We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
12
6
5
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
6
5
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2010

Service:
We were checked in by the little boy. He was a great help throughout our entire trip. Service from the older lady was also warm and friendly :). Service was pretty average for breakfast in the restaurant.

Room:
We liked our room. It was clean, tidy, comfortable and had character (see photos). Breakfast was included in the cost of accommodation. There was also a computer available downstairs for guests to use.

Location:
Right in the heart of Patong, but located in a quiet street away from the hustle and bustle. We actually spent the most of our time outside of Patong so probably shouldn't have stayed there in hindsight, but it was very easy to get around (we hired a scooter - just make sure you get helmets and are careful). Explore nearby Surin beach - it was the beach we liked most.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OhThereSheGoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2010

terrible . they pretend to be a 3* hotel but, in my opinion,it doesen't meet even an 1* hotel requirements.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YosiIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

the amanta house is in a great spot with everything patong has to offer right at your door step.the rooms are very very spacious the bed was great and sheets and towels changed daily .our room was also serviced daily .the room rate includes breakfast also and its of a set menu which includes the best coffee we tasted while in thailand.the staff are super friendly and will do anything to make your stay that little bit better .overall a great hotel

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dannstef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

my partner and i booked through wotif.com and stayed in one of the very spacious suites for one night in oct 2009. we're both half chinese, and the meta-chinoiserie was cute, though obviously not authentic =)

Amanta House in General:
the decor isn't really thai, it isn't really chinese, but seems like an approximation of what the owners Think a tourist would expect to see given the chinese theme. hence the chinese characters on the doors and sinks, and the hodge podge of decor like framed pictures of chinese vases, the heavy teak furniture and the vietnamese lanterns used as lampshades.
the rich fabrics used for curtains were pleasant, if theatrical, and really set the scene for some period chinese palace drama.

in the suite, the large dining area with its table, sink and fridge was separated from the bedroom by the large CRT tv console. there was at least one english movie channel. and unlike the other rooms, the suite was decorated in palatable shades of gold and brown...i'm not sure how long i could last in a neon pink/green room.

Questionable cleanliness:
the floors weren't really swept when we checked in, and handles had broken off from some of the drawers so we decided to keep them empty rather than not know how to open them after shutting thing up in them.

the bathroom, as reported by another review, does indeed have a window that looks out into the dining area and (if the curtains are open) the outside world will have a view of whatever you do on the potty. bathtub had dodgy looking streaks in them, but the water was hot and the pressure was alright. the cutesy approximation of a washbasin they had in lieu of a proper sink annoyed me because the tap was installed too far behind the washbasin, and you couldn't wash your hands without getting puddles everywhere. there are soap dispensers provided, and the towels, though tatty with holes in them, are very very large.

Security issue?
i was slightly worried that the balcony that runs the entire length of the room had a ladder attached to it (i presume it's a fire escape?) but it seemed that just anyone could climb up and into our room if we didn't keep the balcony sliding door locked.

Location:
the best bit was breakfast! it's at their cafe right next door and though not a buffet, was adequate for my partner and i. there's also a cafe, Sandwich Supreme, on the same street.

it's a short walk from the beach, but not altogether out of the way as compared to someplace like novotel. it's a half hour walk to the holiday inn part of patong beach, if you stroll by the beach.

Summary:
it was super value for money, given how spacious the room was and how generally close it was to the beach. the staff, though smiley, tend to leave you to your own devices. free internet in the lobby is a plus. point to note, though: access to guestrooms require you to climb at least 2 flights of stairs, so if you're not good with stairs, i wouldn't stay here. otherwise, it's a nice place to stay for a few days!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wildauriga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

I stayed at Amanta House for 4 nights in Sept 09, it was ok for the most , but after a day or two, you really start to notice the problems. Firstly, the shower section seemed never to be cleaned and bristled with mould; it also leaked all over the place making showers a wet experience AFTER the shower. The sinks were difficult to deal with and the toilet was broken. The big round hole in the bathroom is a nice idea for the apartment but not if you need to do number 2's.
Two seperate times the ‘clean’ sheets after i returned to the room where dirty.
After a while everything seemed really run down.
The electrical cables on the balcony were really in disarray and dangerous, you had to bend under them to reach the table.
I think there are similar guesthouses that would be much better and cheaper. My advice is to look for better deals...

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brendan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews