the boat tour than Uncle Sam Tours charge the customers. Don't leave the Thousand Islands without taking this tour!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank happycampersClinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Uncle Sam Boat Tours also viewed

 
 

Been to Uncle Sam Boat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing