We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
17
5
4
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
5
4
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

Could not ask for a better place to stay while in the islands. It is family friendly with a great view of the river and the bridge. The owners are so helpful. All different size cottages and overnighters to accommodate your needs. We come every year and would never stay anywhere else!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017

Sept 2016 was our fifth year staying at Pinehurst and yes we will be back! We travel once school is back in session to avoid the added 'fun' they bring to vacations! Not that we don't love kids, we have two of our own but we are empty nesters and deal with our neighbourhood children all summer, so this is a break for us! Back to Pinehurst, the quaint cabins, quiet walks, updated pool and docks are exactly what we are after! If you are looking for spectacular, this isn't the best choice, but if you are looking for clean, friendly, and reasonable prices, this most definitely is the place for you! The proximity to Alexandria Bay and Clayton making day trips both cost effective and not a waste of a day by travelling. A bbq grill is shared between two cottages which works out great and if you run out of charcoal or fluid they always have a crate at the office that you can use! We purchased kayaks this year and brought them with us, the dock was perfect, shallow enough to walk out and climb on without drowning! The property is in immaculate shape, the grass is always cut, the garbage is collected daily and the staff are always very helpful if you need something. One of the biggest perks of Pinehurst is the feeling of security, yes there is a lock on the door but we never use it; we hook the screen door at night to keep the furry friends out but have never felt the need to lock ourselves in. Bob and Betty Lou are great people, you can tell their dedication to their business is what's made Pinehurst what it is today! Not only do they stop to chat, they are helpful in giving you ideas for sight seeing or if you mention a topic one of them will give you a location to check out your interest. We've toured the Adirondacks, we've taken train rides through the mountains from Old Forge, we've traveled to each town along the St Lawrence from Sacket's Harbor to Ogdensburg. We've gone to farmers markets all over the area. Bob and Betty Lou are such generous people, one year they took us out on their private boat and gave us a personal tour of the Alexandria Bay Islands. The cottages are old but well maintained, they have been painted twice at least in the 5 years we've been vacationing at Pinehurst. The kitchenettes are updated with new counters and sinks, the bathroom floors were replaced and the rooms repainted, the first year they had installed new carpet and vinyl flooring. I love Pinehurst and what it has to offer, a bit of history, great people, restful stay and decent prices! We will continue to vacation at Pinehurst so long as we are able to make the 6 hour drive to get there!

Room Tip: Many of the cottages have many windows to open for a breeze and many are shaded so no worries about A/C . The heaters are awesome!!
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank CecileC184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We rented a cabin for a week for the two of us to the tune of $435, a very reasonable price for the area. I wasn't expecting the Taj Mahal, but I wasn't expecting such a small, out-dated, and poorly built and designed cabin either. The exterior walls could not have been more than 4 inches thick and the door little more than a tongue-in-groove plank. There was a huge gap (over an inch) along the whole bottom of the door as well as lesser gaps all around, no 3-prong plugs (we had to borrow an adapter from the office), and with the provided coffee maker in place, ZERO counter space. While we're on the subject of doors, our key was what I heard one employee call an Alice In Wonderland key, as if that was a quaint and wonderful thing. Maybe, but hardly a good idea in the event of a fire. We'd have burned to death trying to get out with the ill-fitting key we were provided. We ended up NOT locking the door at bedtime for that very reason, relying solely on the hook-and-eye lock on the screened in porch for security. Only four of the rentals (including a small motel unit) have a view of the river. The rest are a brief 5-10 minute walk which wasn't so bad and the only place you were allowed to have an open campfire was down by the river in a single designated location. The bathroom was a generous 4 feet deep by maybe 7 feet wide with a stand-up shower unit and a toilet that looked like it was going to overflow every time we flushed... and we almost always had to flush it twice. And let's not forget the rusted 1950s (?) style counter top gas 'stove' that had to be lit like back in my grandmother's day, with a good old match! All very serviceable, but not impressed. These cabins are in desperate need of updating!

Now... the GOOD! The hot water was hot and the pressure for showers and washing up was great! There was a full-sized fridge and the queen-sized bed was very comfortable. The wall heater (looked like something from the 70s with the numbers on the dial so worn we could barely read them) worked very, very well. We had a few chilly nights and it only took a few minutes to warm the place up. Our cabin was never in the sun, but that worked out well because there's no AC. We were able to get a semi-decent WiFi connection from our location so that made us very happy. The general proximity of Pinehurst was perfect for all we wanted to see and do. We were within an hour's drive from everyplace we had intended on going and they had a good-sized playground for the kids that were visiting. We also had a nice picnic area for our personal use and comfy Adirondack chairs to relax in outside.

It's unlikely we'll return to Pinehurst, but if we do, at least we'll know better now what's in store for us. As small and as poorly laid out as the inside cooking space was, I was still grateful for it. They may fit the bill perfectly for someone else and there were a lot of other cabins far bigger (and even some smaller!) and probably better laid out than ours, so... if we do go back, maybe we'd look into something larger and be happier with the experience.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

We stayed at Pinehurst last year and had such a wonderful time that we came back this year. The owners Bob & Betty are so kind and always helpful. Our first visit here last year was because there was no other place to stay in the 1000 islands area, this year we came back because we had such a great time last year. The rustic cottages & the grounds bring back fond childhood memories. Betty & Bob work extremely hard to keep everyone happy while visiting Pinehurst, the morning coffee or tea is a great little start to each day. One example of Bettys kindness, was one morning when I went into the office to ask for an extra pillow, she didn't have any extra standard pillows you would normally get, so she went into her personal sitting area and gave me a large, comfortable throw pillow off her sofa and an extra pillow case and sent me on my way. I can say that the throw pillow was super comfy and that Betty was sweet to lend it to me. Many Thanks again Bob & Betty.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016

We were heading to the area and arrived a day earlier then planned we stayed here in a small 1 room cabin and it was perfect for us, price was great for just a overnight stay. We walked around the area and it looked very nice , you could walk right down to the river and the place was packed, prices seemed very reasonable to rent the larger cabins for the week as well, nice little find for us.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Barb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews