We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rooms were nice and clean”
Review of Amanta House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amanta House
Ranked #268 of 333 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed 17 February 2013

After being renovated this hotel looks very nice, rooms are very clean. Hotel is close to the beach and downtown Phuket with out the noise, They organised transfers to and from airport with laundy staff that was right next door. This family are very very nice.However the staff at the hotel were very rude except for the manager and the housekeepers. One staff member even charged us to wash the bed linen which usually was washed daily anyway... Not sure if we would stay here again only due to the reception staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tab19762003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2010

Amanta is a stylish, small little hotel at the back of Patong. The rooms are obviously designed by a woman and look great. However there are a few things that i didnt like....
Firstly there is an open window into the bathroom, so everyone can see when u are using the toilet and shower. There is no curtain. There was also a lot of construction work going on when we stayed, which started at 7 am every morning which is very loud. Do not darest look outside the view is horrible. The staff (not all) are rude, particularly some of the breakfast staff was very pushy about me paying for my coffee when i was still eating! There is no elevator so request for a room on a lower floor. There is free internet but it is a bit dodgy, but hey its free. I guess the best part of it is that its central patong. Locals dont know where it is, so make sure you grab a business card from reception and they know where it is. Amanta let us keep our luggage in the reception on our last day while waiting for our lift to the airport. So i will say its a good price, but not the best. Perfect for young tourists looking for jjust a place to sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zara_h011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

We booked a room at Amanta house through the internet. However, on arriving at Phuket we were intially surprised at the room that was provided to us. The walls were chipping and the bathroom was unclean. On complaining, we were shifted to a better room. The surprise element was the See through window between the bathroom and the bedroom! Amanta house is more like a large guest house. They have a restaurant (more of a coffee shop) attached where food is served. Our booking included complimentary breakfast and it was quite okay.
Amanta House is located conveniently near the beach and its a nice pleasant walk to the place. There are plenty of travel Agents nearby where you can book Taxis or sightseeing tours. Many Massage Parlours also close to the hotel. They have free internet with wifi (Though we didn't use it much). Nearby (At the beach is a Restaurant called Dubai Restaurant, where they serve Indian food, so that was a big relief).
Overall, the stay was quite pleasant and relaxing.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BivasMishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

General Impressions:
Many budget hotels try to emulate the large chain hotels, and having neither the money nor the buying power that the chains have, they always end up looking as a sad copy of a Holiday Inn or City Lodge. Amanta did not fall in this trap. Every room is uniquely designed (I am told, I only saw my own), and the décor and use of very strong colour is an absolute pleasure on the eye. Please have a look at the hotel's website, the pics are an accurate reflection of what it looked like when i stayed there. You will either love it or hate it. I LOVED IT.

Location:
The hotel is perfectly situated. It is a few minutes walk from the beach and very close to the shopping centre (large air-conditioned modern JungCeylon), easy walk to paradise street and walking street. There are numerous eateries in the same block, laundry across the street and beauty salons less than a minute away. Taxi and tuk-tuk stands and car rentals are literally within a minute from the front door. To top this all, it is OUTSIDE the party area, so you have peace and quiet.

Appearance:
Unique, strong colours. A combination of very clever use of colour and painting techniques creates a peaceful haven on Patong beach. I have heard some americans complain about the lack of carpets, but frankly with the temperatures of Phuket and the possibility of sand from the beach getting caught in the carpets, I think the option of painted floors are the best.

Facilities:
This is a budget hotel, so do not expect facilities you would get in a large hotel. The room I used did not have a bath, but the bathroom and rooms were large and airy, and the shower functioned perfectly. FREE HIGH-SPEED INTERNET in the rooms are a welcome surprise. The beds are large and comfortable and there is ample cupboard space. The air-conditioners work extremely well, and rooms are cool within minutes from switching them on.

There is no lift, so if you stay on a higher floor, expect to use the stairs. (4 floors only).

The restaurant is a nightmare best forgotten. Service is terribly slow, the selection is extremely limited and the food taste awful. Even if you have booked for Bed and breakfast, do yourself a favour and eat elsewhere.

Parking is a problem if you rent a car, but the staff helped me find a spot for my car. (Travel to the temples and other beaches are MUCH cheaper if you rent a small car).

Service:
The hotel is staffed by the friendliest group I have met. They will smile and greet you whenever they see you, but language is a problem. Room cleaning is prompt and efficient, but that seems about to be the limit of what they will do for you. Amanta House in my experience has been unique in Thailand as the only place where I carried my own bag. In itself not a problem, but certainly unique in Thailand.

NO JOINING FEES !

This hotels has been an absolute pleasure, and the peace and quiet must be the primary reason for staying here. I walked every night to the party spots, and could come back to a quiet, clean and nice place to sleep. When I next visit Phuket, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danie_de_Waal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2010

Service:
We were checked in by the little boy. He was a great help throughout our entire trip. Service from the older lady was also warm and friendly :). Service was pretty average for breakfast in the restaurant.

Room:
We liked our room. It was clean, tidy, comfortable and had character (see photos). Breakfast was included in the cost of accommodation. There was also a computer available downstairs for guests to use.

Location:
Right in the heart of Patong, but located in a quiet street away from the hustle and bustle. We actually spent the most of our time outside of Patong so probably shouldn't have stayed there in hindsight, but it was very easy to get around (we hired a scooter - just make sure you get helmets and are careful). Explore nearby Surin beach - it was the beach we liked most.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OhThereSheGoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
2.2 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 333 in Patong
6,393 reviews
2.7 km away
The Little Moon Residence
The Little Moon Residence
#51 of 333 in Patong
152 reviews
0.2 km away
Patong Studio Apartments
Patong Studio Apartments
#26 of 236 in Patong
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
1.6 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
1.6 km away
Burasari Resort
Burasari Resort
#6 of 333 in Patong
3,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanta House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanta House

Address: 5/17 Hat Patong Road 83150 | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 333 Hotels in Patong
Hotel Class:3 star — Amanta House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanta House Boutique-Hotel will refresh your senses! Enjoy the best the island of Phuket has to offer. Centrally located, only 400 meters from world-known Patong Beach and its crystal-clear water, our superbly appointed Sino-Thai styled guest rooms and apartments will surely satisfy even the most demanding traveler. What makes us different than other small hotels? Unique style, warm atmosphere, outgoing staff, central location and affordable prices! Our private garden area at the rear of the property is also unique and perfectly suited for relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Amanta House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanta Hotel Patong
Amanta House Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing