We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
AU$166
Fully refundable before Sat, 8 June
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Sheila M
Melbourne, Australia

Good Position

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Sept 2012
We have just arrived home after spending a lovely holiday in Phuket, this was our fourth trip to Phuket normally we stay at Le Meridian, but wanted to be right in Patong this time so picked the Banthai. The Banthai resort is very good, we had a pool access room, very nice but unfortunately no privacy at all with us being opposite the pool bar, which at times can be quite noisy with the music cranked up to full at times, the staff were wonderful though and couldn't do enough for you. In fact all of the staff at the Banthai are just great especially - Mr. Eggs, in the breakfast foom, he does his job so well, joking and being very friendly to everyone. We treated ourselves to a massage in the Spa which was fantastic. The housekeeping staff also did a wonderful job.
The only complaints that we have are the fireworks on the beach going off all night and in the early hours of the morning every night and the late night drunken revellers coming home in the early hours. This has probably turned us off staying right in Patong again.
Date of stay: September 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$104
  • Priceline
    AU$97
  • StayForLong
    AU$84
  • Expedia.com
    AU$176
0.6 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Phuket Banthai Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$74
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$82
  • Agoda.com
    AU$66
  • Vio.com
    AU$74
1.4 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Phuket Banthai Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$165
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$146
  • Expedia.com
    AU$176
0.4 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Phuket Banthai Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$56
  • Priceline
    AU$45
  • Vio.com
    AU$37
  • Expedia.com
    AU$56
0.8 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Phuket Banthai Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
AU$215
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$215
  • Agoda.com
    AU$196
  • Expedia.com
    AU$215
1.1 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Phuket Banthai Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
AU$161
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$170
  • Agoda.com
    AU$139
  • Expedia.com
    AU$178
3.2 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Phuket Banthai Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$121
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$110
  • Agoda.com
    AU$100
  • Hotels.com
    AU$128
1.4 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Phuket Banthai Resort
Free parking
Pool
Priceline
AU$107
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$123
  • Agoda.com
    AU$99
  • Vio.com
    AU$113
2.2 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Phuket Banthai Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$154
  • Priceline
    AU$154
  • Expedia.com
    AU$152
  • Hotels.com
    AU$154
1.9 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Phuket Banthai Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
AU$664
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$664
  • Hotels.com
    AU$664
  • Expedia.com
    AU$663
2.5 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Phuket Banthai Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Patong
Reviews (4,120)
Filter reviews
4,120 results
Traveller rating
2,492
1,027
341
124
136
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,492
1,027
341
124
136
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mojito bar port restaurant pool bar mr egg double tree patong beach breakfast room bangla road perfect location deluxe room pool access room pool side travel agent egg station great resort welcome drink happy hour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,989 - 2,994 of 4,120 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed for 8 nights in a deluxe room with the pool 10 steps from our bed. Close to all facilities and nothing was too much for staff. Always cheery and polite. Breakfast was great, rooms cleaned spotlessly daily, with bed turned down each night. Friendly pool bar staff who are always happy to chat. Was some renovation work, but did not disturb us greatly. Our room had been renovated, so temporary inconvenience is only going to improve the place. I understand it is almost over now. Will get back for sure.

Room tip: Recommend ground floor rooms on the southern end of the complex. Close to pool, away from beach, bar and road noise. Coffee isn't a big thing in Phuket, so if you like a good one I recommend BYO from home and buy some milk from the local 711.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed at Banthai for 5 nights and had a great time. We had a deluxe pool room which was great. The room its self is small but we spent so little time there it was not a concern to us. The doors open straight onto the pool so you generally keep you shades closed when inside as everyone can see in but the convienience of being able to come in from a hot day out and jump straight in without having to find beds and bring all your stuff pool side was great. The pool bar people are also brilliant; they bring drinks right to you...bliss! The pool area closes at 7pm which i thought was great as there's no disterbance from late night partiers! Its a large resort so if your looking for a personal touch you wont find it here but the staff are very efficient and friendly and sort out your every need. Banthai is right in the middle of Patong beach but you hear nothing of the nightlife in the resort, its very quite. Bangla road is in easy walking distance as are all other bars, shops etc. The are hundreds of resturants and bars around Banthai, even a McDonalds if thats what you like! I'd recommend Sabi Sabi, Patong seafood, the Steak house right outside Banthai...the choices are endless. Check out the Beach Bar at the left top end of Patong Beach, Bonnie, Pon and Hon will keep you well watered! its a great area but not really a beach holiday destination, its really busy and the beach is a bit dirty, otherwise, lots of fun, lots of shopping.......hire a motorbike and go explore! We where here middle September, its hot and showery and generally cloudy but nice.

Room tip: Deluxe pool was was great!
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NickiLoam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 September 2012

the rooms are a little tired, but clean with good bathrooms, the pool is great, especially if you get a ground floor room, worth the extra money cause they're a few steps to the pool with comfy chairs outside your door... the staff is absolutely fantastic and will bend over backwards to help you....beware of some noisy construction near by

Room tip: put your towell on your chair if u pop out for an hour and no one will take it while you're gone
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My partner and I stayed for 8 nights at the end of August in a pool access room. These rooms are on the ground floor and straight off your patio are steps into a private pool that you only share with 5 other rooms - however we only saw 1 lot of neighbours once during our stay!
Straight from this pool is a step ladder which allows you into the main pool where the pool bar is. You receive a cool towel and welcome drink in an air-conditioned room on arrival which is a nice touch and even though we arrived before the 2pm check-in time, our room was ready without hassle.

The room itself is quite nicely decorated with a large bed, bath tub and shower with a large showerhead which was lovely. Also in the room is a mini-bar fridge, long lounge, wardrobe with safe and wall mounted flat-screen TV - and all the lights are controlled by a touch panel next to the bed which was really convenient!! I'm not sure why people complain about the beds in their reviews as we found the bed and pillows very comfortable. The room is cleaned and made-up every day with a turn-down service every night that you're not in your room.

Tim and the pool bar staff are amazing and we spent alot of time drinking at their bar and playing bar games with them - watch out for Tim and his toothpick puzzles...they're super tricky! The staff will even bring your food and drinks to you whilst you're around the pool or on your patio which was great. The pools were safe and clean with nice landscaping and very refreshing after walking around in the heat.

We didn't have any issues with any of the staff and found them all to be very friendly and they often initiated conversations or just waived hello as you walked past. It's also very genuine as everything is charged back to the room so they're not doing it for cash tips etc.

Another staff member to point out was the duty food and beverage manager. He was just a really friendly and awesome guy who my partner ended up drinking with and chatting with a few nights. Even when we passed him during the day, he'd invite us to sit with him at the inside bar for a chat and ordered free mocktails for us - a really genuine guy!

We both got a massage at the day spa and whilst the prices were expensive compared to the local Thai massage shops, it is very cheap compared to Australian day spa prices. I had the hot stone massage and it was the best one i've ever gotten! The treatment room was beautiful and the staff were very lovely and respected your privacy - my partner even fell asleep!

The resort is across the road from the beach and set back from the road down a security patrolled driveway which was good. It's about 5mins walk to Bangla Road and about 10mins walk to the main Junceylon Shopping Centre. As there is late night trading every night, the shops and stalls don't open until about 11am so don't plan an early morning shopping trip. There are many taxis and tuk tuks at the end of the resort driveway so there's never a shortage and they all offer to take you to various tours and attractions around the place - it's alot cheaper to book tours this way than through the hotel and/or travel agency. Just outside the resort is McDonalds, Starbucks, a currency converter place, ATM, ice-cream shop and a chemist which are all handy.

A great tip is to make sure you get breakfast included in your package - it's totally worth it and was delicious with a huge variety. Mr. Egg the eggman was great and entertaining and makes a mean omelette!! As per people's complaints about the small breakfast glasses - yes they are alot smaller than normal glasses but you're free to get up and refill as many times as you want!

As the check-out time is 10am, make sure you pay for a late checkout if you have a later flight as you'll appreciate being able to use your room until you have to leave. We paid for the room until 5pm which obviously they charge for and found it to be a bit on the pricey side but would have hated not having it.

You can hear the fireworks being let off on the beach from the rooms at the resort however you can't really escape that anywhere in Phuket. If you're still out and about whilst they're letting fireworks off, you'll enjoy the free fireworks show and they also often release lanterns which is really beautiful. If all you have to complain about is a little bit of noise from fireworks - you don't really have it too bad!

We would stay here again without hesitation for the rooms, location, facility and the staff. This really is an amazing place!

Room tip: Pay the extra for a Pool Access room and always ask for a room away from the entrance hall as that's where people walk through at all hours of the night and day.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank helly1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

This was our first visit to Patong beach and to Thailand. We wanted to relax and explore by day, with the option to go out at night should we be in the mood.

The good: location is great, half a block to Patong beach, shops, restaurants, beauty & massage establishments, etc. Less than a ten minute walk to Bangla Road.
Staff were helpful despite the language barrier.
The rooms are spacious with a view over the pool, the decor is pleasant and they are clean to an acceptable standard (I'm pretty fussy when it comes to accommodation / housekeeping after working in the industry for many years). The bath could have done with a scrub and the ashtrays on the balcony should have been emptied daily, but all in all it was ok.

The not so good: The rooms are noisy, you can hear everyone on your floor banging their doors closed. Perhaps this could be avoided by installing door closers? The walls also seem paper thin (we could hear our neighbours TV on at night). And if you're not up for a night out expect to be kept awake by fireworks being let off on the beach, or the bands that play at the restaurants next door. We also had a few drunk people mistake our room for theirs, which I found funny more than anything... It is party central after all.

So convenient yes, relaxing, not so much.

Date of stay: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indie-Kid-Designs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews