We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Intimate and quiet experience in Patong” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Atchara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Atchara
Ranked #66 of 309 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Sierra Madre, CA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Intimate and quiet experience in Patong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

I had a very pleasant experience during my stay at Villa Atchara. The staff was incredibly friendly, attentive and the hotel had a very intimate feel. I would absolutely stay here again traveling to Patong as the service cannot be matched. I told the front desk that I wanted to scuba dive during my stay in Phuket and they even introduced to one of the other hotel guests who gave me a good recommendation on a diving company. The hotel is situated just right up the road from the Novotel and the beach so it's a very short walk to the beach in the morning.

I opted for the Penthouse room and booked a couple of months in advance for the high season. It still ended up cheaper than what a lot of the popular hotels were offering for a standard room. If you are traveling solo, it is not absolutely necessary to book this type of room, however, being on the top floor I found it to be quiet and peaceful.

The room was very pleasant and clean with a separate living room area and two bathroom areas and very spacious overall. The master bath included a Jacuzzi tub as well. I chose to use the hotel's airport pickup services where I was picked up by a member of the staff and met at the airport. Very convenient as they take you straight to the hotel with out any hassles.

The only downside is that it's about a 15 minute walk to Bangla Road if you are planning to party. Tuk Tuk's are available and will quote you 200 Bhat but are negotiable down to at least 120. If you are adventurous, you can always rent a scooter for a daily moderate price.

Room Tip: Book the penthouse room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank revproj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    52
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
36
92
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Hospitality is at its best at Villa Atchara. From the moment we walked in we were greeted like long lost friends and the staff continued to address us by our first names. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff and the chats each day and night with the owners and staff were great. Great location - quiet end of Phuket with beach at end of street and only a 15-20 minute walk to the hustle & bustle of Bang la Road & markets. Mattresses a little too hard for our liking and rooms a little too light at night from outside lights but that would be our only complaint. This place is a real credit to Johan & Parn and their staff. We would not consider staying anywhere else when we return to Thailand. Only been home 2 days and so miss this place already.

Room Tip: Superior rooms the way to go for couples - very spacious. Having said that, most of the time, we st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italia
Level Contributor
277 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

I booked this hotel after reading the good reviews on Tripadvisor but I have to say that I totally disagree with them. I'm very not satisfaied by this proprety and we tried to change hotel after the first night but Patong hotels due to the super high seasons were fully booked. Bed was really unconfortable and after the first two terrible nights we asked to change the mattres because they were incredibly bumpy and extemly firm. Rooms are noisy and also the cleanliness could be improved. Every sigle day we had to ask for shampoo and shower gel because it was never replaced. The cleaning ladies were there very early in the morning screaming and shouting to each other so we had to ask to be more silent and polite towards guests in the early morning. Breakfast was very poor and only when we arrived we were told that paying with credit card added an extra 3% on the total bill ( never mentioned on the reservation mail or in the web site). Close to the room there was some electric device that was very noisy 24/7 and the curtains were so poor and didn't block the morning sun. Patong is full of better option for the same price.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank italyItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johan v, General Manager at Villa Atchara, responded to this review, 30 December 2012
I'm here to say that we're sorry to heard that from our lovely customers, we will take your complaining as a serious points to solve all problems. and thank you to let us know, everything will be better for the next season, please don't let that feeling ruin your trip and come back to us again if you would like to see any different ;)

please accepted our apologizes

Tanny,

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

This hotel is a lovely Villa style and is a little bit of peace and quite in crazy Patong. The hotel is small and well kept with a nice pool and jacuzzi to cool down in. Breakfast is ok but the bacon was a bit strange! Overall room was a good size and bathroom water pressure a little poor but apart from that the hotel is really nice and the staff also great. Located at the end of Patong beach away from all the hustle and bustle of Patong which about a 15 min walk to all the crazy bars. The beach area close to the hotel is also more quite without water sports so great for swimming. Overall I was glad we stayed here as it was away from all the bright lights and loud music so it wasn't in your face and it was a little haven of peace.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macauleylisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

My husband and I booked this hotel after reading all the great reviews on Trip Advisor. Villa Atchara is a small hotel but has a guest house feel to it. The pool area is clean and food is available in their kitchen whenever. The rooms are basic and clean but the beds suck! They are so uncomfortable and felt like we were sleeping directly on the springs on the box spring mattress. The staff were amazing- they were friendly, welcoming, funny and so helpful to us. They did everything to make us feel comfortable and helped answer questions we had about day tours and even booked our transfers to and from the ferry terminals and airports. We stayed there over Christmas and the hotel put on a poolside Christmas Eve dinner - a good mix of Thai food and turkey :) The owner Johan was friendly and we enjoyed chatting with him this night as well. The location of the hotel is perfect-it's right across the street from the beach (go to that beach and order food from the food stand there-soooo good!) and we were able to walk to Bangla Road where it was more busy. This hotel is quiet and far enough away from the craziness of Bangla Road. We really enjoyed our stay here at this hotel and will be recommending it to our friends that travel to Phuket in the future.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amyg1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 km away
Seven Seas Hotel
Seven Seas Hotel
#73 of 309 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.4 km away
First resort albergo
First resort albergo
#75 of 309 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.5 km away
Swiss Palm Beach
Swiss Palm Beach
#61 of 309 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Baramee Resortel
Baramee Resortel
#116 of 309 in Patong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
2.2 km away
Palmview Resort Patong Beach
2.9 km away
Patong Princess Hotel
Patong Princess Hotel
#67 of 309 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Atchara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Atchara

Property: Villa Atchara
Address: 4 Soi Prabarami 4 Rd, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Patong
#38 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price range (per night): $36 - $96
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Atchara 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Atchara is the perfect getaway in Patong. Close to all the fun but quiet from traffic and sellers. We have pool, free internet, restaurant, bar,tour info. Welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa Atchara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Atchara Hotel Patong
Atchara Hotel Patong
Villa Atchara Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing