We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Mandybb21
Australian Capital Territory, Australia

Built many happy family memories here ❤️

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 July 2023via mobile
We have stayed at the Patong Merlin with our family 7 times. We have built many fond memories there, our kids playing hide and seek throughout the grounds and many pools, playing games while enjoying happy hour at the bar looking over to the beach. It is a wonderful family hotel. The rooms were a decent size, beds are a little hard for our liking (my husband would always pay housekeeping to put an extra topper or two on the bed). Breakfast was always good with a huge variety of food from different cuisines. Hotel is across the road from the OTOP markets which is great, but a fair walk away from Bangla Road and Jungceylon (but both within walking distance)
I’m hoping that this hotel is now being taken over by the Marriott that they do not make the hotel too pricey to stay at once it reopens layer in 2023.
I highly recommend the Patong Merlin.
Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$283
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • travelup.com
0.9 km from Courtyard Phuket, Patong Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$165
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.4 km from Courtyard Phuket, Patong Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$75
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
1.8 km from Courtyard Phuket, Patong Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$157
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • travelup.com
3.5 km from Courtyard Phuket, Patong Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Tripadvisor
AU$155
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
2.4 km from Courtyard Phuket, Patong Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$99
  • Algotels
1.1 km from Courtyard Phuket, Patong Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    AU$55
  • Hotels.com
1.3 km from Courtyard Phuket, Patong Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$142
  • travelup.com
1.9 km from Courtyard Phuket, Patong Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$288
  • Vio.com
1.9 km from Courtyard Phuket, Patong Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$73
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Courtyard Phuket, Patong Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Patong
Reviews (2,152)
Filter reviews
2,152 results
Traveller rating
786
839
335
104
88
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
786
839
335
104
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the hard rock cafe beach end swim up bar otop markets interconnecting rooms pool view reception staff bangla road buffet breakfast happy hour kids club tuk tuk welcome drink superior room night life pools cleaners
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 2,152 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2023

Hotel is great location with an easy walk to patong beach, restaurants and bars. This was the best feature.
The hotel itself is quite rundown but still ok for us. The entrance from the beach road looks like an abandoned site and has no security and anyone can just walk in and use facilities etc
Most of the Staff are definitely not friendly or helpful. They were abrupt , rude and just did not want to help.
Food was not good at all. Most foods were inedible, and the smallest portions. Breakfast was ok but nothing to boast about. We tried lunch a few times as it’s too hot to go out but just not good.
Overall we enjoyed the pools even though the trees block the sun shining through and water cold quicker than it was.
Hoping the new renovations and the new brand name will also bring a new standard to the hotel.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Joslyn1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 June 2023

Our booking was cancelled and transferred without any notification. Our holiday experience was terrible as we were transferred to a isolated location which cost us an extra $400 in Taxi's and a lack of food options.

Room tip: Check the Terms & Conditions before booking.
Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
1  Thank B87CEchristinep
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 April 2023 via mobile

Absolutely loved this hotel, location was excellent - two minutes to the beach and a few minutes to the bustling bars and restaurants of Bangla Road. We were in room 6308 which was on the top floor providing a pool and sea view. The hotel left a spare card in the room so the air con was on all day, of all the places we stayed the air con was by far the best and much needed in the April heat.

The hotel was getting ready to close for refurbishment so was very quiet which suited us fine. Staff were great and regularly checked if you needed anything whilst lounging by the pool.

We had two 3/4 double beds which were extremely comfortable, plenty of space in the room, decent size fridge and a balcony with two chairs and a table.

Would definitely stay here in future.

Thank you for a lovely stay

Room tip: Try to get a room on top floor facing the sea
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank LeeM604
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 April 2023

I was debating writing a review given the hotel is about to close in 1 day but here goes….
Well, we were was a little hesitant about coming given some recent reviews of late but I was pleasantly surprised. Upon arrival, the staff were kind and helpful. Actually throughout the whole stay, we have no huge complaints. We had a dodgy shower with poor power/flow but we reported it and it was fixed the same day. Like wise with the aircon having a few issues, it was fixed within 24 hours.
Yes the hotel is somewhat dated but we really enjoyed our stay and will plan a return for next Easter very soon, even if it’s under different management and name. The location is fab, close to shops and restaurants at the end of the bay (at the south), away from the noisy Bangla road etc…
We were unlucky in the week we went (from 31st March) as Patong beach was experiencing ‘black water’ from the nearby canal which was not inviting to swim in. We simply took a tuk tuk (200 bht) right up to the end of the bay and swam and snorkelled there – it was great, so many fish close to the shore! Other times we took a long tail boat (No. 23) out from the bay to Freedom beach – now that is really something else, picturesque.
We did B&B and breakfast really was fine, no complaints at all. The pools were fine, not dirty at all and the boys killed hours there. We stayed in an adjoining family room and the space was greatly appreciated, we’ll definitely be doing that again. We were on the fourth floor of block 4, excellent view of one of the pools and away from the noise of the Hard Rock Café.
Thank you Patong Merlin for making our stay a brilliant one. We will be back next year, even if the hotel is called something else…. Sending love from England and hope to see you all Easter 2024.

Date of stay: April 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 April 2023

Took a package holiday here, Hotel is very tired, The rooms itself were clean. Beds very warn, well used... Pool side furniture broken, sometimes to the point of not usable. Seriously run down, needs lots of TLC. Pool itself was good, 3 to choose from. Breakfast was OK, always the same an rather budget like.. I would not stay here again..The location is good if you are after the bar scene though!. Needed to do some more research on it before I booked the package from Australia.

Date of stay: April 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank V4128YEdonnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews