We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Ranked #17 of 328 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great resort”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Taxis or tuk tuk's cost 300 baht to get into Patong or there is a shuttle bus 5 times a day. It runs at some random times in the afternoon and night however.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breumr759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,093
    666
    257
    91
    50
See reviews for
774
834
40
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Returned 6 days ago from a 7 night stay at Merlin Beach, this was our 2nd stay at this resort, the last time was in 2007. The reason we returned was for my nephews wedding and we didn't hesitate because we loved the place last time. In 2007 we were so impressed with the entry and foyer we knew what to expect this time, so the in awe gapes weren't as big. We were met with big smiles, cold towels, cool drinks and a quick no fuss registration and introduction then whisked away to our rooms. We were fortunate enough to have rooms that faced the beach and coincidently these rooms were below the ones we stayed in last time. Well these rooms have recently been refurbished so they were quite beautiful and classy. We loved the beach view and we had the pleasure of viewing a couple of weddings from the balcony. The breakfast buffet was wonderful a huge range of choices my only complaint which the resort can easily rectify is the toasters. These large toasters were very slow and when it came out at the other end it still didn't even look toasted, the control knob for light-dark toast was removed, there were a few frustrated looks on the guests faces. We did eat a few times at the resort the prices weren't bad and the food was always tasty. There maybe four resturants but all the food comes out of the same kitchen. Some people find this resort a little too far from Patong but thats one of it's appealing qualities. For a small fee 250-300 Baht you can take a taxi, the stand is right in front of the resort. We did use taxi's, tuk tuk's and their shuttle bus but this service wasn't an houly one and often filled up fast so book ahead to secure a seat. One of the best features of Merlin is it's pools there are three in total.There's the lagoon pool that has the pool bar (very popular) and this pool connects through a water corridor to the kids pool that is as large as the lagoon pool. This pool has an area specific for toddlers, then there's the area for larger kids to swim or use the water slide and then there's the deep side that caters for water sports. The last pool is the pool access rooms which is open for everyone to use, nice and shady on those hot sunny days, and of coarse there's a bar there as well but not a pool bar. As I said this resort has many redeeming qualities but what my husband and I loved the most was the beach, because unlike last time now you can swim in it all the sand has returned post tsunami and the snorkeling was surprisingly good. We saw many tropical fish and there was even live colourful coral that hadn't been destroyed by too many tourists as in the boat trip we took to Coral Island. If this beach doesn't do it for you you can walk across the road travel left walk around the bend and you're at Tri Trang beach. There use to be an opening in the fence on your right when you walked out of the resort but it was bricked in when we were there, for what reason we don't know. So what is my opinion I would recommend this resort 100% it caters for all ages, couples and families, I would definitely return the staff were friendly and helpful, my one and only advice is bring your snorkeling gear you won't reget it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jabberwokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We had the most wonderful family holiday which included all ages. The pools were fantastic. Tri Trang beach across the road was amazing ,where we spent time every day. Staff at the hotel were ALWAYS polite and helpful. My daughter got married at the resort and the day was perfect thanks to Petchari. It was very easily organised and even when the weather was too wet and windy to have outside the grand ballroom was set up wonderfully. Every detail was attended to with no fuss. This is the type of hotel where you are sad to leave but looking forward to go back.

Room Tip: Pool access room well worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed March 2012. It was a family holiday with an 11 year girl and my wife.
Everything was as advertised. Nice and clean with great pools and friendly staff.
Some reviews mention that staff were not friendly, never found this at all. Some staff were more friendly than others, but on the whole no problems in this regard. English is not their first language, so be understanding if some staff don't always understand you.....it is Thialand after all.
Breakfast was great, all ou could ask for. Omlettes made to order is a must.
As has been mentioned in other reviews, the resort resuarants are a bit pricey. The food is great, however, and the buffet dinners on the lawns are fantastic.
We headed into Patong on most days. Taxi attached to the Resort is 300 baht ($10) ,but the ones on the road are 250 baht. There is also the free bus which is good and leaves around 11am. It runs a few times during the day.
We stocked up our mini bar with water, coke, chocolate etc bought from Patong, far, far cheaper way to go. A bottle of water from town is only 7 baht (resort 120 baht).
Jung Ceylon in Patong is the place to go if you want a big shopping centre. There is a "Coffee Club" McDonalds and heaps of souvenir shops. Taxi back to the resort is 300 baht, this is for a Tuk Tuk or a sedan.
The resort beach is only sandy for a few hours at high tide but the is a nice beach accross the road. Easy walking distance away.
There is no doubt that savings are to be made by eating in town if you are watching your dollars but the cost of the taxi needs to be taken into account.
Wireless Internet is available but costs 1000 baht ($30 aud ) a week. We got for the 2 weeks and it was well worth it.
One thing we did find lacking was that a good Cappuccino could not be bought until 11am. If you like a nice coffee with breakfast as we do, you are out of luck.
We would certainly go back again and with the knowledge we now have would have an even better time!
,

Room Tip: Rooms adjacent to green house or opposite the new construction site had an unpleasant odor around th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TezzaCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joensuu
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

The trip was a wonderful little early, despite the difficulties: travel guide warned us at the Phuket airport that we could probably our rooms at the hotel until two o'clock in the afternoon. The time was then five in the morning and we had been traveling for 18 hours. We are angered that possibly we could shower and rest until eight hours later. We actually had to wait for the release of the room by the pool but fortunately ONLY five hours when we get enough and went to the reception and we got another room.
After that holiday was awesome.

The hotel was very comfortable, the weather was sunny and warm, the hotel employees were friendly and all went well.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marissaalissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
2.7 km away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.7 km away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
30.4 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
5,781 reviews
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
31.6 km away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach

Property: Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Address: 99 Muen-Ngoen Road | Tri-Trang Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Merlin Beach Resort)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#12 Spa Hotel in Patong
#12 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#15 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#15 Family Hotel in Patong
Price range (per night): $78 - $466
Hotel Class:5 star — Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst forested mountains and lush, tropical landscaped gardens, serenity awaits at Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach. Located on a beautiful secluded stretch of white sandy Tri-Trang Beach, the resort boasts its own reef and stylish accommodation. Our resort is the ultimate destination for individual travelers, families, weddings and MICE. Three beautifully appointed swimming pools, modern fitness facilities, kids club, Spa & a wide variety of food & beverage. Our resort has an outstanding activity program for all ages offering extensive options for the most discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Beach Hotel Patong
Merlin Beach Resort Phuket
Hotel Merlin Beach
Beach Merlin Resort
Beach Merlin Phuket Resort
Merlin Beach Phuket
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing