We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,193)
Filter reviews
1,193 results
Traveller rating
711
338
83
31
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
711
338
83
31
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews penthouse suite sea view pool residence living room private pool low tide fully equipped kitchen patong beach amazing hotel free upgrade f b the hotel offers sun loungers dvd player coral island deck chairs phi phi island
Filter
Updating list...
774 - 779 of 1,193 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2012

This could have been a great stay at a nice resort if it wasn't for several vital factors. Starting off with the good things, the staff is friendly (as always in Thailand) and the pool area is quite nice in this fairly newly built resort. However when I checked in i was very surprised by the size of the room, with not even enough space to put a suitcase on the floor to unpack. What made me really annoyed though, was that after 3 days (halfway into my stay) i found out that the other members of our group (6 rooms) all had about 50% larger rooms than me. After a bit of discussion with the receptionist, listening to arguments like "all rooms are the same size" and "its just because you requested to have the rooms together" (although our rooms were spread out in 2 different buildings) i was offered to change to a larger room the next day. Considering the hassle of packing and then unpacking again me and my wife decided to stay on our little "prison cell" until check-out.
As we have family in Phuket, we had arranged with a friend of a friend to have us picked up and take us to the airport, but just after loading our luggage onto his car, the famous Phuket "taxi-mafia" that have a pick-up point just outside the hotel, enters the hotel area and threatens our pick-up. Scared of the threats he doesn't want to take us to the airport any longer and conveniently for the hotel and the rest of the mafia, we are now stuck with taking a taxi by the guys who just scared off our ride for 1'000 bath, or the "generous offer to help us" from the hotels front desk manager at only 1'490 bath (I'm guessing a 1'000 for the outside mafia and 490 for the hotel).
Regardless, i will most certainly be back in Phuket soon again, but definitely not at Serenity, based on the fact that the hotel first put us in a unacceptably small room and then tried to deny it, and also due to the very obvious cooperation with the "taxi mafia" and even letting them into the hotel property to threaten our friend.
I can warmly recommend other properties I stayed at in Phuket such as the Westin Siray and Sheraton Laguna (now under different name) but if you can, stay away from Serenity Resort & Residences Phuket!

Room Tip: Try a different hotel!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Fredrik-Lundqvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UrsPhuket, General Manager at Serenity Resort & Residences Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2012

Thank you very much for your review. We were originally going to ask TA to remove this post as it contains unaccuracies and accuses our hotel wrongly of cooperating with the local taxi syndicate. Please allow us to clarify the main issues mentioned in your review:
1. Our Serenity rooms are our basic room types. The size varies from 28 to 36m2 per room. Those rooms are fairly standard with is also reflected in the low price. Not all the rooms are exactly the same size and if the hotel full, we have to allocate all rooms to our guests based on the rate that was paid. I am pleased to hear that our front office team offered you a room change when you commented about this at the front desk, which you decided to decline.
2. The taxi system in Phuket is organized in a syndicate style manner, meaning that certain taxi syndicates control certain areas of the island. As such, no other taxi is able to pick up guests from our resort, other than the members of the local Rawai taxi syndicated. Likewise, taxis from Rawai are not allowed to go and pick up guests from Patong or from the airport. This is not a "Serenity isse" but an island wide "Phuket issue". Sadly, this situation continues since several years and is always a hot topic in internet forums. Up to know, the local authorities were not able to rectify the situation despite pressure from various tourism and hotel organizations on the island. We regret the inconvenience for our guests but would like to stress clearly that we do not cooperate with the taxi syndicate in front of the hotel and do not have a business interest in their activities. Neither does the taxy syndicate get a commission from our hotel limousine service. Our prices simply are higher because of the better quality cars and service. To imply that our resort is involved in the local taxy syndicate is false, wrong and pure speculation. We trust that this claries the issue and remain, Sincerely, Urs-General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

while the sand beach is not the greatest in Thailand, the hotel and beach club make up with great service, nice rooms and professional spa. And all this comes at affordable prices! Great holiday. We will be back again! And great for kids also!

Room Tip: Take a 2 bedroom suite next to the pool...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UrsPhuket, General Manager at Serenity Resort & Residences Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2012

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time at Serenity. Sincerely, Urs-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We spent five wonderful nights at the Serenity, following a few days in Chiang Mai and Bangkok. We were surprised how built up the island is, but the Serenity was so lovely and peaceful. The staff were all so welcoming and helpful. Our stay couldn't have been better. We travelled with my brother and his wife and although we had both booked basic rooms,we were given upgrades to suites on arrival. They were very spacious, with fridge/freezer, cooking facilities and a lovely bathroom with wonderful citrus fragranced shampoo/shower gel etc. We wished we had purchased some to take home, but would have exceeded our luggage allowance!
There was a good choice for breakfast at the beach restaurant and we had a couple of evening meals there, which were delicious, as were the snacks in the beach bar at lunchtime. We didn't think the prices were excessive, but we also bought a few snacks from the 7/11 across the road. The spa looked very inviting. However,the treatments were priced much the same as in the U.K. so I visited the Tea Tree Garden nearby for lovely reflexology and lemongrass aromatherapy massages for a fraction of the cost. Although we had hired a car and visited some of the resorts we had heard about, we much preferred to chill out at the hotel. It was really warm in the pool, which was spotlessly clean and so nice to have a beach which was free of sun loungers/crowds of people. We would definitely recommend the hotel to others and took lots of 'photos for remind us of our stay.One special touch was the orchids placed on our duvet when the staff came to turn down the beds for the night.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andreabocelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UrsPhuket, General Manager at Serenity Resort & Residences Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely review, which i will certainly share with our team members. Sincerely, Urs-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Just over a year since we discovered Serenity & happy we returned. On our first visit back in 2011, the hotel had just been taken over and the team was finding its feet.

Really pleased to see the service has improved immensely and things seem to run smoothly. It was so lovely to see some of the same staff still there and to have a few of them remember us, too.

Rooms & grounds continue to be in great shape and the boys behind the bar at Balu's offer a really professional drinks service. Let's just say it was noted when we missed happy hour!

The food continues to be excellent at the resort and we ate many times at the resort over our 12 days. Of course you can eat cheaper outside of the hotel, however it's still reasonable value and they serve one of the best Som Tam on the island! the odd daily special would be a nice touch, though there are some interesting themed dinners each week instead.

Only disappointment was with our room request. We requested (well in advance) for the 2 bedroom grand suite which had 2 double beds in one room, as we are 3 single ladies travelling as friends. While we were impressed with the complimentary upgrade to the 2 bed penthouse (mostly the same as 2 bed grand suite we booked, but with a roof terrace) it only had one bed in each room, so we had to pay a nightly rate for a small cot bed in the dining area.
Likewise, a small token goodie bag - compliments of the hotel - was left only on the main bed.

As usual, the rooms are immaculate with maid and turn down service each day.

Spa is a great experience and there is usually a special offer to make it more cost effective. Of course you can get cheaper elsewhere, but you get what you pay for. treat yourself & try out this fab service.

we also really enjoyed the great Xmas eve event at the resort and it was so lovely that they allowed my friends to organise a Birthday shout out to me as part of the event. Great night!! amazing food.

from the porters to the pool service, to the food & the free beach shuttles, the service has really sharpened up and it was a fabulous stay. I have a real soft spot for Serenity and look forward to getting back there sometime soon! Missing the place already.

Rawai is still the sleepy side of the island which I love, though it was clear on this visit that development in the area is on its way. If you hate Patong and like to chill in style, this place is for you.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2007jojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

This is a very nice resort to spend a quiet weekend (or longer) in Phuket. We had booked a Garden View suite at this resort through a Groupon deal (we had initially reserved for a particular weekend but changed this once - the resort was flexible enough to accommodate our request).

We had asked for transfer from and to the airport and it was arranged by the resort. The resort is an hour long drive from the airport and can take longer during peak traffic.

The resort staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

The resort is on the waterfront - the water comes right up to the resort walls during high tide. However, when the tide recedes, the beach is not a pretty sight (its a bit dirty and we weren't able to walk along it).

There is a good restaurant attached to the resort - so food is not an issue. There is also a good swimming pool where you can have a good time with kids.

The spa in the resort was a fine one - my wife went back the second day for a repeat massage as the head massage was quite effective for her!

The biggest drawback for many with this resort would be its distance from the heart of Phuket and the popular beaches - this may however be a blessing if a quiet stay is what you wish to have. Nai Harn beach is only a 15 min drive from this resort and there is a free to and fro shuttle service operated by the resort to this beach. This was a nice and quiet beach with some good waves - we found quite a bit of surfers having fun here.

Room Tip: Go for the beach view.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ravi Subramani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UrsPhuket, General Manager at Serenity Resort & Residences Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review about Serenity. As you point out correctly we offer a daily free shuttle bus to Nai Harn beach in the morning and another one to Central shopping and to Patong in late afternoon, so that guests can other areas in Phuket while staying with us. With kind regards, Urs-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews