We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we wanted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banthai Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #26 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We stayed here for 8 nights and the entire experience was fantastic. Checked in without any problems and received a complimentary drink and a run through of the resort. Pools were excellent staff very friendly and location is just 5 minutes from bangla road and the hard rock cafe. Had no issues with staff taking anything from our room and the manager on duty was wonderful. We will Definatly be back for our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Metinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,437 - 1,441 of 2,279 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2012

Loved this resort.! Clean, neat rooms. Great pools. Good buffet. Okay priced drinks & food for a resort for room service. Maccas, pizza, steak house, pharmacy, hairdressers right out the front.! Best location & the staff - the biggest legends.!!! We made great friends with two gorgeous girls by the names of Om & Pen.! Usually in the Y-Lounge bar at the front of resort on main rd or in lObby bar. So kind & funny.! They made our time at BanThai heaps of fun.!!! Will definitely stay here when we return.!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K_LondonRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Banthai is a lovely hotel, situated in an excellent location near the beach in Patong. My room was on the 3rd Floor overlooking the pool and apart from noisy neighbours slamming their doors late at night it was very quiet, clean and comfortable. Complimentary water was provided each day and the cool TV was quite handy to monitor my account of various purchases so I knew how much the bill would be when checking out.

Breakfast was quite busy but the selection of food was great and tasted nice. The chef who calls himself Mr Egg was fairly entertaining and nice to see someone with a genuine smile on their face providing a great service.

The spa was excellent, naturally it is quite expensive compared to the various choices outside the hotel but the ambience and professional service provided was 10 out of 10.

The hotel provides an exchange service for your cash but if you go out onto the main street there is a shop in the driveway that will give you a better rate.

I had a few issues with Banthai that I found really annoying. Firstly I booked and received confirmation my room was reserved about 5 – 6 weeks prior to arriving. I believe the confirmation stated I would pay when I checked out. However about 3 weeks prior to my arrival I received an email from the hotel asking if they could charge my card to retain my reservation? As I was travelling through Thailand at the time I did not answer immediately and received a second message in capital letters marked urgent. I couldn’t believe this nonsense. On arrival I was taken to a room and given a complimentary drink whilst they brought a numerous papers in for me to sign and wanted payment then and there. I had just hopped of a plane, I was hot and tired and not in the mood, I was not impressed.

Another little annoyance I had was that they were charging a large amount for the use of the internet, sorry I can’t remember specifically. It was only for an hour and if you did not use the full hour there was no way of retaining a credit for the unused time?

Also on my first day I went to the tour desk around 4pm and no-one was there and there was no sign indicating when they would be back. I headed back around 6pm and two ladies were standing there talking and told me to come back tomorrow as the tour desk was closed for the day. The next day I spoke to the tour officer who advised the desk is open daily from 9am to 8pm at night?

I ran into other unhappy customers and saw one family in an argument with reception on one occasion. In my opinion I think Banthai is focussed on the $ and not much else.

Would I stay here again, nope? Patong is a very busy place and not at all relaxing, Banthai is nice to look at but I’m sure there are better places to stay.

Apart from the local Thais everyone else was Aussie, I barely felt like I had left home?

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Our time at the Banthai was very relaxing, one of the best holidays we have had. But after previously had stayed at the Holiday Inn the Banthai was definitely not up to the same standard. The bed was hard and the air con in our room was hardly cold enough to cope with the heat. My husband and I found ourselves waking up hot in the night time and having wrestless sleeps due to the heat. The breakfast was nice but about a quarter of the selection that the Holiday Inn had to offer. Overall it was nice and clean and a great location but thats about it. Not too sure it would be a place we would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

My partner and I stayed 1 week in a pool side room which we would highly recommend. It was only 4 steps away from the pool with a nice private terrace with our own sun lounges on it. The swim out rooms, which are more expensive and actaully not that private and we didnt think they were worth paying the extra money for. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the buffet breakfast was the best we had ever had. The only down side of this hotel was the mattress was very hard so it was a bit uncomfortable. The location is fantastic. You only need to walk 100 metres and you are right in the action of the main beach street. We had a great stay and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Best room is the pool side rooms but not the private pool side ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.5 km away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#25 of 331 in Patong
1,642 reviews
0.2 km away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#18 of 331 in Patong
1,399 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#10 of 331 in Patong
1,723 reviews
1.5 km away
The Charm Resort Phuket
The Charm Resort Phuket
#29 of 331 in Patong
769 reviews
0.7 km away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banthai Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banthai Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 94 Thaveewong Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#11 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#17 Spa Hotel in Patong
#19 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#19 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $107 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Banthai Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Banthai Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banthai Beach Hotel Patong
Banthai Beach Resort And Spa
Banthai Beach Resort & Spa Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing