We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Vanessa M

Good times at Patong Merlin, we will return!

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Apr 2023
I was debating writing a review given the hotel is about to close in 1 day but here goes….
Well, we were was a little hesitant about coming given some recent reviews of late but I was pleasantly surprised. Upon arrival, the staff were kind and helpful. Actually throughout the whole stay, we have no huge complaints. We had a dodgy shower with poor power/flow but we reported it and it was fixed the same day. Like wise with the aircon having a few issues, it was fixed within 24 hours.
Yes the hotel is somewhat dated but we really enjoyed our stay and will plan a return for next Easter very soon, even if it’s under different management and name. The location is fab, close to shops and restaurants at the end of the bay (at the south), away from the noisy Bangla road etc…
We were unlucky in the week we went (from 31st March) as Patong beach was experiencing ‘black water’ from the nearby canal which was not inviting to swim in. We simply took a tuk tuk (200 bht) right up to the end of the bay and swam and snorkelled there – it was great, so many fish close to the shore! Other times we took a long tail boat (No. 23) out from the bay to Freedom beach – now that is really something else, picturesque.
We did B&B and breakfast really was fine, no complaints at all. The pools were fine, not dirty at all and the boys killed hours there. We stayed in an adjoining family room and the space was greatly appreciated, we’ll definitely be doing that again. We were on the fourth floor of block 4, excellent view of one of the pools and away from the noise of the Hard Rock Café.
Thank you Patong Merlin for making our stay a brilliant one. We will be back next year, even if the hotel is called something else…. Sending love from England and hope to see you all Easter 2024.
Date of stay: April 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$162
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.4 km from Courtyard Phuket, Patong Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$211
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
3.5 km from Courtyard Phuket, Patong Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$162
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.4 km from Courtyard Phuket, Patong Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$244
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$244
3.3 km from Courtyard Phuket, Patong Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$129
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Courtyard Phuket, Patong Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Marriott Hotels
    AU$609
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$510
  • Booking.com
2.3 km from Courtyard Phuket, Patong Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$47
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Courtyard Phuket, Patong Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$298
  • Expedia.com
    AU$317
0.9 km from Courtyard Phuket, Patong Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$128
  • travelup.com
1.9 km from Courtyard Phuket, Patong Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$264
  • travelup.com
1.9 km from Courtyard Phuket, Patong Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Patong
Reviews (2,154)
Filter reviews
2,154 results
Traveller rating
788
839
335
104
88
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
788
839
335
104
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the hard rock cafe beach end swim up bar otop markets interconnecting rooms pool view reception staff bangla road buffet breakfast happy hour kids club tuk tuk welcome drink superior room night life pools cleaners
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 2,154 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2023

Took a package holiday here, Hotel is very tired, The rooms itself were clean. Beds very warn, well used... Pool side furniture broken, sometimes to the point of not usable. Seriously run down, needs lots of TLC. Pool itself was good, 3 to choose from. Breakfast was OK, always the same an rather budget like.. I would not stay here again..The location is good if you are after the bar scene though!. Needed to do some more research on it before I booked the package from Australia.

Date of stay: April 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank V4128YEdonnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 April 2023

The Patong Merlin was sensational. Fantastic location with access to Patong beach front or via one of the main shopping streets. The interconnecting family room with pool view was spacious, beautifully appointed, clean and great value for money. The pools with swim up bars were crystal clear and clean and simply sublime. Pool lounges were available everyday under the shade of coconut trees. The buffet breakfast was good. The omelette station was not part of the main breakfast room and was not made clear there was a separate section for this. However overall the breakfast was great. The room balcony was a little rusted with peeling paint but overall a great a space to sit and relax. Found the the staff friendly and approachable. There was renovations happening while we stayed however were not impacted by any noise. I don't know if the hotel will close for renovations but overall a great stay and would highly recommend the Patong Merlin.

Date of stay: April 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank I3227DNjaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 April 2023 via mobile

Wonderful holiday at this hotel. First room we were given was a long long way from reception. We asked to be moved nearer to the amenities and our request was fulfilled within 10 minutes. Rooms are a bit dated but ours was spotless clean. The air con was excellent and quiet and the breakfasts were good. Nicest omelettes I have had for a long time. Staff were helpful and friendly. Swimming pools were fantastic and never had a problem getting a sun bed. Apparently the hotel is closing at the end of April for a refurbishment which will make it even better. Quiet end of Patong. Loved our time there.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sue0153
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 April 2023

Reasonable hotel in great location. Close to beach, restaraunts and supermarkets
Rooms comfortable but air con is noisy
Will use again if going back to phuket
Only downside was the hotel reception staff not helpful

Room tip: Sometimes pool could be cleaner
Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank steve p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 April 2023 via mobile

Me and my wife arrived 2nd March from the UK, for a 3 week stay , this is our 4th time staying at the Patong Merlin .
The last time we were here was March 2020 , just as the pandemic was kicking off, we managed a full holiday, but when we got home , the UK went into lockdown, and so did Thailand.
The hotel and staff are absolutely brilliant , the lovely buffet breakfast is fantastic, with so much to choose from.
Our room was lovely and spacious, which was kept spotlessly clean every day by the maid . The pool area brilliant, surrounded by coconut trees and greenery, you really do get the tropical feel.
All in all , we couldn't fault the hotel if we tried.
Many thanks to all the very friendly staff, for making our stay in Thailand a very memorable one.

Nick & Jo

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank T4656CHnickh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews