We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Lively Night Life

OTOP Patong Market Phuket promotes locally made products sourced from subdistricts (tambon... read more

Reviewed 19 May 2021
SahilChrungu
,
New Delhi, India
via mobile
Good place for shopping

Otop is probably the best market for shopping in Patong. There's a variety of clothing and tourist... read more

Reviewed 5 March 2020
JocelynC885
,
Canberra, Australia
via mobile
Read all 442 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Phuket
from USD 30.95
More Info
from USD 16.51
More Info
from USD 35.71
More Info
from USD 39.68
More Info
Reviews (442)
Filter reviews
442 results
Traveller rating
104
172
111
37
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
104
172
111
37
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stall holders street food great shopping night market few drinks seafood bargain stalls souvenirs bars clothing baht quality thailand
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 442 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2019

We based ourselves close to the Otop for the shopping, bars & night-market food stalls. Instead of paying restaurant prices, you can eat here at much more reasonable rates and, eat quality food. It's not just the night-time eating, its the vibe the place gives off with hundreds of international visitors flowing through the food areas and the flamboyant way food is often prepared. There is too, numerous clothing shops, small bars, tattoo shops and speciality bars to entertain & make purchases from. In our case, travelling with grandchildren it was important to buy quality food fickle children would eat and, as a treat. We purchased curly ice-creams on the way back to the hotel for the boys. If you've never tried one, do so. You'll not be disappointed. During the daylight, the pace is much slower. You will find along the main road abutting the market, money exchange, small 24 hour stores selling bottled water, a laundry, numerous travel/tour outlets, a Burger King and small stalls selling electrical items. You won't spend a whole day there, but each time you re-visit, you'll find something new & interesting.

Date of experience: April 2019
3  Thank RalphH634
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 May 2019 via mobile

I find the further away a stall is located from Bangla Rd, the cheaper and least aggressive the stall holder is. However, OTOP is just as bad. All stalls sell the same products and stall holders are aggressive, rude and barter ridiculous prices for fake goods that cost nearly the same for the real thing back home.

One stall holder "didn't remember" that we had been in his stall two days before and purchased two pairs of shorts from him. After wanting to buy more, he still wanted to charge us double the price even after explaining how much we paid previously. We walked away out of principle and I'm sure he didn't have a sale all day.

Do yourself a favour and purchase from stalls run by the Thai locals further up the road.

Date of experience: May 2019
2  Thank Mel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 May 2019 via mobile

We ate here nearly every night when we were on holiday. Good selection of foods at cheap prices. Food was delicious. OTOP has an amazing atmosphere. Few shops available for shopping and a variety of bars to choose from. We ended up Best Friends Bar for a drink every night after dinner. Very friendly people!

Date of experience: April 2019
4  Thank jurietab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 April 2019 via mobile

Good place to get a cheap meal or freshly made fruit drink. The souvenir shops are all a bit same same, and the pub huts dominate one end of the market. The place is busy without feeling too much so and the only thing that we'd have preferred not to have was the blaring music from multiple sources. But hey, it's a market. That seems to be a market expectation! :)

Date of experience: April 2019
2  Thank ShirleyS7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 April 2019 via mobile

This is a busy place in the evening with food stalls and shops. A wide range of food to choose from at reasonable prices. We chose seafood and it was fresh and tasty. Shopping was good as well for clothes. We then went to the Kiwi bar for drinks afterwards located nearby.

Date of experience: April 2019
2  Thank Taratat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews