We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Made the right choice!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Expat Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Expat Hotel
Ranked #97 of 309 Hotels in Patong
Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Made the right choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

The Expat Hotel is the only place I will ever stay when visiting Phuket. Right from the day we made a reservation we somehow knew we were going to the right place for our first visit to Phuket. When we arrived with the minibus arranged by the reservation department at 10:00 p.m. it surprised us. We feel completely secluded from the hustle and bustle of the Patong nightlife which is just a few meters away......unbelievable. At the reception the welcoming smile of the staffs touched our hearts, From the receptionist to room maids and the waitresses at the restaurant the staffs were wonderful and very attentive.We asked for help making reservations for our various tours and they quickly took care of the it. I would really struggle to think of any negative feedback over the 4 days we were there.We only had one annoying thing though. One group of middle eastern guys was there for 2 days and were chatting noisily while everyone else was sleeping. We are hoping to go back later this year, but this time with friends. We want to proudly show them our finding..I echo all of the great reviews below. It's an absolutely incredible place to stay!

Room Tip: Loved the Poolside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKK1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    83
    21
    15
    11
See reviews for
8
35
84
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I stayed here earlier this month for 3 days.

Very comfortable room, friendly staff from reception to room maids.
Restuarant food was good and reasonably priced with a nice outside setting and great pool.

I can see why this hotel has achieved an excellent status, it ticks all the boxes.
I would definately stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Every Saturday night at 7.30 for 190 baht (Australian $6) you can enjoy a great BBQ and salads at the Ex Pat Hotel in Patong. Heaps to eat, pool tables and a great location. Less than 3 minutes from Bangla Road. We've been there a few times, and now make it our Saturday night spot for dinner and drinks. Give it a go!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brizzy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

For the cost of staying here, the location is perfect with very close access to a great beach, loads of beach restaurants and bars. Even though it's right at the center of the hustling and bustling area it is unbelievably quiet and is perfect for a relaxing break for a few days. The rooms are clean and the staff just great-always ready to help. It is not at the luxurious end of the scale, but for the amount of time you need to spend in the room it does the job. Wish we had a chance to stay a little longer.

Room Tip: Poolside balcony rooms...first come first serve. Need to book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KhinPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Stayed there with some friends for a few nights. The big plus of Expat hotel is its proximity to Bangla Road and all the nightlfe, if that is what you're here for. The hotel is clearly geared towards the male customer. Rooms are ok but don't expect too much. Bed are large and matresses firm. In my room, the safe did not work. Bathroom could have been cleaner. Everything else worked fine. I was unfortunate to arrive at the same time as a few other guests and the staff at the check in clearly struggled to manage. While the service was generally friendly and cheerful, food orders could sometimes take time. The Sports bar is nice for a pre-dinner drink or a nightcap.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeptemberSeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 km away
Elegancy Sansabai Hotel
Elegancy Sansabai Hotel
#63 of 309 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.1 km away
Patong Hemingway's Hotel
Patong Hemingway's Hotel
#108 of 309 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.1 km away
Acca Patong
Acca Patong
#104 of 309 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Yorkshire Inn Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.1 km away
C & N Hotel
C & N Hotel
#57 of 309 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.5 km away
Sai Rougn Residence
Sai Rougn Residence
#90 of 309 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Expat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Expat Hotel

Property: The Expat Hotel
Address: 163 / 17 Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Spa Hotel in Patong
Price range (per night): $40 - $101
Hotel Class:3 star — The Expat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Expat Hotel is a quiet and tranquil oasis right in the heart of the pulsating nightlife of Patong Beach. We are located only a one- minute walk to Soi Bangla for bars and entertainment; two-minute walk to Jungceylon for a unique shopping experience; five-minute walk to the beach to enjoy the Andaman Sea. We have a large swimming pool, set in relaxing landscaped gardens, and a coffee shop/restaurant serving Western and Thai food at reasonable prices. There is also a Sports Bar showing live sports via satellite and playing classic rock music as well as a spa, sauna and massage on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Sawasdee, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Expat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Expat Hotel Patong
The Expat Hotel Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing