We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
LuluKuwait
Kuwait City, Kuwait

Good Location with Friendly Staff

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Apr 2013
Was a nice place close enough to the main streets without too much noise, which for Phuket is quite important at night - if you DO want to SLEEP :) We also found no need for any transportation as everything was within walking distance.
Date of stay: September 2012
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$136
  • Expedia.com
    AU$202
  • Agoda.com
    AU$107
  • Priceline
0.1 km from R Mar Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$74
  • Vio.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
0.8 km from R Mar Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$51
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$41
  • Priceline
0.2 km from R Mar Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$163
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
1.4 km from R Mar Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$220
  • Expedia.com
    AU$212
  • Agoda.com
    AU$181
  • travelup.com
    AU$254
2.9 km from R Mar Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$163
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$163
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
0.8 km from R Mar Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$127
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$101
  • Priceline
2.8 km from R Mar Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
    AU$489
  • Booking.com
    AU$612
3.0 km from R Mar Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$122
  • Vio.com
0.8 km from R Mar Resort and Spa
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$320
  • StayForLong
    AU$296
  • Vio.com
1.7 km from R Mar Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Patong
Reviews (523)
Filter reviews
523 results
Traveller rating
175
236
63
23
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
175
236
63
23
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bangla road free mini bar orange restaurant pool area nice pool bars and restaurants egg station spacious rooms buffet breakfast noise massage phuket baht madness
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
315 - 320 of 523 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We enjoyed staying at R-Mar as it was in walking distance to Patong Beach. It was close to bangla road but also far enough to be secluded and not having to worry about drunk people. We enjoyed the pool, the rooms and especially the breakfast, it was delicious.

There were a few tiny mishaps however.

1. The staff wasn't always friendly, at certain times, we found them quiet rude. We returned one day to our room, and found the key that was in the main control missing (we always left it in to keep the aircon on). We went to front desk to tell them what happened incase they thought we lost ours, however they treated us like we lost the key ourselves and were accusing them. The key they reissued weren't programed to our room therefore we had to return to them.

2. We asked for beach towels at 8am to go to phi phi island and they told us they ran out...

It was good other than a few mishaps.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank emuthegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Great hotel nice and quite but right in the middle of the action ,my room exceeded my expectations and its only a 5 minute walk to the beach which I pass my favorite bar the sailor bar ,breakfast is great and the pools nice and big ,Do your self a favor stay here and save money

Room tip: Rooms in the new building and it has a lift
Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank leoregan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Booked this hotel after reading good reviews on trip advisor and we weren't disappointed. The rooms are big, clean and we were offered either free WIFI or mini bar. We chose the WIFI so we could use our tablets daily in our room.
On arrival we were offered a free juice drink while checking in. Check in was easy and reception staff were brilliant then and at all times, always ready to assist in any situation.
The hotel is close to shops and restaurants but is in a quiet area so we didn't hear any noise. You can walk to the beach and beach road via a little track.
CONS
Our room was nice and big but the view could have been better for a deluxe room. We were at the back overlooking the back of another building. The shower leaked and there always appeared to be water on the bathroom floor, I think this is a bad design.
The pool area was clean but more sunbeds are needed for a hotel of this size and the lady who staffed the pool bar appeared to be doing everything and when we needed a drink she was often nowhere to be seen. She would then reappear with food for other people. Perhaps there should be 2 staff here so one could collect the food from the kitchen and one serve behind the bar.
Overall we had a lovely holiday here and nothing really detracted from our enjoyment. We would stay here again without hesitation.

Room tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel.
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Millymolly77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 March 2013

R-Mar is probably best described as a nice resort, with a great location. It's close to Bang La Road, but feels miles away when in the resort. As mention by many, the swimming pool is huge and relaxing, and the breakfast is also pretty good (though inferior to a Novotel, for example).

The one main problem that we had was that our entire bathroom flooded with each shower. The staff were well aware of the problem, with their band aid solution being to put a towel along the side of the shower-bath. This was insufficient, as the bathroom still flooded. The issue was created by some extremely poor shower design and it is alarming that the issue has not been fixed by management. Broken tables at the bottom of poolside umbrellas seemed to also be reflective of the management's ineptness to repair basic faults.

We will not return to this resort.

Date of stay: February 2013
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 March 2013

booked four nights here with my wife and friends all in our 40s ad 50s , and this turned out to be a great hotel even though it was a stones throw away from bangla road , but everything was great , the hotel made us very welcome when we arrived with the usual welcome drink , the rooms were excellent , very clean and comfortable with the usual bathroom bits and bobs , breakfast was excellent ,as for location nothing could have been better 3 minute walk to a great beach and 2-3 minute walk to bangla road and the jungceylon shopping centre , the hotel on the whole was very clean and it was like a quiet oasis and i could recommend this hotel to all ages and families .

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews